We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place. Staff were extra welcoming to our one and three year olds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #17 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place. Staff were extra welcoming to our one and three year olds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great place right in the heart of town. Seriously could not have been better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,701
    683
    119
    32
    27
See reviews for
412
1,387
82
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights here on a mid week break. We took a taxi from Centraal Station which cost 7€ and took less than 5 minutes. Although check in is nominally 3 o'clock we arrived at 12 and were met with politeness and the room was ready for us. We stayed in a lovely room on the 1st floor , it was nicely decorated in a luxurious manner rather than a modernist manner . The bathroom had twin sinks and a jacuzzi style bath with a separate shower. Toiletries were provided. The room was spotless as was the entire hotel as I could see. the staff were ever willing to advise and assist whenever they were needed. We did not take the breakfast option this time although people we talked to were happy with the quality. We did avail ourselves of the compementary coffee which was of a good quality and available 24 hours a day. The Hotel bar is quite small but the prices were consistant with bar prices and not inflated.
The location of the hotel is near to the 9 streets and is 3 minutes from the Spui, 5 minutes from Anne Frank and less than 5 minutes to Dam square. We found the hotel to be central enough as not to use any transport during our visit, even the museum quarter was less than 10 minutes walk. The Hotel has several good restaurants in the vicinity in various price ranges.
The only drawback I can possibly think of is that the hotel does not provide free wifi but this had no negative effect on our break.
We would definately stop here again on our next visit to Amsterdam and would reccomend it to anyone looking for a more romantic style of hotel or a very well situated hotel. I would say if you want a brash night life located hotel this is not for you

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Hotel Estherea turned out to be an excellent choice for a weekend getaway. The lobby and lounge area is very nice, our room clean and with a very nice bathroom, very comfortable beds, great breakfast, and polite and helpful staff. The location on Singel is very quiet, but Dam Square is only 5 minutes away on foot and all of central Amsterdam is within walking distance. We also walked to the Centraal Station when departing and this took about 15 minutes.
A few details that could be improved to make it perfect:
- Free WiFi (without having to join Friends of Estherea - my application to become a "friend" is still not approved)
- More staff at breakfast. Serving Prosecco for breakfast is great, having to wait half an hour for the empty bottle to be replaced (with a lukewarm one) is not great.
But those are details. I will book again next time I go to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My wife and I together with our two adult children and their partners spent a long weekend at the Estherea in February 2012. The hotel is ideally located on Singel canal, not far from any of the major attractions so we were comfortable walking to most. We had 3 rooms, including a canal room that had a fantastic view of the frozen canal when we were there. The rooms were all good sizes and beautifully decorated. The beds were incredibly comfortable, with sumptuous matresses and the fluffiest duvets we've ever experienced. All staff were very friendly, even down to the house staff who were meticulously cleaning the chandelier in the entry foyer on Sunday morning and still had time to offer a greeting. All day free coffee and nibbles were greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Canal views are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel has an ideal location with Dam Square just behind and the Nine shopping streets in front, however it is a very quiet and peaceful setting on Singel which meant we slept very soundly aided by the very comfortable beds. Ideal for couples of all ages looking for friendly service in luxurious surroundings.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria,va
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Hotel Estherea is a classic Dutch hotel. Built in a series of 17th century buildings right next to the Singel canal. It's interior and rooms are classically furnished. The breakfast is very good. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The only downside is the lack of insulation between floors and walls...try to get a room on the top floor. Otherwise a very nice and well-located hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I just spent three nights at the Hotel Estherea and it was a great experience. The location is excellent in the center of the city-just a block or two from dozens of restaurants and with in walking distance of sites such as the Anne Frank House and Dam Square. The rooms were more spacious than I expected and impeccably decorated. Gorgeous traditional furnishings and very comfy beds. The lobby area is equally lovely and comfortable and is a great place for an evening drink. People tend to gather and it's a nice place for conversation with other guests. Plush towels and a beautiful, large bathroom were an added bonus to this hotel.

The staff speaks very good English and they are most helpful and accommodating. The breakfast is also very good with a wide selection of meats, cheeses, fruit, eggs, and breads and well worth the added cost. If you book through the hotel's website you can choose packages that included a discounted breakfast.

The only thing keeping me from giving the hotel a perfect rating? It's not well insulated and we could hear people in neighboring rooms as well as the people above us. I'm a heavy sleeper and it didn't bother me but it did keep my husband awake at night.

All in all, I would certainly recommend this lovely hotel and would visit there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.