We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, very small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn) (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Central location, very small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very friendly staff, not always up to the situation. We had booked two rooms, for three persons and the single person got the biggest room. The beds are too much on the soft side for our liking, but we survived four nights, not without some back pain.
The breakfast was good and the restaurant staff, was very friendly. Will also say that the hotel is well kept and clean.
One last recommendation, if you need a taxi, have the hotel to book one for you. This ensures you a proper taxi, and you will also get a driver who knows his town and can speak English.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailing365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Sailing365,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Whenever you plan on coming back, please drop me a line at lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl so that I can arrange a differently shaped room with harder beds for you; as all our rooms are slightly different I'm sure there is one perfectly to your likings!

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager

P.S. Looking at your name and picture you like sailing, did you know that from 19 to 23 August 2015 Sail Amsterdam will take place? You might like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had 3 days stay in the hotel. Very confortible and clean. The personal was very friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect: 3 minutes walk from central station and Dam square. We will go back for sur!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Basmita84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Basmita84,

Thanks for your review! Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Greetings from rainy Amsterdam.

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel is located on a very central location, 5 minutes walk to the central station and Dam Square, also it never took more than a 15-20 minutes walk to many other attractions or central locations. The tram and underground station are right in front of the hotel which makes it very convenient to commute to further parts of the city. The street where the hotel is located has a variety of restaurants that suites all budgets and a number of mini supermarkets. The hotel reception staff are very helpful, the lobby is nice with a few vending machines for coffee and refreshments and after 8:00pm you can only access it with your room card for safety reasons. My room was on the 4th floor and the elevator is in good condition. The room is medium size, very clean and had a view of the Main Street, room service is very efficient as well. The room is sound proof, the bathroom is very clean however the top and bottom parts of it are transparent. The second person in the room will not see you while inside yet you have to shut the room's curtains if you are taking a shower. All the appliances in the room are in good condition; kettle, TV etc
In general I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and I would highly recommend it, it's good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maha1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have stayed 3 days in this confortable hotel. It is very well located, near most important attractions, museums and tours. Very good breakfast, unfortunately not included. only problems with lights in the room. I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanecarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel. The hotel is a short walk of about ten minutes from central station, but there is also a tram stop right outside the hotel should you wish to take a tram from the station. This tram stop outside the hotel also makes exploring the city very easy and you can buy your tram tickets from the hotel reception (these are official at no extra cost).
Upon arrival we were greeted by avert friendly lady called Helen who could not do enough to help us.
We were provided room 403 overlooking the street behind the hotel. The room was comfortable and mostly clean (a couple of forgivable bits we picked up ourselves). The room, as in most Amsterdam hotels is very small but well laid out. Comfy double bed (although a little too soft for me), wardrobe with safe, usual table, chairs and flat screen. Tea/coffee facilities found in the desk drawer. No fridge unfortunately. Air con worked really well. The bathroom is odd in that it is frosted glass walls in the middle. Above and below is clear glass. The shower was very good.
I cannot comment on the food as we didn't eat here, however if I recall, breakfast is €15,00 each and I think if you paid up front upon check-in, it was reduced to €12,50 per person, per day.
This was my second visit and I would consider staying here a third time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great location on the edge of the famous Red Light District, a five minute walk from the train station with a tram stop out front. The lobby was nice but a bottle a Febreeze could do a world of good for first impressions. There was a persistent acrid smell every time we passed through. The room was good - small, of course, typical of most Amsterdam hotels. The en suite looks like a modern addition. The fact that it has all glass walls adds to the impression that it is in the middle of the bedroom. Yes, there is a frosted band to give the glass a hint of privacy, but a not enough for my liking. Points for style though. Modern finishes and colours help. The bed was luxuriously soft, almost to a fault. We arrived on a very warm day and almost cooked before we figured out the AC thermostat with its 20 buttons. But once we did, very comfortable. And the staff were always helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Q_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Professional staff. Nice design-ish rooms. Maybe a little bit pricey for the overall quality service, but we enjoyed our family city break. They have tickets for public transports and attractions. Free wifi, free printer and free luggage deposit after check out.

Room Tip: Don't go for the corner rooms as they are smaller compared to ordinary ones. Also ask for rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#146 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing