We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, Amsterdam 1012 SC, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

It has been over a year since my stay, but it was a nice place what I did like is how the staff did detail cleaning in the hallways everyday. Yes the bathroom has a glass stained door and if you are modest, you will not like it, I was travelling alone so I did not care. I stayed at this hotel after my European bus tour had just finished ata The Lakeland Hotel in Monnickendam , so it was a great step up from the Lakeland Hotel in Monnickendam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your opinion! In case you fly back in from Canada with a friend; we will accommodate you in a room with stone walls instead of frosted glass.

Warmest regards, Lotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    541
    195
    45
    37
See reviews for
71
474
71
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great Location very close to the station and some of the main areas of Amsterdam, room was clean and the bed comfy but the room itself was very small (very very small), the light switches behind the bed are in a very silly place and you end up turning them on in the middle of the night, the bathroom though clean and ok sized is like a goldfish bowl and is up close and personal to who ever you may be sharing with, Bed was comfy and snug and the staff were very nice.
Overall a good stay and was a good price but without any thrills

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear clarkeegriswold,

So sorry to hear that we failed to impress you during your stay!

We would be delighted to welcome you back and show you another side of the hotel; a stone bathroom, no silly lightswitches, spacious room with good view and the guarantee that you will be surprised. In case you're planning on visiting Amsterdam again, please send me an e-mail at lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl, I'll personally make sure you have an overwhelming experience from beginning to end!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

stayed here back in september for two nights during my first trip to amsterdam with my mum and sister. easy to find from the train station and first impressions great. staff very helpful and went out of their way to help us, room immacculate, beds were like sitting on a cloud they were that soft (unfortunately gave me a bad back as they were that soft, and mattresses kept slipping off the side of the bed!), room very modern with everything you could need bar a fridge, but not an issue for us. only odd thing was the glass walls/windows around the bathroom? dont think my family appreciated seeing me go to the toilet and showering! in perfect position for sight seeing, occasionally some noise from main road outside but barely noticeable, especially at night. free wifi, mini shop type facilities at reception with tea, coffe, soft drinks, sandwiches, etc. quite expensive but so is the rest of amsterdam! didnt go for breakfast as thought it was quite expensive and could go out cheaper. overall a brilliant base for sight seeing with excellent service. will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear AmyBo0x0,

Thanks for this 5 star review! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. Whenever you decide on coming back; we are working on a permanent solution for the slipping mattresses. Also; instead of rooms with frosted glass we have rooms with "old fashioned" stone walls; so just make sure to request this and we will try our utmost to accommodate your request!

Warm regards, Lotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I travelled to Amsterdam with 2 friends late November 2013 and stayed at the WestCord City Centre Hotel. Upon arrival the staff were friendly and allowed us access to our room despite arriving 2 hours early.

We booked a triple room with 3 single beds, The room was very clean with a modern decor. Very comfy beds, Free Wifi in the room.

Red Light District, Town Centre and Train station are all within a short walk (5-10mins) from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hi Aperture 1988,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! See you soon?

Warm regards, Lotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teramo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect position, at 100 meters from the train station and 200 meters from dam square, but is located in a pretty silent street, the room are confortable and very clean, the staff is very polite and helps you find what you search for, you can also buy ticket from the hotel to the most impoprtant attraction of the city, you have a little discount but most important you don-t do any waiting line in this way.

The service was all good Wi/fi,tv, warm water and clean bathroom.

A perfect hotel a really 3 star thath is not common in amsterdam.

Room Tip: i choose the rooms at the 4 floor and it was very silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear kidd5it,

Grazie! You have made us really happy with this positive review!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The best part of this hotel is the location. It near the train station and also on a main road in town. The rooms are off the street so they are quiet. The location is hard to beat but the rooms are very small. Even with the tiny rooms, everything works well. Breakfasts are also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hi heywoj,

Thank you for sharing your review! As we are in a Top A location we indeed decided on providing rooms where you have everything within a hands reach, as otherwise our prices would have gone too far up. All our rooms are differently shaped so it might have happened that the shape of your room made you experience the room as small, in case you come back to Holland, just make sure to share your previous experience and we'll make sure to exceed your expectations!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, Amsterdam 1012 SC, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.