We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
North Augusta, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the WestCord and were quite happy. The breakfast buffett was a good start to the day. It's a little pricey for what is offered, but was easier than having to go out somewhere to eat. The room was clean, but small. Small spaces are expected in Europe, but we could only get on the bed from one side which was a little aggrevating. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is great for walking around Amsterdam. All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear US-expat-7,

Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor.

I hope we may welcoming you back agian in the near future.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    519
    190
    41
    36
See reviews for
84
512
76
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

while the location is not bad, the hotel has no character at all, more than basic, service is poor, they took the laundry then after 2 days they said they forgot to send it and returned it back to us.
internet never worked on 2 devices....

there are much nicer places in Amsterdam

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Wael2011,

Thank you for your feedback after your stay in our hotel. I am very sorry for the fact we informed you wrong regarding the laundry service. Unfortunately our laundry company does not offer this service on Sundays, then Monday is the first day it will be picked up, which means you receive it back on Monday evening. We should have informed you better.

I hope you can give us a second chance. Please if you visit Amsterdadam again, feel free to contact me directly at erikjan.bausch@westcordhotels.nl

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The location was by far the best part of this hotel, walking distance to the train station and all the top spots in Amsterdam. We found the rooms to be oddly laid out and a bit pokey, for example the end of the bed was up against the wall while the bed head had the desk and chairs behind it. However the beds were comfy, the shower was awesome and staff were generally very helpful. We didn't take up the breakfast option, as there are plenty of great cafes and restaurants right nearby. The shower walls are frosted glass, but that was no trouble for us as a couple and helped to make the small space seem a lot larger.

If you're after a spacious room to spend a bit of time, this hotel is probably not for you, but if it's just a place to keep your stuff and crash every night, for the price and location it is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear LizWC,

Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel as well as the city.

I hope we may welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

perfect location. delicious food. nice design. rooms are smaller than usual, but Amsterdam is not a place where it matters))) next time in the city I'll stay there 100%!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Alexey F,

Thank you very much for your positive review. I am glad you will choose our hotel for your next visit.

Looking forward to meeting you then personally.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotels location is great for access to transportation options around Amsterdam. The room was a decent size. The only issue was the crevasse between the bed did not seem like it had been cleaned in some time. Other then that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Renee Q,

Thank you so much for your review. I have discussed this issue with my housekeeping team.

I hope we may welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Small rooms but interesting design at raisonnable price.
Friendly staff and minutes from the station.
Will come back

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear travelclo,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other guests.

I hope we may welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the WestCord City Centre Hotel in Amsterdam in mid-May. The hotel is in an excellent location - walking distance to Central Station, many great restaurants, the red light district, and there are tram stops on the street out front to get to places that may be too far to walk. Our room was quiet, aside from occasional hallway noise, but it was on the inside, so I don't know if there would be street noise if your room faced the street. The hotel is very sleek and modern. The staff was professional (not friendly, but professional). The rooms are decent size by European standards. The bathroom was large. The glass door to the bathroom took a little getting used to, but it's frosted where it needs to be and the large glass shower was very nice. There is a coffee/tea maker in the room, but no fridge. The bad parts were that although this claims to be a "100% non-smoking hotel" that's just not the case. The first room we were given smelled of cigarette smoke. We moved across the hall and that room was fine, but you could still smell cigarette smoke from the hall at all hours. As in all the hotels we stayed in Holland and Belgium, the bed is actually two twin beds pushed together but I found this one to be uncomfortable. The biggest complaint I had is that there was something in the hotel that we were allergic to - every morning we woke up with congested sinuses and runny noses, itchy eyes and sneezing. It was very bad on the last morning of our stay and took 24 hours for me to feel like myself again. I have no idea what the allergen could be, but it was quite bad.
The hotel offers a breakfast for 12.50 Euro, but we found a wonderful breakfast place very close by, called Greenwoods, and it was 8.50 Euro for a full English breakfast (and there are other options for less, too).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear JennaVE,

Thank you very much for you extensice review on Tripadvisor. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. However sopmetimes it happens that guests still smoke in the rooms. They will get a €150 penalty for that, and the room we will be cleaned deeply after that. I am sorry that you had to change rooms.

Regarding your allergic reaction I can say that those days very bad for perople with hay fever. I do not know if you are allergic for that but there were quit a number of people those days who were.

I hope everything is allright now and I hope I may welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.