We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #16 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The location of this hotel is great. If you're in decent shape and not burdened with a lot of luggage, it is an easy walk from Centraal Station to Hotel Estherea. It's also easy to get to a lot of nice shops and places to eat from this location. It's less than a mile to Dam Square. While the decor of the rooms is a tad bit garish in my opinion, the bathroom was excellent. Do yourself a favor and skip the breakfast. At 18 Euros, it is definitely overpriced for the quality of what's prepared. The front desk staff was professional and nice. The personnel working the bar area not as attentive. All in all, this is a very nice hotel and you'd not be making a mistake if you chose to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,390
    570
    107
    29
    23
See reviews for
331
1133
73
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in October 2012. This was the first hotel I browsed on the web and I had such a good impression then that I booked it right away. My instinct prooved me right!

The hotel is luxurious, and grand in every way. Our deluxe room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable, with a king bed, large sofa, and little table in addition to the desk. The bathroom was ample and impeccable. We did not have a canal view, but all the better because our corner room was quiet and far from the elevator.

Staff always greeted us with a smile and was very helpful. They had taken note of my email making reference to our wedding aniversary and had left us a lovely gift in our room upon arrival. Thanks for such nice token!

We enjoyed having coffee/tea (there is a 24/7 complimentary coffee/tea machine in the lobby) every night while observing the fantastic acquarium in the lobby. Everything is of superb quality, tidy and clean.
Location is excellent: facing Singel Canal -a guarantee of quietness - but having everything around the corner on Spuistraat - restaurants, bars, coffeeshops. Shopping area is about 3 or 4 blocks away.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but instead had a coffe and croisant at Café Hoppe, a top 10, a couple of blocks away.
Amsterdam is great for walking (or riding!). Watch out for intense bike traffic when crossing the street! We enjoyed the museums and the canals - a cruise is a must.
We also hopped on a train and visited The Hague, which is only 50 minutes away. It is a beautiful city, quieter than Amsterdam.
Overall, our stay in Netherlands was amazing! I'd love to come back and definitely would choose Estherea over and over again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was my second stay in this hotel, and I loved it even more than the first! Definitely my favourite hotel, and my favourite city in the whole world! It is just so beautiful and comfortable, every minute staying there was a real pleasure. Breakfast is still really tasty, the coffees and teas are available for free around the clock (I hate not being able to get a warm cup of tea in most European hotels!), and this time around, I found the staff a lot more courteous so really - nothing to complain about, only good things to say about this hotel!
Location could not be better - go to Broodje Bert next door for the best sandwiches in the world, and avoid the tacky middle part of the city centre, but take a walk down Wolvenstraat for great shops, cafés and restaurants.
Will definitely be back, maybe one day for good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Be sure to book the room online through their site to get a better rate of €13/day rather than €18 to have their breakfast and to get free internet rather than €10/day internet. The breakfast is a very good one with a large variety of hot and cold items. My large room averaged €262.50 for Thursday through Saturday nights overlooking the canal rather than at the back where people say is noisy.
Even though there are a lot of light switches I had difficulty that the switches also turns off the wall plugs so you could not turn off the room lights without killing the power to where I was charging my iPad. Normally I would charge it overnight but to sleep you turn the lights off and the plug is off so I left all the lights on in the room to charge the iPad when I went for supper and when I went to breakfast.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised to find a hotel with rooms on the large-ish size (for Europe). The queen-sized bed took up most of our room on the 4th floor (not the canal side) but there was still room for a large wardrobe, a small desk and table. The bathroom was remodeled and had a huge soaking tub and separate stall shower, and stone vanity with two sinks. Like most of Europe and the UK, there are only electrical outlets that accomodate low-amperage shavers, but the hair dryer was decent and located near a mirror, in the bathroom where you actually need it (unlike the UK). The shower was big enough to turn around in. The toilet was in a separate room. There is a medium-size flat screen TV mounted next to the bed, but no alarm clock.

This was not cheap (more than 400 Euros per night) but we spent a lot of time searching for hotels near the canal ring or Dam Square and this looked to be one of the best in terms of room type and level of service that we wanted.

The breakfast was 18 Euros, which is outrageous yet seems to be typical for the Netherlands, not just Amsterdam. Skip it and just get some coffee in the lobby, and go down the street to one of the many cafes to grab something for breakfast.

Internet is not free and was something like 5E for one hour and over 10E for 24 hrs, and you could only use it on one machine. So, I had a tablet and my husband had his computer, and both of us had mobile phones, but for each 24 hr block we could only use the tablet, for example.

I agree with Cornishkent, the street noise was something of an issue. If i hadn't brought serious industrial-grade earplugs, I never would have slept. Our room was on the 4th floor on the non-canal side, but honestly, it wouldn't have been any more quiet on the canal side, as there is still a regular street on that side. This area seems to attract young people who are out into the wee hours of the morning, yelling, laughing, being drunk/stoned (oh yes, there's a coffeeshop on the non-canal side, right next to the hotel), riding motorbikes, driving cars and honking horns. We stayed Thursday night to Sunday morning and the night noise just increased as the week went on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ - BRAZIL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice and comfortable hotel.
Rooms facing the back street are very noisy. Be carefull !!!
If you have problems sleeping with some kind of noise, be very aware !!!
It is so noisy that they provide free ear plugs !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

we stayed at the Estherea in April 2012, it was a fantastic experience. we booked direct with the Hotel and had to contact them a couple of times by phone, the staff were always polite and followed up our conversation with an email.
As we arrived on avert early flight we were able to leave our bags in the Hotel at about 10am with no extra charge. The lounge is avery comfortable space with free tea, coffee and delicious biscuits, which my son was particularly impressed by. Also a massive aquarium which was very popular with our son. We were given a room overlooking the street, which had a pleasant amount of noise and was never too noisy. the room was very comfortable and had a bed made up for our son.
The hotel was located on one of the quieter canals, and there was a very pleasant spot outside to sit in the sun watching the world go by. The location is very central and we were able to walk everywhere , Anne Frank's House, Van Gogh Museum, Station, Remberandt's House. Etc - nothing was too far away and even a reluctant 11 year old did not mind as there was always so much to see. We saved a lot of money by popping back to the hotel when we were passing to have drink and biscuit before setting off again.
when we checked out , although our flight was late on we were able to leave our bags at the hotel ,at no extra charge. we also spent about an hour waiting in the hotel lounge even though it was well past check out time.
The staff were always helpful with the booking of tickets and any enquiry.
It is one of the most pleasant hotels in a city that we have ever stayed in

there is not a swimming pool! I clicked on it by accident.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.