We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, decent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #16 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, decent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

First and foremost: The location of this hotel is fantastic, 15 minutes away from Amsterdam Centraal, in the heart of old amsterdam. Well within walking distance to most attractions, and the train which takes you directly to and from the airport and anyplace else in Holland you could want to go.
The rooms are clean and decent sized with small wall mounted flat panel TV's and nice bathrooms. Since it is an old building however, the floors, ceilings and walls are very thin and sometimes creaky so if your neighbors are loud, you may have some small issues.
The hotel has wifi, but it is not available to you unless you a) book through their website and join their "friends of estherea" group or b) pay 10 euros per day. To throw a twist into this scheme, they will allow you to check out an iPad (so long as they aren't all locked away in the safe which happens after 11pm) but not get your laptop on.

I almost never saw the same staff twice, and the night staff seemed less friendly and less trained then the day staff. Overall I can't complain too much, but if wifi had been free, they would've easily earned 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,801
    705
    120
    33
    27
See reviews for
436
1,460
88
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novara
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We decided for this hotel following the good feedbacks they got here on Tripadvisor, and we cannot complain.
The hall is cozy, with an aquarium/wall, and a nice living room, two further rooms are furnished with tables and chairs, we enjoyed more then once reading a book there or surfing the internet, the wi-fi is available allover the hotel, the connection is a bit slow, we got it for free booking it in advance with the room.
The room was way bigger than what we expected from the classic room that we had chosen, considering the standards around in Amsterdam. Our room had a comfortable king size bed, a nice bathroom and also room for our things. The bathroom featured a bathtub with shower, and the soaps etc were good and for two.
Breakfast costed us 16 euro per person, but was worth it, as the small buffet offers a complete continental choice of sweets and salty, including salads and wine. The buffet is very well kept and it is difficult to find something leaking, also when it is crowded. definitely worth theprice as after that we were able to reach dinner without stopping. There is also a choice of hot and cold beverages, always available in the lobby.
The position of the hotel is perfect, on a quiet canal, in a safe area, 2 minutes away fro Dam square by feet. We got there from the airport with a taxi for 45 €, we went back to the airport with the train with less than 10 €, you just need to reach the train station with one of the frequent tram from Dam and then a train takes you right in the hall of the airport.
The only little flaw, the cleanliness of the rooms is sometimes a bit hasty.
Overall, a positive experience, will for sure recommend this hotel.

-

Abbiamo scelto questo hotel per le buone recensioni lette proprio qui, e non ce ne siamo affatto pentiti.
La hall è particolare, molto arredata, con uno scenico acquario/parete e un comodo salotto, subito accanto altri due locali con tavolo, sedie e poltrone, dove nel corso del soggiorno ci siam più volte fermati per leggere un libro o navigare su internet (wi-fi in tutta la struttura, a pagamento, anche se prenotandolo con la stanza ci è stato omaggiato, un po' lenta la connessione).
la camera ci ha sorpreso, abbiamo scelto la sistemazione "classic" e ci aspettavamo una stanza decisamente più piccola visti gli standard in città, e invece la stanza era vivibile, arredata in stile classico. Il letto king size abbastanza comodo, il bagno con vasca e doccia a telefono, kit di cortesia completo, per due persone.
La colazione ci è costata 16 euro a persona, non avendo prenotato in anticipo, a un primo impatto sembra piccola, ma in realtà su un buffet non ampissimo si trova quasi tutto di dolce e salato, fino alle insalate, in linea con gli standard europei. Il buffet è molto seguito e non manca mai nulla, nonostante l'alta affluenza. Nel complesso vale la cifra spesa, anche considerato che dopo una colazione abbondante non ci siamo mai dovuti fermare per pranzo durante la giornata.
Nella hall c'è anche la possibilità di prendere bevande calde e fredde gratuitamente, 24h.
LA posizione è eccezionale, 2 minuti a piedi da piazza Dam, la zona è tranquilla e sicura, si raggiungono tutte le attrazioni principali in al massimo 30 minuti a piedi. Da schiphol all'arrivo abbiamo scelto un taxi, per 45 €, al ritorno prendendo il tram per la stazione da Dam e quindi il treno, si arriva velocemente in aeroporto per meno di 10€.
Il personale è cortese anche se essendoci diverse persone alla reception bisogna sempre presentarsi con il cognome con cui si ha prenotato per richiedere la propria chiave.
La porta dell'albergo chiude alle 23 e dopo quell'ora bisogna farsi riconoscere al citofono per entrare.
Unica pecca, la pulizia delle camere è forse un po' frettolosa.
Nel complesso una esperienza positiva, consiglierei tranquillamente l'hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had only one night at Hotel Estherea, a quick layover after some time in Denmark and before we returned to the US, with just enough time to see the Anne Frank Huis and some Van Goghs. We booked a 'deluxe canal view' room and were delighted with the spacious, absolutely beautiful second floor room on the Signel Canal, with three sets of double windows, a canopy bed, rich red and gold wallpaper, luxurious linens, etc. The property has a very particular old world European feel -- no Mandarin Oriental or Ritz Carlton, and you really felt as though you were in a special, small Dutch property where every room is different. The buffet breakfast was nice, not the best I've had (and one of those coffee "machines" that one hopes not to see in Europe) but plentiful with enough options. The hotel is not a five-star but a very solid four-star, with good value and lovely staff. We wish we'd had more than the one night and will return should we find ourselves in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Splurge for a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

