We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken to your Saves list
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
1 review
“Exquisit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

absolut first Class Hotel! it's very comfortable. a small one, but very Luxury!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    267
    81
    27
    15
See reviews for
65
283
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

The Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken is on a nice quiet street in the Museum District, one block behind a street of luxury shops including Tiffany, Louis Vuitton, etc. The room was comfortable but there was no dresser, and very little storage space. The bathroom had double sinks and was roomy, and everything was very clean.

The staff was accommodating, and helpful with questions we had about the city. Everyone spoke English which made it much easier for us. In addition the hotel sold public transportation cards, and admissions to the museums which was very convenient.

The really big negative for us was that the internet service offered by the hotel was very expensive, and they placed a hold on our credit card of $66 USD everyday when we used the internet, even though we were only on for 30 minutes or less at a time. That hold was released at the end of our stay, and the staff said the hotel is looking for a better internet option.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We were very impressed with this hotel - clean, very comfortable, good reading lights and powerful showers. We booked a superior double and a standard twin. The superior double had a memory foam mattress and was larger than the standard room. The location was idea for the Van Gogh and Ritsmuseum. Trams were very close. The shops and restaurants and boat cruises were a few minutes walk away. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Cro
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Bilderberg Jan Luyken is located in the same street of Rijksmusum and few steps from Van Gogh museum too, Vondelpark and Leidseplein with many restaurants, bars and shops just around the corner.Dam sqyuare and Anna Franks house some 15-20 mins away by foot,Double standard medium size rooms and small but funcional bathroom are well equped (even magasines and guides about Amsterdam), very clean too.
A star more for great team on the reception desk and chamber maid working on fifth floor. Extremely helpful and knowledgeable staff

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a long weekend. Our room was clean, very comfortable and a decent size.

The hotel location is very good. It's close to the Vondelpark, Van Gogh Museum but slightly out from the centre. We hired bicycles to get around and discovered more than we would have otherwise. It's also close (10 minute walk) to the direct airport bus stop.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

A good clean "work-type" hotel whilst well situated for all of the museums - Van Gogh, Rijkmuseum etc, it is quite a distance from the centre of Amsterdam - a good 20/25 mins walk to the Dam Square, for example.

However, staff are very friendly and hotel is nice and clean - beware - it seems that the rooms on each floor vary in size quite drastically. Our bathroom was very cramped and the bath was very small - shower only really. Curtains didn't close in the middle which can always be quite frustrating!

Room Service options are very limited too and the minibar is a little expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We have just returned from a3 night stay at this superb hotel.We booked the hotel as a result of other reviews but then the reviews dried up and we wondered if we had made the correct decision especially as we required a twin room for the boys and the hotel won't guarantee a twin room at the time of booking. We need not have worried!! Everything was excellent - the staff were extremely helpful, in particular Jaimee who was on the evening shift who went out of her way to to help us and recommended some excellent restaurants. The rooms were on the small side but adequate for our needs as we were out all day and were extremely clean with effective air conditioning. Breakfast was superb with a good selection of fresh foods and the staff who worked in there were always incredibly friendly and efficient. The hotels location was excellent - situated in a quiet, leafy street yet within walking distance of all the sights. It is an expensive hotel - we felt it was overpriced but this was outweighed by the staff. Njhzxcvb nm, onetheless we can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#42 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#86 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#111 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#79 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.