We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning boutique hotel on the Singel Canal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #12 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stunning boutique hotel on the Singel Canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A gem of a hotel beautifully decorated, with a wonderful and attentive staff to match. Words cant express the experience of entering this haven of peaceful tranquility after a busy day sightseeing in Amsterdam.

It deserves the rating it receives. Definitely pay that little bit more to stay in a canal view room, the ambience and view is worth it.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,493
    600
    111
    28
    23
See reviews for
364
1,213
76
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We arrived at their doorstep at 9AM after an overnight flight from Houston. Our room was not ready but the desk called housekeeping and we were in our room, #412, within 30 minutes. The room is small but overlooks the canal and the A/C works. It has a room safe and adequate storage. The bed is two twins made into a King and very comfortable. Our rate was an average of 250 Euros a night and cheap compared to other name hotels. They have excellent coffee and hot chocolate with cookies 24 hours. We will come back as Amsterdam is our new favorite gateway city to Europe.

Room Tip: Get a canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We can add out voices to the chorus of accolades for this charming, elegant, funkily-posh establishment, a little jewel box packed with pushiness, flowers and goodies at every turn:, elegance run wild. Very red downstairs. Our room on the 2nd floor, one of the two smallest in the hotel, had a full canal view, a good-sized, overstuffed (but comfortable) bed, a corner table, small desk and no room for much else, including our suitcases, which we had to line up in front of the bed against the wall, leaving just enough room to squeeze by. Here too, however, the furnishings were elegant and luxurious; the flowers I ordered were gorgeous. No need to order champagne, as I did in a fit of romantic impulsiveness, because it comes (free) with the breakfast buffet. We thought the 12 euro breakfast deal was well worth signing up for (it’s normally 18 euros), because the food was good and covered every conceivable breakfast taste. The bathroom was well-appointed, modern, scrupulously clean, and compact in the way of European hotels. The air conditioning was effective and regulated by a thermostat in the room. The single elevator for the front of the hotel was fast and always seemed to come when called. The staff was cheery, personable, and responsive. The location is ideal, right on the “border” between the fashionable, upscale Western canal district and the frumpy, atmospheric “old town”, a 20-30 minute scenic walk along the canals to the major museums, 10 minutes to the Ann Frank House. Our small room was not cheap, but we both felt that it was a good value. In fact, we totally loved our 3-night stay and have absolutely nothing negative to report. All four of our thumbs up. We plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get one in the front of the hotel, overlooking the Singel canal; room 207 is the smallest (on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We wanted a decent hotel in the centre of Amsterdam, and this place worked out brilliantly. The staff were friendly, the reception and general areas nicely done, and the rooms really well put together. Its located really close to the areas you want to do the tourist thing with, and they were helpful when we needed a guiding hand. Have to say the bed was also a talking point, so darn comfortable i almost struggled to catch my flight the next morning! Only had breakfast in the hotel, but again, exactly what we wanted and delivered well by the staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Four star hotel that is on the verge of being five ! The location on the Singel is perfect. A quiet street only a short (5 min.) stroll to the Damtrack, flower market, Rembrant Square (restaurants), and canal cruises.
Old polished wood makes this hotel a charm to be in where it is easy to visualize travellers of yesteryear dressed in their finery. (Sad today that most folks wear jeans for cocktails) The bar is a delight but be aware a "martini" means white vermouth, not an american style gin or vodka martini. Best to order vodka with ice.
Our room, small suite (#210) overlooking the canal was one of the most romantic rooms we have been in. Superb housekeeping, comfortable bed with nice linens. You can sit for hours gazing out the window (that opens) overlooking the canal traffic.
Breakfast is typical european with scrambled eggs and bacon for foreigners from North America. Free cappicinno night and day (automated serve your self) and pastries in the afternoon when you come back from a day of touring.
I would suggest five stars if they had robes in the rooms.
Would I return to this hotel = absolutely, and rebook #210.

Room Tip: Spend the extra Euros and book a canal view room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nice and "old fashion" hotel in a quite, but very central located in a canal street.
Friendly and attentive staff.

walking distance to all turist attractions downtown Amsterdam.

Breakfast was a bit pricy, but had a wide selction.

Comfortable and good quality bed in superior room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.