We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh the beds!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Oh the beds!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

After a long vacay in London, Paris and ending in Amsterdam this hotel was needed. The beds were amazing. We stayed facing the Main Street and slept with window open since it was so cool at night. Had no trouble with noise or anything. Great location. Staff was friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were a little weird as they are just separated by frosted glass. So hope your very comfortable with your bunk mate. Don't waste your money on over prices sodas and food. There are great restaurants and plenty of convince stores super close. We actually walked from the train station to hotel and back with our luggage and it was super easy walk. Great value for what would be considered an upscale budget hotel in the states.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear AshleeMorgan,

Thank you thank you thank you for this positive review. It sounds like you had a great Holiday visiting such beautiful capitals! Whenever you plan on coming back to Europe or Amsterdam again please let me know; I will block you a room with a "traditional" bathroom, and if you haven't tried our breakfast yet: you might like it as well, it's pretty extensive and we use as much local and biological products as available.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    513
    188
    41
    36
See reviews for
81
511
75
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I normally don't have any problems in hotels and stay in many budget hotels fine. But I certainly would not class these rooms as "deluxe."
The rooms themselves are very small and have no privacy. The bathroom door is glass and is just a swing door with a full view of the toilet. The shower is powerful but just leaks on the floor. The view was just looking at another persons window. The bed was a small double bed which we both nearly rolled out of on many nights due to it being so small and the mattress just sinks! Another point, the light switches are part of the beds headboard, certainly a terrible idea! Every time we turned in the night, we turned the lights on. It kept us awake many nights. Also it's very noisy. The corridors have swing doors which slam shut every time they are used which is very annoying throughout the night!
One night the fire alarm was on and off for over 30 minutes. No idea what was going on but was certainly less than impressed! Our sleep was already disturbed, never mind an alarm going off! When I asked what's going on the next day, I was handed some waffles in kind gesture which was thoughtful but still no idea why it kept going off!
We stayed for 4 days and wanted to unpack our suitcases. Except there was not much of a wardrobe, just a hole in the wall with no door. Two small shelves which were not even wide enough for a piece of paper so we ended up living out of our cases and sharing the 4 hangers we could find. There is also a television in the room with 4 English channels which were good to watch the news. You can rent films but for a damming price of €12.50 and the titles were rather old.
The wifi is extremely slow and was not fully accessible all of the time
Which was a shame when trying to load maps for us to plan our day.
The final thing that bugged me.... We wanted a lie in on our last day as we had a night flight. So at 9am we get a knock on the door from the house keeper asking us if we are staying in our room until 12. Couldn't believe we got woke up to get asked that, such a rude thing to do when the paper in front of her told her that. Following this, we had another knock an hour later asking the same thing. At this point I had to ask if we was allowed in the room until 12 as I felt like we was getting pushed out. She apologised and said we was allowed until 12. One day they also took one of our rooms keys which we left in the electricity port for the air con, we asked reception for it back and they just gave us a new one, looking slightly puzzled at us.
Such a shame about this hotel. One plus was the air con was fully working and we was grateful for it after being in the heat all day. The service behind the desk was always so polite and it's a brilliant location but 4 sleepless nights makes me not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Bethhy,

Thank you for your review and your stay at our hotel. Thank you for your feedback with the lay out of the rooms. We take this in consideration with our next refurbishment.

I do really apologize regarding the the fire alarm that went of. It is really a pitty that some small points all together give this impression of your stay, despite our service that desribed as very good.

I hope that you are in the possibility to come back again. If you do, please let me know personally via erikjan.bausch@westcordhotels.nl so I am able to make you a nice offer.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The location is perfect because there is a tram stop right outside the hotel. The staff was friendly. The room was clean but a little bit small. The wifi was free but not smooth sometimes. I would stay here again on next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hi HappyChen2014,

Thanks for your positive review! Today we have checked internet reception in the but we were unable to find inconsistencies, would you be able to inform when you stayed with us and in which room(s) so that we can further investigate?

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altnaharra, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at the Westcord City Centre Hotel again this month. Rooms spotless,staff excellent, once again no complaints whatsoever, I've seen people complain about room size at Westcord before now,but its a city centre Hotel & the Westcord is superbly located,
TOP TIP: buy your tram 24,48 or 72 hour ticket from reception & hop on tram stop outside, easy..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear ShogunJerrys,

We can not thank you enough for this heartwarming review, it's a great honor to have such loyal guests! Did you know we offer skip the line tickets for many museums as well?

Next time you are visiting our hotel, please drop me a note; we will make sure to surprise you again on your next stay.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went for business leisure, booked 3 rooms and stayed for 4 nights.
Location: Easy to find (We used bus from the airport). Hotel is 5 minute away from most of the hot and happening places in Amsterdam (Bike & Scooter rental, Red light area, Dam square etc)
Hotel star: 3 star property
Rate: Reasonable
Facilities: Not much but who want to stay in rooms in Amsterdam
Cleaning: Hotel was very clean, staff are good and friendly
Breakfast: They offer complimentary breakfast, have very limited options
Rooms: Rooms are very small (Ask for large room as they have option)

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room otherwise you will get screwed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Suresh B,

Thanks for your helpful review! Next time you visit our breakfast, please send me an e-mail which items you like for breakfast and I will personally make sure we get it for you! You may off course order any style of eggs with our breakfast staff, we are always happy to make personalized items for you.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was our 2nd time staying at this hotel,, room was comfy and tidy , air conditioning was a godsend,, ideal place to stay for locality,, there was a tram stop virtually right outside the hotel so it was perfect for hopping on and off , close to all the main sights as well for evening enterntainment, will definitely stay again on next visit

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel was very close to the center of town and all the attractions also if your gay close to saunas and clubs. The room was very small and the bathroom was modern but had glass wall so if you need to use the loo your friends would see all. Staff were nice but the price was way to expensive for what you get

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.