On arriving at the Hotel Estherea you know instantly that you have made a good choice as it is the nicest hotel on the row and right opposite the 9 streets.

Inside the hotel looks stunning with glass chandeliers and wooden panelling. The staff are very helpful and friendly and make you feel very welcome.

The rooms are small but very clean and well designed with everything you need. The decor may not be to everyone’s taste but we found it quite elegant, we also had a beautiful view of the canal.

The area which the hotel is situated is wonderful, very quiet and picturesque, opposite the 9 streets and a short walk to the jordaan or dam areas.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel as there was so much available near by and it was nice not to feel forced to get out of bed at certain times. So if you do decide not to get breakfast there are plenty of alternatives.

There is a nice but quite expensive bar and a reasonable small gym which we used a couple of mornings, this is good but the size may be an issue if the hotel is busy. There was a nice library and reading area and a relax area with free internet.

In our visit we only had a couple of issues. With it being a city hotel you get the issue of lots of rooms crammed together, this doesn’t help with the noise, if someone bangs there door closed in the middle of the night it will wake you up. Also don't expect nice lye in. It's not that the maid will open your door unexpectedly; it’s that they will be hoovering the carpet outside your room every morning at 8am. Finally there are papers available in the library for the guests, however they only told us this after we bought one.

All in all this is a wonderful hotel and the best of what we saw, you really get a sense of staying in comfort and style. Apart from the unexpected daily morning call (bless the maid) then it couldn’t be beaten.

Room Tip: third floor canal facing rooms like 306 and 307 make all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed in is hotel last weekend. Had a really lovely stay! Room was superb (202) quiet and very, very comfortable. Lovely bathroom with spa bath. Hotel staff were very pleasant and the lounges were very relaxing. Hotel is situated on the Signel Cannal, perfect location, very central and easy walking distance to everything. Easy cab ride to Central Station if you have heavy luggage (aprox €8) only negative was breakfast, was very chaotic (our choice to pick a busy time!!) it is too small to negotiate when busy. Staff were working hard but food was a bit limited on the buffet. I would suggest going around the corner, plenty of places for breakfast, unless hotel is very quiet. All in all a great stay, would without hesitation stay there again.

Room Tip: 202 faced back street(second floor), excellent room, even though on street, was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in a great location by the side of a canal in the centre of Amsterdam. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the "deluxe" rooms with a canal view, which was well worth the money. The room was enourmous, very comfortable and the view from the windows was great.
The hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere, we particularly enjoyed the free hot drinks and the large aquarium in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great hotel and room. Strange layout with the toilet the other side of the room from the bathroom but very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and we will most certainly be returning. Location close to Dam Square and all the main attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.