We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Seattle
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

10 minute walk from Central Station, Red Light District, Palace, Canal Tour...EVERYTHING! My sisters and I stayed in a deluxe room but don't let the name fool you - it was tiny. However, the way the room is set up there is tons of room. And, the thing I value most, it was very clean! You hear horror stories how dirty some of the hotels in Amsterdam may be, but the WestCord was very clean, bright and airy. Staff was friendly and helped us plan our days. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for the comments. The rooms are as you describe and I am glad to read that you were impressed by the cleanliness, the service and the staff. I am proud on my staff and always share these comments with them. Thank you for the time taken to write these comments and hope to meet you again at the Westcord City Center hotel in the hart of AMSTERDAM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    549
    199
    45
    37
See reviews for
73
479
71
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is an excellent central city hotel, 5 minutes walking from the Central Station and close to everything. It has a modern and beautiful design, a very confortable bed and great shower. I liked the tea/coffee facilities available in the room. We had a pleasant stay there. I strongly recommend it and would stay there again should I return to Amsterdam.
The only thing that could be a problem is the bathroom that does not provide much privacy since it is enclosed by the frosted glass. It could be a problem for friends sharing a room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for the comments about the hotel and pictures which you posted on Ratetiger. It is always good to read what the guests opinion is about our design. Your comments about the bathrooms privacy will be kept in mind in the renovation of the comfort rooms as well in the extension which we plan at this moment. Thank you for the time you spend in writing these comments and I hope to meet you again at the Westcord City Center hotel in Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Arrived on the day of reservation and requested a cot. Was told 1) room was to small for a cot, 2) we should have reserved a cot, 3) there are problems with the fire dept inspecting and saying we have to many people per room, and 4) we should never have relied on a third party website to make our booking. ----- states; "1 older child(-ren) or adult(s) are charged 50 euros per night , per person, for extra beds. Extra beds are available on request." There is nothing stating the need to reserve these cots in advance., and everything leading the unsuspecting tourist to believe merely asking for a cot is all that is needed to get a cot. This is a classic bait and switch operation.I urge one and all to avoid this hotel. We were refused any money back and paid 614 euros for nothing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

This hotel is amazing! The location is perfect, especially if you are visiting Amsterdam for the 1st time. It's literally 5 minutes walk from everything, Dam Sq, Red Light District, Centraal Station. The staff are so pleasant and helpful and will really go above and beyond to help you out, whether that be giving directions or helping you get to grips with the trams. Nothing was too much to ask of them. The hotel is very security conscious and your key is needed to access lifts at all times and to get in the front door at nighttimes. It may seem expensive for being officially a three star, but it really should be rated higher and it is definitly worth the price! The rooms are spotlessly clean and luxuriously comfortable. Our room was facing out to the main street and we never once heard any noise from outside. I wish I had got the name of the receptionist who checked us in as he was extremly helpful and patient with us because I would love to give him a special thanks. Cant wait to stay here again in November!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for the extensive postive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I shared your comments with the staff and these kind of comments do push us again to even become better. I really hope to meet you again at the hotel and give you a special welcome at the Westcord City Center. Thank you for all your efforts in sending us your comments about the great stay at the Westcord City Center hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We have just come back from a 3 day stay in the Westcord City Hotel (26-29 June) and i can honestly say there is not 1 bad thing to report about this hotel.
Location wise you couldnt get better. It is less than a ten minute walk from Centraal Station. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from bars, restaurants and shopping. Dam Square was no more than 10 minutes away.
The hotel itself was lovely. From the moment we arrived the staff couldnt have been nicer or more helpful. Our hotel room (317) was stylish, modern and quirky. Beds were very comfortable. Glass en-suite was beautiful and the shower was great. There was a hair dryer, kettle and safe that was free to use. No more was needed to be honest.
This was our 1st time in Amsterdam but we plan to go back in November and we will def be staying in the Westcord City Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for the positive comments about the location, service and staff of the hotel. It is great to read and share these kind of comments with the staff. It will be a pleasure to meet you again in November. Thank you for the comments and lookimng forward to welcome you again in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Very modern design. Comfortable bed, clean, and good internet. My room was on shaft and so very little light. Request room not on the "10" line (i.e. 310, 410, etc). Staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was not included.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear gues, thank you for the comments and especially inrespect of the great location and special design. I believe th design is unique and many of our guests do apprieciate it. I hope to meet you again at the Westcord City Center Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I am sure that the bathrooms have already been covered in many reviews, don't expect privacy. We are a married couple so I was ok with it. WiFi was free and that was great. The rooms are modern and clean. About the only room in Europe which offers a coffee maker, meaning you have a water boiler and instant coffee, but early in the morning you won't hear me complain. The AC worked great, and you can open the windows, which is very helpful when your room fills up with the pot-smoke from your neighbors. Not sure how this was possible, but it happened one time, and that was about the only negative. The hotel can't really do anything about that in Amsterdam. The beds were absolutely great, got the best sleep of all our time in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRepr, Owner at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear geust, thank you for the comments. It is good to hear that you appreciated our rates and that you received good value for the prices which were offered to you. We designed a special AC for the hotel, to guarantee a perfect cooling and heating system. Thank you for the comment in respect of this. I hope to meet yoagain at the Westcord City Center Hotel in Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.