We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East London
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

First the good:
We got a very good deal through eBookers. A Deluxe room overlooking the street Nieuwezijds Voorburgwalstraat. Email sent with enquiries was replied to very quickly and with relevant responses. Perfect location - I always want to stay on this street when I visit Amsterdam.
Receptionist on arival was Eline, she was wonderful!!!!!!!. Friendly, informative, helpful, efficient, a delight and genuine. She even called us in our room to check that everything was ok.
Aircon in the room worked very well and the window actually opened too :-) But all public spaces were stuffy and humid and horrible in the July heat.
The room was tiny and strangely designed with the headboard in the middle of the room and the twin 'beds' held in place by annoying restraining bars down the sides. Claustrophobic. The mattresses were far too soft.
Showeroom was tiny, but actual shower was a good size with a powerful shower. The toilet was in a tiny space - if you are bigger than 3XL, you would not fit into it.
WIFI was inconsistent at best. Slow and sporadic, we had to use our own network.

Room Tip: The non Deluxe rooms must be miniscule! It's worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    605
    222
    44
    37
See reviews for
98
604
85
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We booked this hotel as it was near to the station in Amsterdam and we liked the look of the photo's however we didn't check with trip advisor.
It is literally 5 mins walk from the station and Dam Sq making it suitable for exploring. The whole hotel has been refurbished to a very good standard and has everything you could want for a 3 star level.
The room has a soft bed, table & chair with phone, tea & coffee making facilities, a safe, hair dryer and with a very good shower and bathroom setup. There is an added benefit of air con.
I wouldn't say this was a luxurious hotel but comfortable and very clean.
We only had the breakfast once however there was everything you could possibly want and it was a buffet style so you can fill up for the day...
It has free wifi and a tram stop just outside just to make your stay even better and easier.
The outstanding feature for me at this hotel was the service particularly from the reception staff. We arrived early at 1100 and as they had a room ready allowed us to check in. They loaned us a couple of brollies as it was raining and were very helpful with answering questions in detail to assist our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and they have the right balance between professionalism, friendliness & helpfulness. We only stayed one night but I already looking for booking a return for my next available time off.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th floor all said delux however if you want a really quiet room as for one at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have just come back from our stay in the Westcord city centre hotel, and would recommend this hotel highly. Firstly, the staff were friendly and very helpful offering any advice about the city etc. The location is great, with a tram stop literally outside the hotel (that does not affect you staying in the hotel noise wise which is good), near amsterdam centraal station - 5 minute walk away - and within walking distance of lots of attractions to see in Amsterdam.

Our room was good, small but that is expected of accomodation in Amsterdam but had everything we needed.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam for a weekend break.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Close to the train station and most of the attractions. Very easy to get around. However, the room was small. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff was great. Many good restaurants nearby. Would stay here again. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Excitingforus,

Thanks for recommending our hotel! Next time you stay here; ask our staff for restaurant recommendations; as we are all local we know the best spots in town.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at Westcord for the second half of my stay in amsterdam. The staff was amazing! Very friendly and helpful with recommendations on nearby places to eat and bars. My hotel for the first half of the trip didnt have complimentary internet, so I really appreciated this at WestCord. There is a tram stop literally in front of the hotel, which I actually didnt use that often because most things are walking distance away (Dam Square, RLD, Central Station, Anne Frank House, Jordaan neighborhood).

Overall I spent a lot of my nights in Leidseplein watching World cup and this hotel was a little bit of a far walk back late at night. So I would most likely stay near that neighborhood next time.

Great late night eats across the street (a bakery, burger place, and shopping)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Fire9d,

Thank you so much for this helpful review. Besides the tram tracks located in front of the hotel, there is a bicycle rental we work with; it's a very local and pure way to experience the city; as our city is not too big you are at Leidscheplein within 10 minutes, so maybe that is an option for your next stay!

In case you would like to receive more information, please contact me at lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had 2 nights stay in the hotel. Very confortible and clean. The personal was very friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect: 3 minutes walk from central station and Dam square. We will go back one day for sure!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Megsnan,

Wow! 5 stars and such nice words, you made our day; thank you! We would be honored to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very friendly staff, not always up to the situation. We had booked two rooms, for three persons and the single person got the biggest room. The beds are too much on the soft side for our liking, but we survived four nights, not without some back pain.
The breakfast was good and the restaurant staff, was very friendly. Will also say that the hotel is well kept and clean.
One last recommendation, if you need a taxi, have the hotel to book one for you. This ensures you a proper taxi, and you will also get a driver who knows his town and can speak English.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Sailing365,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Whenever you plan on coming back, please drop me a line at lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl so that I can arrange a differently shaped room with harder beds for you; as all our rooms are slightly different I'm sure there is one perfectly to your likings!

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager

P.S. Looking at your name and picture you like sailing, did you know that from 19 to 23 August 2015 Sail Amsterdam will take place? You might like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.