We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite – a second home while on holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #11 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sluis, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Exquisite – a second home while on holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Yesterday evening I returned from a 3-day city trip in Amsterdam. My colleague and I came to see the Take That concert in the Arena. After much reviewing on Tripadvisor and Booking.com we decided to book a standard double room in Hotel Estheréa, which receives rave reviews. I am now adding mine.

We arrived late Sunday morning and the kind receptionist who did our check-in said it was a bit chaotic that morning, soooo, they had upgraded us free of charge to a deluxe room. The room didn’t have canal view (which we had secretly been hoping for) but she kept saying that room 402, which had been allocated to us, was a beautiful room. We decided not to make it any more difficult for her and accepted the room. It wasn’t ready yet, but we could leave our luggage. Later in the afternoon we returned to check out our room and enjoy the complimentary coffee, tea and cakes in the common area we came to call “the living room”.

Our room was located on the back side of the hotel, overlooking Spuistraat. Each room in this hotel is different and during our stay we often tried to catch glimpses of other rooms when the maids were cleaning, to see if they were as lovely as ours. Room 402 has the same look and feel of the living room and lobby, with bordeaux red coloured wall paper, dark wooden beams and a golden glow when the lights are on. The bed mattress, pillows and feather bed were amazingly soft. It’s the best hotel bed I ever slept in.
The bathroom had a jacuzzi bathtub, a shower, two sinks, hair dryer, shampoos, towels, washcloths, make-up mirror, Kleenex tissues and even cotton wools and cotton buds!
In the bedroom there was a minibar, safe, closet and ironing board. We had a writing desk and a table + two chairs at the window.
We didn't use the flatscreen tv or the airco (too chilly).
There is no free wifi in the room, nor are there tea making facilities, but both can be found downstairs.

Besides the living room there is a library, bar and a corner with two computers (free internet). We often found ourselves sitting in the living room, at all times of the day. And we weren’t the only ones! Many people sit here, enjoying the sumptuous decorations and the warm feeling the common areas exude. I loved the large soft chair (it easily fits two people), I curled up here to read while my colleague was soaking in the jacuzzi. There are newspapers in several languages available at the reception and the library is, duh, filled with books that guests can use.

It’s very easy to start a conversation with other hotel guests. This inviting hotel is like a second home and at the end of the day I looked forward to returning to Estheréa every time. They even have a hotel cat, called Hegje. She was saved from the animal shelter and now lives in the hotel. She has her own place to sleep but when its calm you can find her walking around in the common area or sleeping in one of the chairs. Hegje isn’t the only animal in the hotel, the lobby has a very beautiful aquarium as well.

You can also find a gym and a public telephone in the hotel. There are two lifts, but you can take the stairs if you like. The hotel also provides free umbrellas and ponchos when it rains. You can rent a Vespa scooter or order a taxi. Personally I find walking around the best way to discover the city, since the hotel is located inside the city center. We walked from the Central Station to our hotel in about 20 minutes, it’s very easy to find. All of the museums we visited were within walking distance.

All staff are incredibly kind and knowledgeable about the city. There is always at least one person at the reception and usually there is also someone walking around the common area.

We didn’t have breakfast in the hotel (price is € 16 per person). There is a small bakery (Lanskroon, Singel 385) two minutes walking away. So we bought something there and came back to the hotel to have breakfast in the living room. Some other people did this as well.

The only downside was that we woke up during the night a couple of times and early in the morning, because Spuistraat is apparently a busy road and the house right in front of our window was being renovated. The construction workers started at 7.30 a.m. but of course the hotel can’t do anything about this, so it didn’t really bother me for those two nights.

Overall:
* good location on Singel overlooking a canal, and within walking distance of Central Station and most important highlights
* splendid and comfortable room
* helpful, attentive, agreeable and polite staff
* luggage was already in our room when we first entered our room = great service
* beautiful and cozy common areas, like living room and library, where you can just sit and relax
* free coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cakes and candy all day long in the common area

If I’ll ever go back to Amsterdam I will most definitely return to Hotel Estheréa, I don’t want any other hotel than this one.

The official website of the hotel provides lots of pictures of the common areas, so I will mostly post pictures of our room.

