We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, ok room and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken to your Saves list
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome location, ok room and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

As other reviewers have pointed out, the hotel is in a great location on a quiet street, close to museums, Vondel Park, and tram stops. Our room was pretty small on the fifth floor, but the bathroom was quite nice (double sinks, cool tiles) though the tub/shower was small. We were surprised at the pricey breakfast so decided to forego it (plus with bakeries and coffee shops nearby, why bother), and we were disappointed that wi-fi was extra. Did not get overly friendly service from one guy behind the desk, but the woman at checkout was nice. Overall, would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and will pass on your nice compliments to the entire staff.

How nice that you noticed our nice neighbourhood, which is quiet but still in walking distance to all the main attractions.

We truly hope to welcome you back in our hotel during your next visit of Amsterdam.


Best regards,

Ed.W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    209
    68
    22
    13
See reviews for
48
220
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Stayed three nights in this charming hotel, just steps away from the Museumplein containing the Rijskmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Modern Art Museum, etc. (I took a chance after reading the other reviews. This trip was a birthday present for my husband so I really wanted the hotel to be acceptable. Wasn't looking for fancy or luxe.) We arrived mid-day after taking the #197 bus for 5 euros from the airport, but the room was available, so we checked in early. (The information desk at the airport told us where to get off - Hobbesmanstraat, I think its called) Our room was modern, airy, light, and clean with a huge arched window that opens facing the quiet street. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean and stocked with amenities, with a big deep tub. Lots of good food options nearby, including a bakery, cafe and even a supermarket. The bus and tram stops very close by and the hotel has bikes, although we walked just about everywhere -- the Jordaan, Nine Streets, even down to the central station area and west to the market. We didn't eat at the bar in the hotel, but it seemed like a nice space.) Old Amsterdam is a magical city and the hotel was really just perfect.

Closet space is on the small side, but really no big deal. Depending on where you are used to staying, you might find the room on the small side, but it was a good size for any urban city. Wi-fi worked with no problem, as did the hair dryer in the bathroom and the desk lent us an adapter to charge electronics. I would recommend this hotel unreservedly and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room facing the street was both light and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in the Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken.

I am delighted that you will recommend our hotel unreservedly!
It is by such lovely reviews that motivate us to work even harder to deliver high level guest service throughout the hotel.

We are looking forward welcoming you again in the near future.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

People who get cheaper than normal rates through booking sites are often at the mercy of hotel staff as to room location and amenities. When I saw our little room, nestled on the mid-point stairway landing between the ground and first floors, my first thought was, "Oh, no!" To my surprise and delight, the room was virtually soundproof and very comfortable, with plenty of room for luggage, a mini fridge, and great TV with English language programming. The A/C even produced enough of a chill to make the cozy duvet tolerable.

My favorite aspect of the hotel, though, was it's convenient location, a block from the Riiksmuseum and the Van Gogh and even closer to the tram and airport bus. Tickets for all, available at the front desk!

We chose not to purchase the hotel's pricey breakfast, but no problem -- the Simon Meijssen bakery, full of tasty sweet and savory treats and good coffee, is just at the end of the street.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a nice stay at the Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken.

How nice that you noticed our nice and quite neighbourhood, which is close to the main attractions in Amsterdam.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel has friendly, helpful staff, with clean and modern rooms, and is perfectly located for the Rijksmuseum. Amsterdam hotels are never cheap, but this one is good value.
The bar area is pleasant and we always enjoyed a drink after an evening out with a very friendly barman who has a good knowledge of Scotch whisky!
This area of Amsterdam is quiet and much less frenetic than places such as Leidseplein - which is a bit tacky to be honest.
We stayed in 2 single rooms (which were very small) but they had A/C which is always useful. There was also some noise from adjacent rooms, but that was the only negative aspect.(hence 4 stars rather than 5 in this review).
We would stay here again, but probably pay a bit more for larger rooms.

Room Tip: Single rooms are very small - it may be worth paying extra for a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear sir,


Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your detailed feedback.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Please be advised that we also have nice Standard and Superior rooms which are bigger then the single where you stayed in this time.

It was a pleasure to read your nice words, especially your comment about the nice, helpful staff and the knowledge of Scotch whisky!
I have passed on your kind words to the entire the team.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are looking forward very much to welcome you back when you are returning to Amsterdam.


With kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We arrived mid morning intending just to drop off our cases but were delighted to find that our rooms were available. Delighted by our rooms, spacious, immaculate and contemporay. Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful, location perfect, away from the noisy areas but close by to all the museums and plenty of good eateries that Amsterdam is noted for. Would happily return. Hopefully sooner rather than later. Breakfast we thought looked overpriced so bought lovely croissants from a bakery just around the corner and fruit juices from a nearby supermarket.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking time to share your comments with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and had such a memorable experience.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are looking forward very much to welcome you back when you are returning to Amsterdam.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

After a long train journey, it was a pleasant surprise to be received with such welcome by the staff at the front desk. My usual request for extra pillow, towel and Wifi was made available almost right away. Staff was very helpful with all the info about tourist spots, museums and restaurants or eateries. They were very knowledgable of the places of interest that Amsterdam is famous for. The hotel is centrally located with lush trees lining the street on both sides and very quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and very fresh, coffee was great. Definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a nice stay at the Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken.

How nice that you mentioned your welcome after such a long journey! It is by such lovely reviews that motivate us to work even harder to deliver high level guest service throughout the hotel.

Hopefully we can welcome you another time in the nearest future to make you stay even better than your previous visit.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Must say first; Amsterdam is generally a very expensive city for accomadation!
But I was able to book this hotel at a low rate, normally it's much higher, and they gave me a free upgrade to a superior room... these are 2 big +'s of course and color my review even more possitive.
The hotel is/looked very clean and located in a silent area not far from the center, easy to reach by foot.
Tramway 2 and 5 to the central station are just around the corner.
Only satisfaction about the room; luxurious, clean and quiet.
The staff was very friendly and helpfull.
Breakfast, wich was included, was more than good and also here; very friendly and helpfull staff
Maybe 1 minus; only 1 elevator, waiting time can take a while sometimes...
My general opinion; warmly recommended, I'll possibly be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and will pass on your nice compliments to the entire staff.

How nice that you noticed our quiet neighbourhood, which is still in walking distance to all the main attractions.
I am delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the hotel itself to the room upgrade to one of our Superior rooms and the friendly, helpful staff.

We truly hope to welcome you back in our hotel during your next visit of Amsterdam.


Best regards,

Ed.W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel housed in 19th-century townhouses in cultural district, near Leidseplein & museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.