We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Completely Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #16 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Completely Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. A great location on the Singel, Amsterdam's oldest major canal, in the old city center. The room was very comfortable with a large bath by European standards. A delighful lobby, sitting area with complimentary coffee / hot chocolate. The staff was professional and offered good recommendations for restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,263
    528
    103
    29
    22
See reviews for
294
1037
70
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Short taxi ride from the train station and on arrival greeted by very friendly receptionist. Room on top floor overlooking the canal - just gorgeous (room and canal) Hotel beautifully decorated in a classical style - deep warm colours Lots of patterns and colours clamouring for attention but it works really well. Large fish tank an interesting focal point in the lounge and the hotel cat a friendly added bonus! Free tea, coffee and cookies/cakes in reception area is a lovely gesture. Breakfast is an extra at 16 euro each - a bit steep if like us you only eat cereal and toast but if you've a large appetite probably not bad. Location is great - very central yet quiet at night; lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. Staff very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Can't recommend it highly enough!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Me and my colleague choose Hotel Estherea on internet and were greatly surprised when we arrived! We just loved this place! Both our rooms were decorated in different ways - with very beautiful and unique decoration. My room had a very nice view towards a canal and I could lie in the bed watching the boats pass by. So nice!
The location is also very good, it is near to the flower market and the shopping street Kalverstraat. The breakfast buffet was also really nice. The only thing that I can say is negative is the fact that it was rather noicy in the street outside at night, but everything else is so positive I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the upper floors so that you are furter away from the street, since it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The hotel is fabulous with unique and beautiful decor and our room was very comfortable and cozy. The choice of colors and furniture was very striking. The free beverages and snacks in the lobby was a really nice touch. The staff provided very good recommendations for restaurants in the area. The location was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Beautiful decorated room, clean, nice hotel aristocratic. I made the reservation by booking.com and the cost was 90 euros/night with breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Well situated (about 15 min walk from central station or 5 min on tram)

It has lovely spacious, comfortable lounge area. The free tea / coffee / choc machine and some cold drinks all day and night is a great touch and people sit around in the lounge chatting because of this -which makes it very friendly.
Fabulous 8 foot coral reef aquarium in main area will entertain children

I do have regular business trips to Amsterdam and will return to this hotel as it is value for money and very friendly (not the most luxurious hotel I have stayed in -so if that is what you want then you need to pay more)
Breakfast was also good (16 euros)
NB the room was a reasonable size for Amsterdam (where most are small in size)
The internet / wifi is an extra cost

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

This hotel is very quaint. The rooms are small but we thought adequate. The breakfast was very good try to get it included in price. It is within walking distance to everything. We found the front desk staff accomodating.
The walls were a bit thin and the outside noise was apparent but we did not let it bother us as the ambiance was wonderful. Beautifully decorated in old world charm.
Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Estherea Hotel
Estherea
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam
Address: Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.