We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had stayed at a B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken to your Saves list
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #73 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
“Wish we had stayed at a B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

While planning our honeymoon, I left my husband in charge of choosing the hotel. We wanted something in a nice neighborhood that was close to a tram stop and somewhat romantic. He chose The Bilderberg, and felt good about his decision, so I went with it. The Bilderberg is in a lovely neighborhood, very close to upscale shopping.. quite a bit more upscale than would ever interest me, and honestly, walking through that area, I felt rather out of place at times. The Bilderberg appears a bit upscale as well.. the lobby is pretty (though very small) and the staff seem to have an "air" about them to match. Our room was on the 3rd floor, and honestly, it is the tiniest room I have ever stayed in in Europe. You could barely walk past each other in the room without being pushed into the bathroom or onto the bed. The charge for WIFI is outrageous, and the TV had very little programming, so bring a book if you're like me and have to wait forever for your spouse to get ready in the morning. It was nice that as a gift, the hotel gave us a complimentary hour in the spa room. We enjoyed that. Other than that, our contact with the staff was minimal. I wouldn't say they were overly friendly, but if we had a question, they could usually help. In retrospect, when we got home and I looked into other hotels in the area for our next trip, I found several really nice B&B's in the area that were a better rate, had free wifi, included breakfast, and were much more spacious. Next time we will go that route.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    259
    78
    24
    15
See reviews for
60
273
48
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights.... staff very friendly and welcoming, and helpful with restaurant reservations etc. and more than happy to hand out more teabags/fresh milk for tea etc. (not sure what one previous reviewer was on about, to be honest). Clean and nicely decorated, though not much of the original character of the building seemed to remain once you get inside - but perfectly pleasant nonetheless. Our room was on the small side and overlooked some slightly tatty areas around the back of the building, but most importantly was quiet, clean and warm, and the bed a good size and very comfortable. A few minor niggles, such as nowhere in the shower to put toiletries for use while showering except on the floor, but in this this particular hotel is far from being alone.... I do wish hotels would think about this. Good location close to museums and tram stops. On which subject it is well worth investing in an Iamsterdam card - free public transport and free entry to lots of the museums, a really good system. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel but can highly recommend Studio 2 by the flower market - brilliant omelettes and pancakes and lovely coffee, with very friendly and efficient service, open at 9 am. By contrast lots of other places in the area advertising breakfast were not yet open at 1030 on a Saturday morning, which seems a bit bonkers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We spent 6 nites here and we're delighted with everything. It's in a fabulous location. Walking distance to Rikjsmueum and Van Gogh, Leidersplaine and more. There are serveral trams down the street wthat will take you to most anywhere in the Amsterdam area. It's a small, pretty hotel in an old building that has been renovated. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Be sure to buy your museum tickets and tram tickets at the front desk, there is no extra charge and it will save you time. The breakfast was great, a bit pricey but worth it for the convenience. We stayed in a deluxe room and enjoyed the small balcony and extra space. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights - and everything ran smoothly. The rooms were clean and quiet and breakfast was good.
The service was a little brisk, but apart from that we'd recommend it to friends who want to stay in Amsterdam on a mid-budget.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

wow,where do i begin...ive stayed in amsterdanm 6 times and this was by far, the worst hotel that "IVE EVER STAYED AT"...Staff was horrendous,they made you feel weird for askin'for any simple request (paper for the printer,milk for coffee etc:)No elevator just 1 single lift big enough for 2...NO HELP WITH BAGS just them stareing at you!....Breakfast was not that great,plus it was downstrairs you felt like you were eating in a basement..no good morning,hello;just whats your room number...bottom line was that this is not a 4 star,nor a pleasant hotel by any means...and to top all that off,there were "some kind" of bugs in my room...Every mornin'I would wake w/little bites n my hand and feet..Just a horrible stay in my favorite city

:they made me so uncomfortable that i couldnt wait for my stay to end:

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at the
Bilderberg Hotel. The room was small but very clean, bright and comfortable. The space was efficiently designed. The bed was comfortable, bathroom was bright and clean and the water was hot with good water pressure. The staff was very friendly and provided assistance regarding travel routes and tourist activity. We didn't try the breakfast as it was very pricey. However, there were good sidewalk cafes close by. One of the best things about the Bilderberg is the location ...very close to the museums and parks. We highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed at the Bilderberg Hotel for a weekend with another couple. We choose this hotel on recommendation from a friend and were not disappointed.

This was our 3rd trip to Amsterdam, last time we stayed at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel which was equally as nice.

This hotel can be expensive and I would not book it unless you can get it at a reasonable rate, we paid 200 Euros for 2 nights and it was well worth the money.

The hotel itself is in a fantastic location on a quiet road leading off from a designer shopping street. It is right next to the Vondelpark and the Leidespein area where there are fantastic bars and restaurants and lots of street entertainers. We also went to 2 fab restaurants there - Meyer (Indian Cuisine) best indian meal Ive ever had and Gaucho, lovely steak restaurant.

The hotel although not very big is very elegantly presented and has a good atmosphere. It has a quaint charm about it in a quiet and small understated way. The bar area is lovely to sit in and have drinks and so too is the terrace area.

We had breakfast 1 of the mornings and it was really nice, 14 Euros, but you could eat and drink all you wanted. Amsterdam is quite pricy, the other morning we ate at a small bar/cafe and had a full english. By the time we had bought drinks (juice and tea) and tipped etc it was more expensive than the hotel anyhow.

Our room was very modern and clean. It offered everything we needed but was on the small side. Most of our time in Amsterdam was in bars and restaurants to be fair and not in our room so it was more than adequate.

Overall, I would say that the location, atmosphere and charm of the hotel makes this an excellent choice for a weekend break in Amsterdam. I would highly recommend and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.