We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same as it ever was....still a good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Same as it ever was....still a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've been staying at this property since 1997 when it was the Cok City Hotel. It's changed hands several times since then & there have been some update/improvements, but basically it's the same as it ever was. Stayed 2 nights earlier this month and what can I really say...GREAT location, clean rooms/common areas & professional/courteous staff...a good value. Hotel rooms in Amsterdam are very expensive and relatively small; so don't expect otherwise. I see many have issues with the room layout & glass enclosed bath, but it's never been a problem; whether traveling with friends or family. Chalk it up to the quirkiness of Amsterdam. The property has everything most will need and a location that's hard to be. I'll be back again..hopefully soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Espo411,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you as our guest for so many times.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    609
    222
    44
    37
See reviews for
99
607
87
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spend our mini-moon there mid -August. Staff were fantastic and did their utmost to accommodate us when we wanted to change our room. We were thrilled to find a complimentary bottle of bubbly and congrats card on our return one evening, this made our stay a little more special! The room was very comfy and clean, and overlooked a busy but quiet street, perfect for people watching!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Jeannette,

What a delight to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations! I will pass on your compliments to my team!

Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcoming you again to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Imagine you just checked into your room after a long flight, starting to unpack, hang up your clothes in the closet and then the metal hanger bar fell off and hit you on top of your head and you literally fell to the ground and lost conscious for 20 seconds. When you called to report the incident, the receptionist actually has the gore to say: "What you want me to do about it?"...... This actually happened to my sister in law.

The hotel itself is clean, the room is functional and the hotel sits in a very convenient location, next to Central Station where you can actually walk to everything. The best way to get to the hotel from the airport is by train. It costs 3.80 Euros and is the third stop from the airport. The rating could easily have been 3.5 if it weren't for the disgusting behavior of that receptionist.

If you like soft beds, this is the hotel for you. It's not possible to sit at the edge of the bed to put on your socks because you would fall off. When you sleep in it, you'd sink right in!

Room Tip: Ask for room on the high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Waikee,

Thank you for you review after your recent stay with us. I am happy I can respond to your review because we spoke to each other in your room directly after the incident.
First of all I would like to make my apologizes once again. As I came upstairs directly, and explained the probably miss communication with the receptionist, you seemed to be understanding. As we were talking with each other for a long time you explained you were happy with the service received afterwards. I hoped youwould have included this in your review as well.

I still hope we may welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Erik Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Very snazzy rooms but also very small, good location 2 minute walk to Dammestrat & maybe 5 to Centraal Station, the place could do with a few more amenities like a bar!!! But if you're looking for something central a cut above the usual this is the place for you

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear marshaw33,

Thank you for staying with us! It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. Hope to see you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We travelled here from Vancouver and received a warm welcome from the front desk. We were checked in quickly and advised of the best restaurants and bars. We stayed a total of 4 days so the room suited us perfectly. Keep in mind that the washroom does not have walls rather glass with frosted panes for privacy. It was not a problem for us but for some it may be a issue. The hotel was clean, decent in size and was comfortable for our stay. We don't spend much time in the room so it was great for us to have nice location to sleep in. Close to the train station. We would both recommend it :0 )

Room Tip: The basic room was perfect for two travellers,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Ritz9999,

Thank you for staying with us! It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. Hope to see you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Westcord City Center for 4 days in the beginning of August. As everybody has said the location is great, close to many major attractions or 5 min away in a trams, which goes in front of the hotel. Breakfast buffet cost 12.5 Euro if purchased a day in advance or 15 Euro if purchased the same day. The breakfast was good and for 12.5 Euro well-worthy.
The rooms are very tiny but well organized, if you are not traveling with a lot of luggage and you and your family are not large in size, I think the size of the room, plus free internet and the great location is worth the price. The rooms are very clean. The front desk people were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Jorge,

Thank you for nice review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay! Also your comments about our breakfast is very appreciated. I hope that we may have the chance to welcome you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

After reading reports of check in hassles, we were pleasantly surprised that we were checked in within minutes by a lovely polite receptionist. She explained a few things, gave us our key cards and off we went.
Our room was located on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel. Considering this is a fairly busy road, the double glazing was great bad heard very little external noise.
The room was a bit quirky in the way it was set out, but was modern, very clean and best of all very quiet. Loved the bathroom, even though it was all glass the frosted bit hid your modesty :-).
As with most hotel rooms there is never a mirror by a plug socket, which is why I always bring a small mirror to enable me to use hair dryer/straighteners.
If I'm honest my only gripe with this room would be the beds, we had a double, though it was 2 single mattresses. You felt like you we're falling in the middle! The mattresses were also very soft which by the 2nd night felt a bit achy- but it was bearable for 3 days!
The location is excellent- few mins walk to both central station and Dam square- you are in the heart of everything, but tucked away enough for it to be a little quiter than the bustling centre.
All the staff we encountered were polite and helpful, and we were able to store our case on the last day while we browsed.
We didn't realise there was a kettle in a unit under the Perspex desk, with coffee etc. there are ironing facilities on 1st floor too.
All in all, when we return for another visit we will most certainly book here again, it's our 4th stay and by far the best hotel overall we have used- even though we were only in there to shower and sleep!
Would recommend to anyone who wants to be close to everything but still have a but of peace.

Room Tip: If looking out and maybe seeing some of the working girls in their windows may bother you, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Dawnypeace,

What a delight to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations! I will pass on your compliments to my team!

Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.