We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room but clean and comfy in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn) (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dursley, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Small room but clean and comfy in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is in a great central location. 5 minute walk to central station, Damrak runs parallel and lots of eating places to choose from. It's a nice location although there are a few red light houses in the alley next to the hotel and also at the rear. This didn't bother us and wasn't a problem in any way but some may not like it.
The hotel has been recently refurbished and it is very clean and modern. Nice light reception area with comfy seating and a little snack bar and the staff were all very helpful and friendly.

Our room was clean and comfy though it was very small! The double bed was up against the wall on one side and also at the bottom with the headboard sort of sticking out into the middle of the room - so if you were on the inside the only way in or out was to climb over! There was a desk opposite the side of the bed with just enough room to walk through. The bathroom was very nice and modern, and mainly made of glass - including the door - so not much in the way of privacy but this wasn't a problem for us.
There was free tea and coffee and free WiFi in the rooms. The room was nice and comfy but just too small and laid out a little bit awkward with the bed being pushed right up in the corner!

You are spoilt for choice with restaurants but we can recommend Humphreys just opposite, very nice food for an evening and we ate there both nights. If you want something a little more snacky then Buon Appetito just down the road is also very nice.

We pre-booked the breakfast at the hotel as it was cheaper but it still cost 12.50 euros each so a bit on the steep side! It was very nice though with a good choice of pastries, bread, ham and cheese, fruit, cereal, yoghurt and cooked eggs and bacon. There are a lot of places near by you can get a cooked breakfast for around 5 euros but they don't open that early so no good if you want an early start like we did.

Our room was so small I think we'd try the Best Western on Dam Square if we go back, as it looked very nice and was slightly cheaper too. But that's the only criticism of this hotel and we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Little_Blondie,

Thanks for this helpful review! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

When you plan on coming back to Amsterdam, please drop me a line (lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl); I'll personally make sure you get a differently shaped room and the very best rate available.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    665
    250
    51
    38
See reviews for
118
673
93
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Its in a perfect location - exactly behind Royal Palace! Just one step to Damrak:) Reception was very helpful and really nice. Rooms, maybe not big, but clean, comfortable and quiet. Very good beds - sooft! Interesting glass bathrooms:) And my favorite Brasil koffie behind the corner!!!

Room Tip: I like the top floors - they are very private & have a good view on a city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear BB4pae8a7xk,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Looking forward to serving you your favourite again in the heart of the centre!

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here again in March 2014 for 5 nights. The hotel is on a fairly quiet street, 5 minutes from Centraal Station. Arrived at 10:30 to a friendly welcome. My room wasn't ready so stored my bag and went away for something to eat and do a bit of sight-seeing. Had to wait until 15:30 for my room which was a nice double on the 5th floor overlooking the back of the hotel. Rooms are cosy with modern bathrooms and air-conditioning. The bed was very comfortable.
The hotel is in a great location, very close to attractions in the heart of Amsterdam but quiet enough to ensure a good nights sleep. There is a tram stop in front of the hotel enabling access to Amsterdam's wonderful public transport.
Only minus is that breakfast isn't included as standard on most deals and expensive when it is. That said, don't let the lack of breakfast put you off, there are plenty of small cafe's and restaurants nearby.
This is a great hotel in a great location. Staff are all very helpful and friendly. The rooms are cleaned every day and importantly, do not disturb signs are respected for when you have had a late night. Highly recommended, I've already booked a room for my return in August.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Davie T,

How great to read you will be returning to our hotel! Based on the reactions we received through Tripadvisor we are currently seeking the possibility of having a second breakfast type available, at a lower price than our traditional full breakfast buffet of €12.50. So when you come back in August, we might even have this available for you.

In case you have any prior to arrival queries (if you want us to arrange taxi-pickup, pre-reserve certain restaurants you liked during your last stay, you have any specific request with regards to the room etc. etc.), just send me an e-mail at lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl and we'll make sure you receive an Amsterdam Experience never to forget!

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Westcord City Centre during a 3-day stay. It was small, but very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of the train station.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear L0ve2Travel20142014,,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review. Whenever you plan on visiting Amsterdam again, or in case you have an overnight transit, we would be honored to welcome you again!

