We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn) (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
courbevoie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Location great since it's 5min away from the central station and all the principal monuments in Amsterdam.
The employees are very kind, they helped on my purpose to visit Amsterdam in 2 hours since I stayed there only one night for the business.:)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    665
    251
    51
    38
See reviews for
118
674
93
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The thing I loved about this hotel is the location. It was literally 5 minutes away from everything which was great, plus the trams stopped just outside the door. We were able to walk from Centraal Station to the hotel in a few minutes.
The staff were lovely and helpful, especially at the desk, helping to look after our bags when we went out on our last day. The wifi was a good feature too, strong signal all over the hotel.
The TV had BBC1 and 2 which is a nice touch.
The only thing was the attention to detail. When we arrived there was litter down the hallway to our room which was not a great start. We were also only given 1 coffee sachet and no milk at all.
The next morning, the maid was knocking at the door every 15 minutes wanting to clean the room and trying to hurry us out which we found annoying and rude.
Not a bad stay at all and the great location makes up for the small irritations, but would probably shop around before staying here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed from sat 12th July for 4 ngts and would like to say a big thankyou to the reception staff. My room was 304 on the 3rd floor and it was perfect, the room was gorgeous and the bed was great, clean towels and bedding everyday and the wifi was a strong signal. I must say I will definitely miss the shower, best shower ive ever had. All in all a great friendly hotel with some lovely ladies at reception. Will definitely be re booking here.
Many Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We needed a basic hotel for 1 night -- before boarding a Cruise leaving from the docks next to Central Station. The WestCord City Centre Hotel was perfect. We walked the roughly 10 city blocks from Central Station, which the train from the airport took us. We each had only 1 carry-on piece of luggage, and walked to the hotel in less than half an hour.
The hotel is nicely redone, very clean, and has all the basics -- including a very friendly reception staff. The only trouble we had was deciding on which of a half dozen nice restaurants we would go to for dinner, all within a 5 - 10 minute walk from the hotel.
The next morning, after a good night's sleep, we walked back to the city center and the Cruise boat dock. This time we stopped off for a late breakfast along the way, eating outside at a lovely cafe.
Typical for Amsterdam, the room was not large (many would say it was small-ish), but it had everything we needed and a nice updated bathroom and shower.
We will stay here again!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the main street -- but the windows are tight, and it WAS QUIET.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A good clean hotel very near to the train station and 5 mins from Dam Square. When we arrived we got a taxi from the airport to the hotel but on recommendation from the reception staff, when we returned we caught the train for a quarter of the price. Train was very easy to catch.
Rooms spotlessly clean but small. We were upgraded because it was my birthday, and on returning to the room after a days sightseeing was pleased to find a handwritten birthday card, a bottle of fizz and some chocolates. How lovely.
Only other small thing to mention, is that the entrance to the hotel is opened with a security card given when checking in. Its a swipe card, easy to use. One evening, when we returned quite late, as we opened the door to get in, a man, who can only be described as shifty, appeared from nowhere and before we knew it, had followed us in. We still don't know how it happened -maybe he had done it before. Anyway, as luck would have it, a member of reception was walking past, saw him, and dealt with him. He was made to leave immediately. This was our last night and we had not had any trouble on our previous nights but is probably something to watch out for.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, CANADA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

- Great location!
- Front desk was helpful and lent me an adaptor to charge my phone for the night, free of charge.
However:
- Room was really small: Bed was against the desk on one end and bed on the other end. We were only there for a night so it was OK but wouldn't have recommended this size of room for an extended stay.
- Also one thing that we disliked was a weird (bad) smell in the lobby area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

First the good:
We got a very good deal through eBookers. A Deluxe room overlooking the street Nieuwezijds Voorburgwalstraat. Email sent with enquiries was replied to very quickly and with relevant responses. Perfect location - I always want to stay on this street when I visit Amsterdam.
Receptionist on arival was Eline, she was wonderful!!!!!!!. Friendly, informative, helpful, efficient, a delight and genuine. She even called us in our room to check that everything was ok.
Aircon in the room worked very well and the window actually opened too :-) But all public spaces were stuffy and humid and horrible in the July heat.
The room was tiny and strangely designed with the headboard in the middle of the room and the twin 'beds' held in place by annoying restraining bars down the sides. Claustrophobic. The mattresses were far too soft.
Showeroom was tiny, but actual shower was a good size with a powerful shower. The toilet was in a tiny space - if you are bigger than 3XL, you would not fit into it.
WIFI was inconsistent at best. Slow and sporadic, we had to use our own network.

Room Tip: The non Deluxe rooms must be miniscule! It's worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#116 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#196 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.