We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small luxury hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #15 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Small luxury hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Spent a great week-end at hotel Estherea. Perfect location, you can walk to all the important Amsterdam sites from here. We had a beautiful room with canal view from three windows, comfy beds, nice big bathroom. We arrived early and got our room right away. The breakfast buffet is very good with attentive staff and well worth the money. Efficient housekeeping, our room was made up during the time we spent at the breakfast buffet and was just ready when we came back, great! After a day of museums, having coffee or tea and pastries in the library is a perfect way to unwind. A true luxury hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,421
    578
    110
    28
    23
See reviews for
344
1163
74
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I stayed only one night but was very impressed by the efficiency at reception, as well as the comfort, style and service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX, U.K.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stunning Hotel. Very close to all locations. Superb decor. Staff very attentive & very helpful. We had a room with jacuzzi,well decorated ,very comfy bed. Very quite ,no noise. Free coffee,tea,hot chocolate, 24hours in lobby, also pastries. Bar has very comfortable sofa's and a wide selection of drink's. Again free help yourself varieties of nut's,& mint & lemon squash & raspberry squash. Lift to all floor's,very quiet. Breakfast is well worth the money,don't be put off by other review's,try it yourself and see. Free complimentary newspaper's. My wife and I cannot fault this hotel, it was a pleasure to to stay here, and we are going to book again. Do yourself a big favour and book it up and try if you are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Md
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

At the end of our Uniworld river boat trip our one night at the Hotel Estherea was a delight. We arrived around 10 A.M. and fully expected to check our bags until our rooms were available. Imagine our delight when they informed us that one of our rooms was ready and that they were upgrading us to canal front rooms! The hotel, although old, is up to date and furnished tastefully with old world charm. There is a computer and printer in the lobby, if you need to print your boarding passes, coffee etc is available there as well. Best of all is the location, which is on the Singel canal, only a few short blocks from the Flower market, shopping, and just about any other attraction you may wish to visit. The front desk couldn't have been more congenial and pleasant. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting Amsterdam. We would absolutely book it again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to Canal view rooms, which were lovely, although a little noisy with the street tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.E. Asia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

You cannot have a better location in this charming city with easy access to old Amsterdam on Singel Canal. The hotel meets one's basic needs but falls short in a few areas. I paid additional rate for a canal view room and "more space." requested King Bedded room. This hotel idea of a King bed is two single beds pushed together with seperate linens and a gap between the two. In essence you have a single bed. It does not work for one person and more importantly for a couple who want to sleep together. In addition there was not a single comfortable chair to sit in and read. 3 wooden chairs and incongrous wooden table in the middle of the room were the extent of the furnishings. In short the room was not comfortable at all. I have had smaller rooms with more comfort. Housekeeping is very very slow. Two times it took over 5 hours from putting the sign on the door to the room finally being ready. After it is ready there is a constant interruption as various supervisors come to check if the room has been cleaned.. too little, too much. Bathroom was OK but the shower is treacherous if one is not steady and god forbid you turn the wrong faucet. Front desk staff are either very friendly and helpful or imperious. A bizarre acrid stink in the lift needs tending to. The lobby is pleasant and warm with many chandeliers, lots of interesting small touches but not to everyone's taste. In general nothing to keep a return visit if a room with a view and a comfy chair and a real King bed can be secured. Value for money? Fair enough.

Room Tip: I wish I had one. Will certainly need one if I ever stay again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This is our third visit and still the same high standards. The reception staff are friendly, helpful and efficient o complementing the beautiful lobby and lounge area. We arrived early and had breakfast which is excellent and then headed out to do some shopping which is excellent in the nearby vicinity.

This visit, we had a room overlooking the canal which we booked long in advance and so was excellent value. Booking in advance is to be reccomended! Comfortable bed. Roome a decent size but bathroom a little small and only just about adequate. Next time, I will request a bigger bathroom.

Good restaurants nearby and all sights are walking distance.

My only complaint is that there is no tea making equipment in the rooms and so you need to go downstairs to the machine which is free but located such that nocturnal trips in a bathrobe just don't seem correct!

Room Tip: Book as far in advance as possible, specify what you want i.e. room overlooking canal (extra) and de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Hotel Estherea is one of those old style hotels with dark wood, ornate furniture, and a library full of old books. The even have bellhops. The hotel has been run by the same family since the '40s and though they have modern conveniences (internet terminal, workout room, modern showers, coffee machine) you still feel you've walked a century or so into the past when you visit. Located on the old Singel canal, the hotel is walking distance from most Amsterdam sites, and just a few blocks from Dam square. Our room only had a view of an internal courtyard, but other than that this was the perfect hotel for our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.