Room Tip: Room 402 on the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,527
    610
    111
    28
    23
See reviews for
373
1,239
76
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

From the outside of the hotel one would never know what an exquisite hotel it holds on the inside. There is so much detail to the decor ranging from the all Live Fish Tank in the foyer, to the bar/library/sitting room and unique design to very room. The standard rooms are on the small side but the shower is amazing; heated floor and all! Location is also good, right on a canal and walking distance to many restaurants and main attractions such as the Ann Frank Museum. Also, the mint lemon water, snacks, and per cup coffee maker in the lobby just adds a special welcoming touch. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for four nights on a recent vacation. The room was elaborately, but tastefully decorated in a blue Delft pattern, with a chandelier hanging over the bed. There was also a canopy around the bed. The room was very clean and spacious, with a table that overlooked the street side of the hotel. The hotel lobby is quite unique and getting at least one drink in the bar is a must. They have a coffee machine in the lobby where you can get free cappuccinos or espressos at all times. The hotel staff were very friendly and helped with the bags to the room and out to the street. The location of the hotel is centralized to most of the sights and right on a canal. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

After arriving to Amsterdam, pulling cabin sized louggages through idyllic streets and over the canals of Amsterdam, this hotel is well hidden at optimal place :)
Right next to canal, only 10min walk from trams to Leidseplein and Damsquare, this hotel offers very elegant and cosy stay. Common areas and rooms are decorated with thick full carpets and old style massive furnitures. Even common area has huge couches and soft sofa chairs to sink into read book and enjoy complementary snacks and coffees offered all times. We happened to travel off-season time, which allowed us to find this hotel for -70% from normal rate at booking.com. Complementary coffees and great athmosphere gave really nice place to rest during the days between sightseeings. Breakfast we enjoyed at restaurants outside that streets are filled with. Not recommending coming by car, parking is costing more than 50€/day. City is to be seen by foot anyway. Defenately coming back to this hotel! Only thing missing was free wifi...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

This has to be one of the most classically beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in.
The guest lounge room with it's furniture, wall hangings, light fittings,etc took our breath away.
We had a lovely room (507) but we just wanted to spend more time in the lounge.
Ongoing complimentary tea and coffee and cakes and heaps of English written newspapers so plenty of reasons to linger there.

The staff were so friendly and helpful.
Little touches like good umbrellas and panchos for the rain.
Clear explanations of where to go and how to get there.
Great restaurant suggestions and plenty of options.

And our room was spacious and comfortable and again, beautiful.
A lovely view on to the canal.
A good sized bathroom.
A lovely couch to lie across.

If we come back to Amsterdam we would definitely come back to the Hotel Estherea.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stayed here from the 10th/14th July,and we had a lovely time.The staff at the desk made us very welcome and took time to explain the hotel to us.We were shown to a fantastic coffee maker at a room beside the front desk and told there is free tea and coffee 24hrs with cakes and jars of sweets.There was also a lovely lounge and a library which made you feel like you wanted to sit and relax.We were then shown to our room by another friendly member of staff.Our room was on the first floor,and had everything we needed.We picked this room because of the price and it was small compared to others but I would stay in that size of room again as we were only there to sleep.The breakfast was excellent with another fantastic coffee maker.(I forgot to say that there was always cream to go with the coffee) which made it special for me as I love coffee.So go to this hotel and you will be pleased.Once you find the hotel you will realise that it is very central with plenty of very nice restuarants dotted about.Oh and a big thankyou to the breakfast staff nothing was too much trouble,and everyone seemed to be content in their job.

Room Tip: If you ask for a veiw of the canal you will get a bigger room and much brighter.We looked in as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We spent seven days at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location, on the Singel canal (Singelgracht) and close to both Spui and Centraal Station, was very convenient. We had a basic, interior room, but it was quite nice. The bathroom was very modern. I assume that it has been rennovated very recently. The lobby has two PC's available for you and very comfortable lounging areas. Coffee, tea and some sweets are always available. The staff was courteous and helpful. My only disappointments were that there was no free wireless and breakfast was sufficiently pricey that we chose to eat elsewhere, but a new guest program eliminates both shortcomings. We loved Amsterdam and are certain to return. When we do, we will be staying at Hotel Estherea, hand's down.

Room Tip: I am told that the canal view rooms are very desireable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.