We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great loction, Great Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great loction, Great Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Close to the train station and most of the attractions. Very easy to get around. However, the room was small. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff was great. Many good restaurants nearby. Would stay here again. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Excitingforus,

Thanks for recommending our hotel! Next time you stay here; ask our staff for restaurant recommendations; as we are all local we know the best spots in town.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    547
    201
    41
    36
See reviews for
88
536
79
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at Westcord for the second half of my stay in amsterdam. The staff was amazing! Very friendly and helpful with recommendations on nearby places to eat and bars. My hotel for the first half of the trip didnt have complimentary internet, so I really appreciated this at WestCord. There is a tram stop literally in front of the hotel, which I actually didnt use that often because most things are walking distance away (Dam Square, RLD, Central Station, Anne Frank House, Jordaan neighborhood).

Overall I spent a lot of my nights in Leidseplein watching World cup and this hotel was a little bit of a far walk back late at night. So I would most likely stay near that neighborhood next time.

Great late night eats across the street (a bakery, burger place, and shopping)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Fire9d,

Thank you so much for this helpful review. Besides the tram tracks located in front of the hotel, there is a bicycle rental we work with; it's a very local and pure way to experience the city; as our city is not too big you are at Leidscheplein within 10 minutes, so maybe that is an option for your next stay!

In case you would like to receive more information, please contact me at lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had 2 nights stay in the hotel. Very confortible and clean. The personal was very friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect: 3 minutes walk from central station and Dam square. We will go back one day for sure!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Megsnan,

Wow! 5 stars and such nice words, you made our day; thank you! We would be honored to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very friendly staff, not always up to the situation. We had booked two rooms, for three persons and the single person got the biggest room. The beds are too much on the soft side for our liking, but we survived four nights, not without some back pain.
The breakfast was good and the restaurant staff, was very friendly. Will also say that the hotel is well kept and clean.
One last recommendation, if you need a taxi, have the hotel to book one for you. This ensures you a proper taxi, and you will also get a driver who knows his town and can speak English.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Sailing365,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Whenever you plan on coming back, please drop me a line at lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl so that I can arrange a differently shaped room with harder beds for you; as all our rooms are slightly different I'm sure there is one perfectly to your likings!

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager

P.S. Looking at your name and picture you like sailing, did you know that from 19 to 23 August 2015 Sail Amsterdam will take place? You might like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had 3 days stay in the hotel. Very confortible and clean. The personal was very friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect: 3 minutes walk from central station and Dam square. We will go back for sur!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Basmita84,

Thanks for your review! Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Greetings from rainy Amsterdam.

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel is located on a very central location, 5 minutes walk to the central station and Dam Square, also it never took more than a 15-20 minutes walk to many other attractions or central locations. The tram and underground station are right in front of the hotel which makes it very convenient to commute to further parts of the city. The street where the hotel is located has a variety of restaurants that suites all budgets and a number of mini supermarkets. The hotel reception staff are very helpful, the lobby is nice with a few vending machines for coffee and refreshments and after 8:00pm you can only access it with your room card for safety reasons. My room was on the 4th floor and the elevator is in good condition. The room is medium size, very clean and had a view of the Main Street, room service is very efficient as well. The room is sound proof, the bathroom is very clean however the top and bottom parts of it are transparent. The second person in the room will not see you while inside yet you have to shut the room's curtains if you are taking a shower. All the appliances in the room are in good condition; kettle, TV etc
In general I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and I would highly recommend it, it's good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have stayed 3 days in this confortable hotel. It is very well located, near most important attractions, museums and tours. Very good breakfast, unfortunately not included. only problems with lights in the room. I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.