We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best small room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Zagreb
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best small room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Hotel is nicely situated in the center, very close to Central station. There is a number of bars, restaurants and coffee shops very close, although we preffered the southern, more quiet part of Amsterdam. Rooms are very small, but very nice with a monoblock of bed and desk and 2 lamps. However, the light swithces are not so smartly placed, so it can happen that in the middle of the night you switch on the lights...Also, the bathroom has glass walls which are tinted, so you might get less privacy then you would want. Restaurant is quite nice, and the staff is helpfull and kind. You can leave your baggage in a small room in the lobby also after you check out.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear Mkrajacic,
Thank you for your comments. It is always good to hear the opnion of our guests. We will definitely change the switches in the new rooms. Thank you also for your comments in respect of the service. My associates appreciated to read your comments.
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    486
    180
    41
    34
See reviews for
75
482
72
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

As the title suggest the location is the key here! Let me start by saying if I am on a city break the hotel is used for sleeping and showering! I wouldn’t be one to spend hours reading, watching TV, or surfing the net in my room. If you are one that does then this hotel (or this room!) wouldn’t suit you.

The room we were allocated was very small, I had booked a standard twin as a friend and I were travelling. The room was very very small with two rather narrow single beds pushed together, the pillows were more cushion like than pillows, however it was still comfortable. We had a small bathroom with sliding door, bath & super powerful shower just the thing to wake you up in the morning, no frosted windows as described in previous posts. We were given a room at the back of the hotel, when the window was open it was noisey but when closed I couldnt hear a thing!

The foyer and halls were clean and tidy and while the décor is a little outdated in the bed room we were allocated.

The staff were polite and friendly and they gave us a map of the city and how to get where with what tram or train, we walked everywhere though. Also there was free wifi in the hotel that came in really hand when we used our iphone to map out our next destination.

I can’t comment on the food here as I didn’t have breakfast there is a bakery up the road where I got croissants - come out of the hotel and go right - and a juice bar on your next right!

This hotel is very close to Seasons restaurant, its two/three blocks at the back of the hotel, I would most definitely recommend Seasons it was fantastic, but that’s a whole other review!

I don’t know if I would stay here again or suggest this hotel, purely because of the price. They would need to re-evaluate their pricing structure for their smaller rooms. On a location note, then I would suggest you stay here but be prepared for small living arrangements!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your compliments. I hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at WestCord City Centre in Amsterdam.
Christian Westers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

I agree with the other reviewers. The location of this hotel is great! Right in the middle of everything you needed and walking distance to the train. However, the rooms were in poor condition. One of the lights in the room was broken, there were stains on the walls and carpet, also the chain lock on my door was broken. This place is ok if you're not spending too much time in the hotel. Also the staff was helpful with answering my questions. I would not recommend anyone coming here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

This hotel was the base for our weekend in Amsterdam. It really is very central, which would usually mean that it is noisy at night, but it wasn't at all. The rooms were fine, not huge, but perfectly adequate. The foyer is modern and the staff were so helpful, pointing us in the right direction for anything we needed. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but it worked out well to go in search of good pancakes, which Amsterdam has in abundance!
The staff set this hotel apart. They were really great. Our friend bought a really lovely bottle of wine, which we wanted to drink in the hotel. the rooms are a little small for four, so we asked if we could drink it in the foyer and there was no problem at all. They gave us a corkscrew and four wine glasses. Above and beyond the call of duty. On our last morning there, we discovered how close we were to some of the red light district, (with some red light booths in the same block as the hotel) but it wasn't an issue at all.
Great service and very central location for all the sights in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a three night break at The Wescord. To be honest after ready the reviews I was a bit worried about what to expect. We arrived early in the morning and the staff were very friendly and helful, they took their time to show us a map of the City and point out everywhere we wanted to visit.
We had booked a deluxe double room, yes it was small but very modern, great comfy bed and flat screen TV. The bathroom has frosted glass but it was spacious, clean and modern.
The reception of the hotel is large airy and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble.
The location of the Hotel is fabulous, 5 minutes from the Station, a short stroll to Dam Square and all the attractions ie The Red Light District, Anne Franks, madame Tussaudes and the Dungeons.
If I had to pick one downside to the Westcord it would be the breakfast. To be honest at fifteen euros it is overpriced and the little cafes across the street would be better value.
I would most definately stay at this hotel again and have already recommended it to friends, please dont be put off by bad reviews, you just cant please everyone, but the Wescord certaintly tries.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We have just returned from a visit to Amsterdam ,We have been a few times before and never had a bad experience with any hotel we stayed in , But this was a disaster .When we arrived all went well with checking in .We went to our room there was delux on the door so we were delighted thinking it would be fab,only to get a shock /the room was tiny rectangler shape there was no main light in the room only two lights on the headboard there was no bedroom room lockers either . the bed would be fine if you were a child but it was tiny for a double bed the mattress kept falling off the bed there was only a small duvet for two of us,But the best is yet to come the bathroom was frosted half way up fine but there was a design on the glass which meant you were looking at the toilet .Who wants to look at somebody on the toilet even a basis hostel would not have that. The Breakfast was very basis tin fruit cornflakes bread the hot water machine was broke so we had to wait till more was boiled .I would never stay here again because it is only one step ahead of a hostel,The only thing going for it , its location

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

My husband and I spent 9 days including Thanksgiving week in Paris, Venice, Rome and ending the last night in Amsterdam. After re-reading the reviews here, I had to double check to make sure we stayed at the same hotel everyone else was talking about. Yes, it was the Westcord City Centre but we didn’t get the rooms pictured or described here. We only stayed here because it was down the street from Centraal station and we had an early morning flight to catch.

It was also close to dam square and all the shopping. It really is a very good central location. Many trams stop a few feet from the entrance and will take you everywhere in the city. Luggage storage was available which was great since we arrived around 10AM. Free wi-fi was also available. The reception staff was friendly and helpful. Good security –we were provided with a card to open the front door and to use the elevator/lift after hours. Despite our room location, it was pretty quiet at night. Unfortunately, those were about the only good things going for this hotel during our stay.

The lobby is modern and nice but the room we had was in dire need of a major overhaul and remodeling. Our room (on the 3rd floor) which looked out into the main street, looked totally different from the pictures others posted here. I guess we were downgraded to their older rooms since we didn’t have the flat screen and the much talked about frosted glass bathroom. The bathroom was extremely small with the sink on the outside. Furniture was dated with 2 single mattresses pushed together.

The carpet was dark and even in its dark hue, you can see the stains. There were stains on the wall too. There were things on the bath tub that we did not even want to take a shower that night. I felt the need to sanitize everything twice with Lysol wipes. It was like staying at a really cheap, dirty motel. At least, the bedding looked clean enough to sleep on. We had stayed at much more spacious, cleaner rooms with better amenities for lower prices in Italy the previous week.

We definitely would NOT go back to this place as I’m sure there are other and better options. The state of our room left a bad and lasting impression on our last night in Europe. Thank goodness we only stayed here for 1 night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.