We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #16 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Modern Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I always stick with chain hotels as I know exactly what I will get but the reviews on Hotel Estherea were just too good to pass up. We booked a 3 night stay and I had some concerns it was going to be an old, dusty, frilly kind of place I was wrong. This hotel is beautifully decorated with modern charm.

We had a beautiful room with a canal view, king size bed, large bathroom with double sinks, tub/shower, in room safe, bar fridge with complimentary water daily. My favorite part was the windows that opened up to the canal. We could sit on our window ledge with a glass of wine and enjoy the view.

Service is the best we have experienced. And it didn't matter if you were dealing with the front desk, bellman or bartender they were all friendly and helpful.

I would and will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.



I can't imagine

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,390
    570
    107
    29
    23
See reviews for
331
1133
73
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked this hotel as a result of the excellent reviews on this site. Location was first class, in the Jordaan area of the city, near to the '9 streets' shopping area and canal ring. It is a 15 minute walk from the central rail station. Our room was on the first floor and on the small side, but had canal views to the front of the hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel, as there are plenty of cafes and restaurants within walking distance which offer better value and selection compared with the hotel. We spent all of our day away from the hotel, but there are the usual lounges, bar and gym to use, as well as free wi-fi and iPad use. The only disappointment was the amount of street noise. To be fair we didn't complain and used our own ear plugs. Point of interest was the fact the hotel also offered ear plugs. Just be aware that a canal view does not come with a sound night's sleep. Average room rate 200 Euro without breakfast. We would stay in the same part of town for our next visit, but not at this hotel.

Room Tip: Be aware of the street noise in the rooms at the front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I thought this hotel was delightful. I enjoyed the friendly staff and the interesting architecture but the rooms were very small--not a surprise for a European hotel. I greatly appreciated the complimentary coffee and tea and the breakfast was lovely. (Tables were tiny and very close together though.)

The location of the hotel was excellent and it was easy to walk to many interesting sites. We also found several lovely restaurants nearby. I would certainly stay there again, though the rate we paid was quite high, so I would look for a time with a special rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very good location that is within easy walking distance to the old section of town. Close to tram stop and lots of very good restaurants. The rooms are a little small but very clean.
There is a comfortable lounge with complimentary tea, coffee, and sweet treats. The breakfast is
a buffet with a good variety of food that was good. Nothing fancy, just a good breakfast.
The staff was pleasant and helpful with our requests. The only feature I wish was no charge wi-fi
in the room. The fee here was 10 euro's for 24 hours per device.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

In short, this is a spectacular hotel. The most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in and I have traveled quite a bit. Perfect location. Excellent staff. The price.... about $250.00 USD per night. Worth every penny. This is the place to stay in Amsterdam!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view in the front of the hotel. Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very close to shopping areas. Very friendly staff. They offered free tea and coffee all days. The room is very small but extremely clean. They provided 2 free small bottles of water and good quality shampoo & shower gel. One of the receptionist told us a direction to the tram station which is longer. And another receptionist helped us to reserve a table in a restaurant. However, when we arrived, there was no booking there. Otherwise, this hotel is perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel has spent a fortune on all the things that a visitor will see: the lobby is four-star, the bar is four-star, the rooms (for the most part), are four star, and the baths are four or five star. Everything looks just wonderful.
But whoever gave this hotel a four-star rating did not use the hotel's excuse for a "bath towel", which is both ultra small and non-absorbant. Bring your own dish cloth and you'll do better. The TV is straight out of Motel 6. How they were able to locate sets that small is difficult to imagine. The service at the front desk is very spotty, depending on who is around. Many of the workers there have multiple assignments ... bartender, front desk, bellhop ... and not many are good at their jobs. Some do make an effort, but some of the people at the front desk really don't care. After a long day of touring, we opted for a glass of port in the bar at around 10:00PM. There were two people at the front desk nearby chatting away with eachother about Greece and how wonderful it is, and no one was at the bar. When I approached, the pair did not acknowledge my presence but continued their conversation three feet from me. We finally left and went to bed.
On another occasion, when I pointed out that one of the PC's in the public area was not working, I was told very abruptly at the front desk, "I know about it. I'm busy." Thank you very much. On another occasion, the first of our four nights there, I asked for extra pillows. They never showed up.
So while this property is well-placed, midway between Dam Square and Spui Square, and is lovely to look at, it falls short on service and in paying attention to details. We expected better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.