We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful romantic hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #16 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful romantic hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Our experience there was fantastic! This hotel is beautifully designed and you get complimentary coffee or hot chocolate downstairs available at all times.

The staff were very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. Room service was prompt and of a high standard. Rose petals and a bottle of processo in our bedroom (of course at an extra cost) was elegantly laid out as seen from the photo I put up. We would highly recommend this hotel especially for a nice romantic getaway!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,716
    688
    119
    32
    27
See reviews for
415
1,397
84
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porvoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Small, classic -however very fresh and newly furnished and fresh smelling- hotel with good mood reception people that did their work very well. Third floor room with view to the channel was medium size double bed room that was decorated very tastefully with lot of fabrics and wood. Bathroom was very nice - all together excellent facilities.

Hotel is very centrally located: 15 minutes walking from Central Station, 5 minutes from Damrak and Dam Square, 10 minutes to Leidseplein etc. Sufficient with shops and restaurants near by ... strongly recommend one of the Bruin Cafe:s (traditional Dutch beer and snack bars) on the way to Jordaan.

shops, restaurants etc are very near. Artist oriented Jordaan area is as well near

Room Tip: Nice view to Singelgracht channel from the third floor street side room. Newly fixed windows - no no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Wow, this place was great and did not stop impressing us- beautiful rooms, attentive staff- we brought dinner back to the hotel and they were happy to supply plates, cutlery, and napkins- with a smile! Really friendly staff- everyone says hello (in many languages) and the weekend buffet breakfast was superb.. The trip advisor upgrade was very appreciated! Thanks hotel Estherea.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Overall a fantastic experience at hotel estherea.

Staff were extremely professional, friendly and helpful on checkin and checkout.

Location is excellent. Very close to the major attractions but far enough away from the busy and tacky streets further to the west!

The design of the hotel is very grandiose and luxurious which I absolutely love, although others may find a little over the top. There was even a salt water fish tank on entry!

I used the TripAdvisor special deal to receive a free room upgrade. The room was excellent. Spacious, a super comfortable bed, tv, fridge, complimentary bottled water, outstanding bathroom with separate toilet and jacuzzi bath. The only downside was the room looked over an internal fish pond rather than the canal, but I guess you can't have it all...unless you pay for it!

The complimentary coffee tea and hot chocolate were superb and were served with mini biscuits too...perfect for the return after a cold day in Amsterdam!

At 15euros each, we almost didn't opt for the breakfast, but were so glad we did! Served in a charming breakfast room with delft china, there was a brilliant selection of cold meats, cheeses, bread, fruit, yoghurt, bacon, eggs etc. The best bit was that they offer you prosecco so you can enjoy a bucks fizz first thing in the morning.

This hotel was the most expensive we chose on our European trip, but it was by far the best. The ambience of the place, teamed with the acute attention to detail makes this hotel a real winner in my book.

We hope to be back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Really central and within walking distance of rail station and nearly all Amsterdam's sites.
Our room was warm and very comfortable, though I did have to ask for a second pillow for my side of the bed! Room was quiet in terms of noise from outside the hotel; but giant footsteps could be heard from room above; tip: ask for a room on the top floor!
Large, comfy sitting area near reception is a big bonus for footsore tourists, and books, journals and free flowing hot drinks aid relaxation.
Reception staff are efficient and super friendly; one of them even advised on how to avoid over charging cabbies! No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Canal view room should be fine, since narrow road at front of hotel not noisy. Ask for top floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericia, Denmark
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the hotel. This was our 7th time at the hotel, and eventhough we return every 6 months, it is amazing to see the little improvements that
are made everytime we return. Greeted with a pleasant smile and welcome back at the
check in, which took all but 2 minutes. Had a nice room overlooking the Singel canel, would
highly recommend if you have the budget for it, but the deluxe rooms overlooking Spui is also
nice. The breakfast seems to be nicer, however it can feel a little cramped when they are busy. The wifi seemed to work better and faster this time around, so maybe they have upgraded that part since last time. Service was great as always. However would like to see the PC's upgraded in the lobby, and maybe a coat hanger in the bar, so you do not need to drop your coat off when leaving or wanted a cocktail before going out. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great place right in the heart of town. Seriously could not have been better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.