We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-located and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn) (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A well-located and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Our six-night stay at the Westcord City Centre was quite enjoyable. The hotel is very well located downtown, a five minute walk to the Central rail station, less to the heart of the action, Dam Square, and about 12 minutes to the Anne Frank house. The area is much quieter than Damrak (the main street), and safe. The hotel itself is clean and modern. We were greeted by a clerk who was very helpful. Although it was only 9 am, we had our choice of several rooms, facing either the street or the tiny courtyard. The room was small by North American standards, but we were only sleeping there, so that was fine. Much has been made of the glass bathroom door, but our room's configuration made it less awkward. We did not use the hotel's breakfast, opting instead for fruit and croissants bought from nearby stores the night prior.

The bed was excellent. We were not suffering jet lag, but slept for well over our usual because the bed was so good. The day prior to leaving, a huge shipment of new beds arrived and were being installed.

All in all, this is a good hotel, with good value. It's not the cheapest, but a three star hotel in this area at the prices we paid was a bargain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for the positive comments which I read on Tripadvisor. I will communicate your comments with my associates in the hotel. These comments motivate them and myself to do our utmost to exceed your expectations.
Hope to meet you again at the Westcord City Center hotel in the Hart of Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    665
    251
    51
    38
See reviews for
118
674
93
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Amazingly central, clean and with a cheerful and helpful fron desk.
The rooms are tiny but its a great place to stay.
The front desk even sells passes for the trams.
It's very close to a lot of great restaurants and bars!

Room Tip: The higher you are, the lesser road noise there is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for the comments which you published on Tripadvisor. I hope to meet you again at the Westcord City Center Hotel in the Hart of Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Location:
The hotel is situated very convenient to all attractions, 5 minutes walking from the Central Station and 5-7 minutes away from Dam Square, with a tram stop just in front of it. Probably the best way coming from Schiphol Airport is by train, however as it was a rainy day and traffic jam, I took a taxi and cost me about EUR 50.

Reception guys:
Very friendly and polite, asked me whether I’d like a street view room. There is a computer with internet access.

Room (mine 513).
Initially the room looked quite funny, but I got used to it very fast – please refer to the attached pictures as they speak for themselves. The bed is situates normally, but the pillows are there where your feet supposed to be and the LCD TV is hung on the wall above where your head suppose to be. The floor is covered with a back-red carpet which continues on the LCD TV wall up to the ceiling. Vey interesting, indeed. The room is pretty clean. The bathroom is delimited inside the room by two half sandblasted wall glasses. Inside the bathroom the shower walls are also made of glass and the sink, too. The toilet is somehow tight between shower wall and bathroom wall.

Although I understood it is a non-smoking hotel, sometimes it came some smoke from other rooms through the ventilation system.

Breakfast:
Next to the reception there is the breakfast area having a very modern design. Breakfast has plenty to offer from different types of cheese, salami, milk and cereals, eggs, small sausages, coffee and juices, pastries. No complains and moreover it is not the same food every morning, but they diversify it from one day to another. When checking-inn don’t forget to ask for the breakfast vouchers as you’ll be asked for it every morning. One TV screen shows the status of flight at Schiphol airport, but I noticed data only in Dutch.

Attractions:
Don’t want to spend too much time as Amsterdam’s attractions are very well presented on internet, just wanted to flag that a day visit to Delft is really a must (one hour by train).

Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for the comments which you wrote and also advices which you wrote on Tripadvisor. These comments enable us to improve the product. Thank you and I hope to meet you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The Comfort rooms are very comfy with modern decorations, Only 5 min walk from Central Station, I travel often to amsterdam and the Westcord City Centre hotel is always top of my list, close to Damrak, Red Light, Coffee Shops, infact theres a Bulldog round the corner and Grasshopper and Amnesia too. Staff are always friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: Room at back window has red light views.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Considering my husband's wallet was stolen during check-in (he left the wallet in the front desk counter for a few minutes and when he remembered to look for it, it was too late; security camera recording showed someone taking it away), let's say we didn't start on the right foot.

Very close to the Amsterdam Centraal Station, we walked from the station to the hotel with our bags no problem. Rooms were on the small side in comparison to US rooms but average size for Europe. Our room faced the front street with the trams going by (noise wasn't an issue) and was bigger than my parent's room facing the back street (quiet street but their view was a red light house with prostitutes in the window).

Rooms have been recently renovated and are a bit weird (foot of the bed against the wall) but clean and the glass bathroom doors let light go through, which is nice (would be a very dark tiny bathroom otherwise). Our room had a queen bed, a desk with chair and 2 chairs, plus the roll-away bed. We took the 2 chairs out to have room for the bags (wouldn't be a problem if we didn't have the roll-away bed in there). A small closet with safe was next to the bathroom and door. Very small sink with no cabinet or drawers made it difficult to store toiletries for 3 people.

Staff was friendly and tried to help with the wallet incident. They also got us milk every night for our 3 year old, since they didn't sell any in the lobby.

It's an average hotel in a not so great location - convenient if you want to walk to the Centraal station but that's it. As far as value, hotels in Europe are so expensive that this might be a good value, but in comparison to other places we stayed during this trip, it wasn't that great. You can probably find better value elsewhere in the city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately things like you describe happen in the world and I appreciate your warnings about this. We do our utmost to secure your and our belongings and invest yearly in security materials.
I hope to meet you again at the Westcord City Center hotel in the Hart of Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights with my boyfriend.
The girl at the reception was a bit stressed when we arrived, we were 3 hours early but they had a room that we could get immediatley so that was nice.

The glasswalls to the bathroom didn't bother us, they are frosted so you won't see a thing. Very nice decorated room, with free wi-fi and great view to the street behind the hotel.

Would definatley recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for the comments in respect of the atmosphere in the room and early check in facility which was granted to you. I hope I will meet you again at the Westcord City Center Hotel in Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the hotel on our way back from Cuba to Athens . We had booked in advance and had chosen this hotel for its location and what we considered good value for our money . We have stayed in a number of hotels arround the world 5 to 3 stars and what we appreciated in this one was the fact that the designer due to the lack of space had taken advantage of every little part of the room . As far as we were concerned
we had made the right choice as this was our first time to Amsterdam and the location gave us easy access to everywhere we would like to go . One of the facilities we appreciated was the fact that they kept our luggage in storage as our flight back home was an evening one and we were given the chance to see more of Amsterdam during our last day there .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for the positive comments about the hotel. It was good to read that you did appreciate the design of the room, the service and the location of the hotel. Thank you for staying with us and hope to meet you again at the Westcord City Center Hotel in the hart of Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#116 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#196 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.