We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn) (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weekend trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights at the beginning of May with two of my friends. We had a room with one single bed and one double. We should have had three single beds, but the double bed worked just fine. The number one thing with the hotel is location, location, location. 5 minute walk from the central train station and a 5 minute walk from the Red Light District. You have several Argentinian, Italian and Chinese restaurants and Irish pubs within a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Then there's the tram that stops just right outside of the hotel that you can take if you wanna travel further to another part of the town. We had our room facing the street on the fourth floor and we had no problem with the street noise. The rooms are big and clean and the shower and the toilet has glass walls. The front desk is manned 24/7 and there's a fridge in the lobby where you can buy sodas, beer, water and snacks any time of the day. We had a great stay and the only minus I can give is that breakfast wasn't included and it costs 15€ if you don't buy it in advance, then you can get it for 12€. We didn't think it was worth it and ate breakfast just a minutes walk from the hotel for 8-10€. I'm definitely gonna book this hotel next time I'm going back to Amsterdam. Well worth the money we payed per night when you think what the location is and how big and fresh the rooms are. I would rate it as a four star hotel instead of the three it has now.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Frolunda71,

Thanks for this helpful review! Did you know our staff has tried many restaurants in the neighbourhood theirselves and can actually tell you which ones are the best in town? It tends to come in handy when it's difficult to choose between the many possibilities you face at our location!

We are currently developing a "take away" breakfast at a lower price than our original Breakfast Buffet, so next time you visity us you might be able to enjoy this as well..

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    656
    241
    50
    37
See reviews for
114
659
91
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

hotel is situated very central about 5 minutes walk from train station and close to Dam Square and numerous bars and restaurants. room was very clean,modern and comfortable ( if slightly small ) , staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a good standard.We will definitely use this hotel again when we return later this year,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Richard A,

Thanks for giving us a 5 star review!!!

Would you please send me an e-mail (lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl) with the dates you are planning to visit our lovely city again? I will personally make sure to arrange an amazing offer for you.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We just come back with my husband from Amsterdam,we where stay in Westcord City centre hotel. What can i say,the staff was brilliant,very helpful,friendly. rooms its very clean,tidy ,about food don't know cos we where took just bed,so we where eat outside.Hotel location is perfect for tourist ,because everything is closed ...5 minutes from broadway ,all bars,restaurants very closed. Especially good thing that Amsterdam Centre Train centre is 5 minutes away from hotel..this is very very good thing where for us,cos we took train to airport .I would recommend this hotel defiantly!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Ludmila 1990,

Wow! A 5 star review, you made us proud!

Thank you for recommening us, and whenever you plan on coming back to Amsterdam we would love to make your stay with us memorable.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Westcord City Center Hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff and clean room. We had a 3 bed room which was big enough for us. We could sleep very well in the comfortable beds. And also no noise during nighttime. The location is just perfect. 5 minutes walk to central station or red light district. If we will come backt to Amsterdam again we will book this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Harry R,

You lightened up our day with this positive review!

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is in a great central location. 5 minute walk to central station, Damrak runs parallel and lots of eating places to choose from. It's a nice location although there are a few red light houses in the alley next to the hotel and also at the rear. This didn't bother us and wasn't a problem in any way but some may not like it.
The hotel has been recently refurbished and it is very clean and modern. Nice light reception area with comfy seating and a little snack bar and the staff were all very helpful and friendly.

Our room was clean and comfy though it was very small! The double bed was up against the wall on one side and also at the bottom with the headboard sort of sticking out into the middle of the room - so if you were on the inside the only way in or out was to climb over! There was a desk opposite the side of the bed with just enough room to walk through. The bathroom was very nice and modern, and mainly made of glass - including the door - so not much in the way of privacy but this wasn't a problem for us.
There was free tea and coffee and free WiFi in the rooms. The room was nice and comfy but just too small and laid out a little bit awkward with the bed being pushed right up in the corner!

You are spoilt for choice with restaurants but we can recommend Humphreys just opposite, very nice food for an evening and we ate there both nights. If you want something a little more snacky then Buon Appetito just down the road is also very nice.

We pre-booked the breakfast at the hotel as it was cheaper but it still cost 12.50 euros each so a bit on the steep side! It was very nice though with a good choice of pastries, bread, ham and cheese, fruit, cereal, yoghurt and cooked eggs and bacon. There are a lot of places near by you can get a cooked breakfast for around 5 euros but they don't open that early so no good if you want an early start like we did.

Our room was so small I think we'd try the Best Western on Dam Square if we go back, as it looked very nice and was slightly cheaper too. But that's the only criticism of this hotel and we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Little_Blondie,

Thanks for this helpful review! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

When you plan on coming back to Amsterdam, please drop me a line (lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl); I'll personally make sure you get a differently shaped room and the very best rate available.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Its in a perfect location - exactly behind Royal Palace! Just one step to Damrak:) Reception was very helpful and really nice. Rooms, maybe not big, but clean, comfortable and quiet. Very good beds - sooft! Interesting glass bathrooms:) And my favorite Brasil koffie behind the corner!!!

Room Tip: I like the top floors - they are very private & have a good view on a city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear BB4pae8a7xk,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Looking forward to serving you your favourite again in the heart of the centre!

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here again in March 2014 for 5 nights. The hotel is on a fairly quiet street, 5 minutes from Centraal Station. Arrived at 10:30 to a friendly welcome. My room wasn't ready so stored my bag and went away for something to eat and do a bit of sight-seeing. Had to wait until 15:30 for my room which was a nice double on the 5th floor overlooking the back of the hotel. Rooms are cosy with modern bathrooms and air-conditioning. The bed was very comfortable.
The hotel is in a great location, very close to attractions in the heart of Amsterdam but quiet enough to ensure a good nights sleep. There is a tram stop in front of the hotel enabling access to Amsterdam's wonderful public transport.
Only minus is that breakfast isn't included as standard on most deals and expensive when it is. That said, don't let the lack of breakfast put you off, there are plenty of small cafe's and restaurants nearby.
This is a great hotel in a great location. Staff are all very helpful and friendly. The rooms are cleaned every day and importantly, do not disturb signs are respected for when you have had a late night. Highly recommended, I've already booked a room for my return in August.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Davie T,

How great to read you will be returning to our hotel! Based on the reactions we received through Tripadvisor we are currently seeking the possibility of having a second breakfast type available, at a lower price than our traditional full breakfast buffet of €12.50. So when you come back in August, we might even have this available for you.

In case you have any prior to arrival queries (if you want us to arrange taxi-pickup, pre-reserve certain restaurants you liked during your last stay, you have any specific request with regards to the room etc. etc.), just send me an e-mail at lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl and we'll make sure you receive an Amsterdam Experience never to forget!

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#137 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.