We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had 2 nights stay in the hotel. Very confortible and clean. The personal was very friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect: 3 minutes walk from central station and Dam square. We will go back one day for sure!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Megsnan,

Wow! 5 stars and such nice words, you made our day; thank you! We would be honored to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    557
    208
    42
    36
See reviews for
90
549
82
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very friendly staff, not always up to the situation. We had booked two rooms, for three persons and the single person got the biggest room. The beds are too much on the soft side for our liking, but we survived four nights, not without some back pain.
The breakfast was good and the restaurant staff, was very friendly. Will also say that the hotel is well kept and clean.
One last recommendation, if you need a taxi, have the hotel to book one for you. This ensures you a proper taxi, and you will also get a driver who knows his town and can speak English.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Sailing365,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Whenever you plan on coming back, please drop me a line at lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl so that I can arrange a differently shaped room with harder beds for you; as all our rooms are slightly different I'm sure there is one perfectly to your likings!

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager

P.S. Looking at your name and picture you like sailing, did you know that from 19 to 23 August 2015 Sail Amsterdam will take place? You might like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had 3 days stay in the hotel. Very confortible and clean. The personal was very friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect: 3 minutes walk from central station and Dam square. We will go back for sur!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Basmita84,

Thanks for your review! Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Greetings from rainy Amsterdam.

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel is located on a very central location, 5 minutes walk to the central station and Dam Square, also it never took more than a 15-20 minutes walk to many other attractions or central locations. The tram and underground station are right in front of the hotel which makes it very convenient to commute to further parts of the city. The street where the hotel is located has a variety of restaurants that suites all budgets and a number of mini supermarkets. The hotel reception staff are very helpful, the lobby is nice with a few vending machines for coffee and refreshments and after 8:00pm you can only access it with your room card for safety reasons. My room was on the 4th floor and the elevator is in good condition. The room is medium size, very clean and had a view of the Main Street, room service is very efficient as well. The room is sound proof, the bathroom is very clean however the top and bottom parts of it are transparent. The second person in the room will not see you while inside yet you have to shut the room's curtains if you are taking a shower. All the appliances in the room are in good condition; kettle, TV etc
In general I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and I would highly recommend it, it's good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have stayed 3 days in this confortable hotel. It is very well located, near most important attractions, museums and tours. Very good breakfast, unfortunately not included. only problems with lights in the room. I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel. The hotel is a short walk of about ten minutes from central station, but there is also a tram stop right outside the hotel should you wish to take a tram from the station. This tram stop outside the hotel also makes exploring the city very easy and you can buy your tram tickets from the hotel reception (these are official at no extra cost).
Upon arrival we were greeted by avert friendly lady called Helen who could not do enough to help us.
We were provided room 403 overlooking the street behind the hotel. The room was comfortable and mostly clean (a couple of forgivable bits we picked up ourselves). The room, as in most Amsterdam hotels is very small but well laid out. Comfy double bed (although a little too soft for me), wardrobe with safe, usual table, chairs and flat screen. Tea/coffee facilities found in the desk drawer. No fridge unfortunately. Air con worked really well. The bathroom is odd in that it is frosted glass walls in the middle. Above and below is clear glass. The shower was very good.
I cannot comment on the food as we didn't eat here, however if I recall, breakfast is €15,00 each and I think if you paid up front upon check-in, it was reduced to €12,50 per person, per day.
This was my second visit and I would consider staying here a third time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great location on the edge of the famous Red Light District, a five minute walk from the train station with a tram stop out front. The lobby was nice but a bottle a Febreeze could do a world of good for first impressions. There was a persistent acrid smell every time we passed through. The room was good - small, of course, typical of most Amsterdam hotels. The en suite looks like a modern addition. The fact that it has all glass walls adds to the impression that it is in the middle of the bedroom. Yes, there is a frosted band to give the glass a hint of privacy, but a not enough for my liking. Points for style though. Modern finishes and colours help. The bed was luxuriously soft, almost to a fault. We arrived on a very warm day and almost cooked before we figured out the AC thermostat with its 20 buttons. But once we did, very comfortable. And the staff were always helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.