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I'm a frequent visitor to Amsterdam and have stayed in a fair few hotels.
I stayed her last week for my hen trip with a few friends.
The hotel is very easy to find and is located perfectly, 5mins walk from central station and 2mins from Dam Square/Damrak and it is on a main tram route.
Check in was quick and pleasant. It's worth noting that as standard for Amsterdam they take a €50 expense/damage deposit per room at check in which is refunded at check out. City tax for out trip was €10.50 each room for 2 nights payable in check out.
There is a small refreshments shop in reception where you can buy soft drinks, beer, crisps and chocolate which is extremely handy when you come in from a night out a bit peckish.
The rooms were funky. Tastefully decorated with a nice desk area/ TV and everything was spotless. Small but decent size for Amsterdam Central. As other travellers have noted, the glass bathroom can be a bit of an issue. It wouldn't be an issue at all if I was with my partner. However, when you're sharing a room with a friend and constantly have friends calling in to your room, you may have a problem. It's worth noting also that deluxe twin/double rooms are the same thing and you cannot move the beds apart, but they do have separate duvets.
The kettle and tea/coffee supplies are hidden away in the filing cabinet drawer and the safe is inside the wardrobe- both are easy to use. The shower is lovely although the tray does start to fill up so be careful.
Overall this a fab hotel for Amsterdam central and I will be returning if the price stays reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear eagertoseetheworld,

Thank you so much for taking to create this helpful review! We are proud to read you value our assets and service and we would be delighted to welcome you back. If you like you could try out one of our traditional "stone"bathroom rooms.

Tray of the shower shouldn't be filling up, if you could take the time to send me (lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl) more information about in which room you have stayed than we can make sure to check the sinks.

Let me guarantee you the best price available, whenever you plan on coming back to Amsterdam, just drop me a line and I'll make sure to arrange your reservation matching all your needs.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I booked a double room from the website booking.it at an excellent price (less than 55 euros per room per night) and stayed with my fiancé at Westcord City Centre Amsterdam from 19th to 21st February 2014.
Our stay was better than expected because of the excellent quality of the hotel and its staff.
Before arriving in Amsterdam, I wrote to the reception to ask for a large room on a high floor because we had chosen Amsterdam to celebrate an important occasion. Our requests had been totally satisfied!
When we checked in, the polite, helpful and professional receptionist Helen (I hope the name is properly spelt) informed us that they were willing to meet our requirements; as a consequence, we were given a very spacious room with a a great view of the town. And after, when we entered the room, we got a call from the reception, asking if the room was as nice as we were expecting. Definitely it was!
The room was spacious enough, the bathroom was big , bright and clean, and the big window was offering us a nice panorama.
The hotel is perfectly located since it takes 5 minutes to reach the central station by foot and also because the city centre is really close by. If you go to Amsterdam by car, there is an underground parking right in front of the hotel. For the tram, there is a tram stop opposite the hotel's main entrance.
The reception area is nice and clean. If you need, you can also buy some food or drinks from the reception (there is a small selection of them next to the desk). Breakfast is not included in the standard rate and can be bought separately (but we didn't because it was quite expensive).
Our stay at the Westcord City Centre Amsterdam was excellent and we would like to thank the excellent receptionist Helen for her politeness and helpfulness. She wouldn't have helped us Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I visited with 3 old friends for a short break. The hotel is within easy walking distance of central station and of Dam square and the other main attractions.

The place has had a recent refurb so it's neat and tidy and well presented. Rooms have a glass box room containing shower/ toilet which means the smallish rooms feel more spacious.

Interesting room layout has the foot of the double bed against the wall with the head in the middle of the room and a desk directly behind. Seems a bit strange at first but makes for easier viewing of the wall mounted TV.

Small criticism is that the double bed frame contains 2 single mattresses with 2 single duvets. Result is that as I was a single occupant I couldn't use the centre of the double bed - as is my wont - without disappearing down the crack! Also the single duvet idea doesn't work too well - bits of me tending to escape from under at regular intervals. I'm sure this is great for those wanting a twin bed experience but it's not for me.

Breakfast costs an extra €12.50 and has the usual selection.

Reception staff are all terrific - Helen in particular was outstanding and very helpful with excursion tickets and good advice on local restaurants. All very friendly.

Overall a good experience but the bed issue means 4 rather than 5 stars.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Urbanfox93,

Thanks so much for this great review! It's always really nice to hear our staff impressed you, Helen sends you her greetings.

With regards to your bed, it seems like you were in a Twin bedded bedroom rather than in a Double room.. For your next stay we will make sure to provide you with a room with one big bed, and one big duvet to keep you all covered the entire night.

In case you would like to share any other experiences; please do contact me!

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#116 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#198 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.