We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel Box - The Bar is Raised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #16 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A Jewel Box - The Bar is Raised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The Estherea lived up to all the raves on TA and more! I cannot imagine why it is not rated even higher.
First of all, it is in simply the nicest location in Amsterdam, on the beautiful Singel canal, close to everything.
From the moment we arrived, exhausted with jet lag, we felt welcomed and pampered by the young, attractive staff. The place is like a gracious, elegant home to return to each day after your adventures in the city. It's idiosyncrasies, like the magnificent tropical aquariums, gilded grandfather clocks, period wallpapers and rich woodwork give it a unique style among the many hotels we have stayed at in many places. There is nothing else quite like it, anywhere, unfortunately, for travellers seeking good taste and comfort.
The hospitality is exemplified by the generous goodies available in the lobby all day and evening, coffees, teas, hot chocolate, cookies, cakes and chocolate goodies. This week it was Easter themed, so there were assorted sugar cookie ducks and bunnies and Easter baskets in the room.
The breakfast was also outstanding. I can't imagine what some previous complainers could possibly have wanted in addition to this ample buffet. We were able to enjoy it, and free internet, for only 8E per person thanks to a special Trip Advisor promotion which appeared after we booked, but was graciously applied to our reservation.
Although our room did not face the canal, we had a gorgeous design with lots of space, sitting area and a magnificent bathroom, double sinks and a huge jacuzzi tub. The decor is original to Amsterdam. The incredible wallpaper patterns seen around the hotel were reminiscent of those we saw on the walls at the Riejksmuseum under the Rembrandts!
The bed was fantastic, the sheets the finest. Amenities, first class.
The employees were extremely helpful in all respects. They helped us arrange tickets to Kukenhof, a must-see at this time of year, and other sights around the city and the fixed rate taxi to the airport, which is actually only a few Euros more than the shuttle and a lot more direct and timesaving.
To me, the mark of a good hotel is the feeling I get that I wish I never had to leave. Can you imagine being sorry to have to travel on to Paris?
I wish there was an Estherea in every place I ever have or will visit. Thanks to all!

Room Tip: book on website, write directly to hotel after
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,264
    528
    103
    29
    22
See reviews for
294
1037
70
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
armagh
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed at the Estherea for 4 nights in early May and found it to be one of the best hotels we have visited. Yes it was expensive and we booked a canal view room which added to the cost but in view of the service, hotel amenities and great location it was worth the money.
We could fault nothing and would love to return to Amsterdam. This was our first visit and we were pleasantly surprised at the friendliness of the people and the general ambience of the city.

Room Tip: Book early and go for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed with collegues and spouse for this trip and we paid the same as others in a Hilton out of town!
Great value for money, breakfast really tasty, beds soft and comfortable. Room tight squeeze but okay bathroom was roomy. Lashings of hot water and lovely freebie soaps etc.
As everyone mentions, the free drinks and cookies etc REALLY cuts down your out and about coffeeshop spending, freeing you up for sightseeing and shopping.

Room Tip: Check website regularly for wine in room deals etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Lovely hotel very plush decor and superb tropical fish tank that you could spend hours watching. Only downside was rooms out the back of the hotel are quite noisy at night from passing traffic. Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice. Staff very helpful, toilet seat was lose and was fixed almost straight away. Luggage was held until we were ready to collect it. We have visited Amsterdam quite a few times and this was the first time we had decided to stay in a dearer hotel as the ones we stayed in the past have been full of rowdy drunks. It was well worth the extra money and will cetainly be staying at the Estherea again.

Room Tip: ones backing into quad or the canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We visited Estherea during Easter holidays and liked the hotel very much. There were a lot of American tourists at the same time and I suppose that the chandlerlies and golden decoration appears to them -for us it was ununual, but good experience.

We appriciated very much the helpful service and the own bar and coffee place at the hotel. It was nice to sit at the hotel library to have a class or another.

We had a normal room, without the view. Maybe we should have payed more extra for a view to canal Singel.

The location is good, we rented bicycles from Yellow Bikes ant it cost 11 euros/day. Using bicycle gets you so much more, everything is close enough.

Breakfast was excellent. The only thing that we hoped was a coffee/tea service to the tables, but we could live without that :-)

The only con was the sound of steps from the room upstairs.

The hotel has a lovely cat!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

My mum and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it so much we felt compelled to write a review. Estherea caters to your every need - and even provides free hot drinks and cakes at all hours. Fantastic hotel in a great location - don't consider staying anywhere else. The only thing i can say is that they should offer free wi-fi - but there are free computers downstairs and i was sometimes able to connect to other wi-fi free so it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Me and my wife stayed in Hotel Estherea in April 2011. Check-In was so simple and quick and the entire staff were very helpful in providing all details about amsterdam, directions and suggestion to restaurants etc., The room was reasonable size, very clean and sufficient for two of us. The Hotel is located in singel on a very romantic and quite location, but very close all the attractions in amsterdam. We could walk to most of the places. The hotel arranged tour for us to Keukenhof and also we were picked up from the hotel. The best part of the hotel is the lobby and the decorations, which is amazing.
Hotel has a complimentary coffee, tea, Hot Chocolate and also some snacks like biscuts, cakes etc., which is very refreshing after a day long walking.
The hotel is rated as 4 star, But the service provided, cleanliness and considering all aspects this hotel is more than 4 star even we could say the service and the overall hotel is equal to a 5 star category. For sure we wil go again to Hotel Estherea.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Estherea Hotel
Estherea
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam
Address: Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.