We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Customers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #12 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy Customers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My girlfriend & i stayed at your hotel on Saturday 20th August 2011 & would just like to say how happy we were with our stay!

We hadn't stayed at this hotel before, & Sam requested a room with "a nice view"

I can only tell you how delighted we were upon check-in, to be told we had been up-graded to the "suite" after only paying for a standard room.

All of the staff there were very friendly & always had a smile.

We will definitely be recommending this hotel to all our friends, & would like to say thank you to everybody who works there.

It is not often people are treated to this luxury, & it was much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,490
    599
    111
    28
    23
See reviews for
364
1,210
76
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on-trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

stayed here end of august for bank holliday weekend. ok it is not cheep anywhere a pint on average 5-6 euros and food is not cheap either but with the hotel you probably do get what you payfor as boutique hotels are not cheep anyway but there is really attention to detail in this hotel. the decor is fantastic all through the hotel. the bedroom we had was a deluxe 4 poster front facing canal room 110. it was lovely and relaxing very peacefull, nice decor, the 4 poster was extra comfy with nice drapes. the small compact bathroom was modern with toiletries and hairdryer. we had a seating area and nice furnishings. the hotel even provided complementary chocolates as it was our wedding anniverary which was a nice touch. in the loby there was a great tea/coffee/hotchocolate machine which was free and mint water on the bar which was also free. there was also various sweet jars and cake or pastries for free. we didnt have the breakfast for 16euros each we went to one of the little patisery shops futher along the canal for coffee and quasants which was nice and a little cheaper. it did nothing but rain when we were here but the hotel provide umbrellas and plastic ponchos which was great. it didnt stop anyone going out and it was still very busy wherever you went and plenty of little canal side cafes to watch people go buy. everyone here has a bike and there are bike lanes everywhere so be carefull when walking but most people ring the bell to let you know they are comming. the red light area is a 10 min walk away and not half a seedy as i imagined. it is just women in underware standing behind red lit windows scatterd up and down the streets.everyone who was walking around were just normal families with kids,couples young and old just walking up and down the canal taking it all in, yes there a few sex shops and bars on the 2 main areas but on the whole it was ok nobody was aproached or anything so dont be concerned. drugs were no issue either yes people were smoking it in some of the bars but we didnt tend to go in anyway, most places are fine all very calm. we walked miles this weekend as there is lots to see and do with the canals and museums etc now i need a rest! we went to madame tusauds would definatley recommend going but it was smaller than i imagined and its not really for young children. the hotel is within 15mins walking distance of the station but you do need a map from tourist information in the airport to find your way or you could use the metro tickets also from here. we went on a candlelit dinner cruse on the lovers canal boat. it was lovely. glass of bubbly, 2 bottles of wine red/white and lovelly 3 course meal. tea/coffee and chocolates to finish. it was very relaxed and was lovely for a special anniverasry night out. would really recomend this. great city definatley worth a visit. hotel was in a great central quiet position and would recommend it.

Room Tip: we had a deluxe room on 1st floor with great view of canal side with air con and 4 poster it was lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We booked the Estherea as a last minute stay on our way back to the UK. We got a great deal on the internet. We stayed 3 nights and loved it. Yes, full breakfast buffet is overpriced at 16 Euros, but you can have less, or just 2 doors up is Berts cafe by the canal and they do a fantastic breakfast for 7.5 Euros including fresh juice and coffee.
Our room was 513, facing the back, so no canal view but overlooked a bright small courtyard and was very quiet. Bathroom was small - but clean and well fitted. I liked the wallpapers and general decor. The bed was soooo comfy!
The staff were brilliant. They were helpful, kind, courteous and remembered us each time we re-entered, handing the key over before we even said which room we were in. We had been camping in Austria so did not look so smart that they had to fall over themselves to impress us - they were just naturally professional.
The hotel library, lounge and bar are very comfortable and we sat out a rainy morning happily reading and drinking free coffee and eating free cake.
Car parking is very expensive in central Amsterdam and the hotel was no exception, it cost us 50 Euros a night! But was in a very secure underground car park.

Room Tip: if you pay full price (not internet discount) be sure to get a canal facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, It
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

Small hotel very well located in the downtown area. Victorian style. From outside doesn't look an hotel . Breakfast not included in our rate, as was not included the wifi. In spite of those minor issues, you can consider this hotel a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

Great location in the "Seven Streets" district (upscale shopping and restaurants) near the heart of Amsterdam. Cozy elegant decor. Very satisfactory 3-4 star hotel with good breakfast and very well appointed, very clean rooms. We paid around 125 euro per in Nov 2010 and that was good value for the $$. Staff spoke excellent English. Will return gladly.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Great location on the canal belt but also close to Dam Square. The room was clean, large and well appointed and overlooked the small central courtyard. On the positive side this meant it was very quiet, on the negative, if you didn't have the net curtains across the neighbours could see in. We had asked for a twin room but were presented with a double; after asking at reception we were correctly told that it was made up as two twins together but that if we preferred they would separate the beds. In the event the originial set up was perfectly fine, and the beds was very comfortable.

Reception staff were friendly and effecient. Check in and out were smooth. Taxis were booked on the spot, arrived within 5 minutes, were of a good standard and cheaper than those on the streets.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Also free hot drinks and biscuits/sweets available from reception 24/7 and free water in the room. This was my second time staying in Hotel Estherea, and will certainly not be the last.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stayed at Estherea in May 2006. It was actually all I wanted from a hotel at the time..It was a boutique-styled ,not too big...yet quite glamorous,with a n amazing chandalier in the drawing room next to the lobby.The room was spacious ,and the bathroom was just fabulous.The Location is just great,just a couple of blocks away from Dam square,situated at the beautiful canal ,called Singel...Very quiet and peaceful,and yet very easily near the dazzling shopping area and restaurants..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.