We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken to your Saves list
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

People who get cheaper than normal rates through booking sites are often at the mercy of hotel staff as to room location and amenities. When I saw our little room, nestled on the mid-point stairway landing between the ground and first floors, my first thought was, "Oh, no!" To my surprise and delight, the room was virtually soundproof and very comfortable, with plenty of room for luggage, a mini fridge, and great TV with English language programming. The A/C even produced enough of a chill to make the cozy duvet tolerable.

My favorite aspect of the hotel, though, was it's convenient location, a block from the Riiksmuseum and the Van Gogh and even closer to the tram and airport bus. Tickets for all, available at the front desk!

We chose not to purchase the hotel's pricey breakfast, but no problem -- the Simon Meijssen bakery, full of tasty sweet and savory treats and good coffee, is just at the end of the street.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a nice stay at the Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken.

How nice that you noticed our nice and quite neighbourhood, which is close to the main attractions in Amsterdam.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    267
    81
    27
    15
See reviews for
65
283
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel has friendly, helpful staff, with clean and modern rooms, and is perfectly located for the Rijksmuseum. Amsterdam hotels are never cheap, but this one is good value.
The bar area is pleasant and we always enjoyed a drink after an evening out with a very friendly barman who has a good knowledge of Scotch whisky!
This area of Amsterdam is quiet and much less frenetic than places such as Leidseplein - which is a bit tacky to be honest.
We stayed in 2 single rooms (which were very small) but they had A/C which is always useful. There was also some noise from adjacent rooms, but that was the only negative aspect.(hence 4 stars rather than 5 in this review).
We would stay here again, but probably pay a bit more for larger rooms.

Room Tip: Single rooms are very small - it may be worth paying extra for a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear sir,


Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your detailed feedback.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Please be advised that we also have nice Standard and Superior rooms which are bigger then the single where you stayed in this time.

It was a pleasure to read your nice words, especially your comment about the nice, helpful staff and the knowledge of Scotch whisky!
I have passed on your kind words to the entire the team.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are looking forward very much to welcome you back when you are returning to Amsterdam.


With kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We arrived mid morning intending just to drop off our cases but were delighted to find that our rooms were available. Delighted by our rooms, spacious, immaculate and contemporay. Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful, location perfect, away from the noisy areas but close by to all the museums and plenty of good eateries that Amsterdam is noted for. Would happily return. Hopefully sooner rather than later. Breakfast we thought looked overpriced so bought lovely croissants from a bakery just around the corner and fruit juices from a nearby supermarket.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking time to share your comments with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and had such a memorable experience.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are looking forward very much to welcome you back when you are returning to Amsterdam.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

After a long train journey, it was a pleasant surprise to be received with such welcome by the staff at the front desk. My usual request for extra pillow, towel and Wifi was made available almost right away. Staff was very helpful with all the info about tourist spots, museums and restaurants or eateries. They were very knowledgable of the places of interest that Amsterdam is famous for. The hotel is centrally located with lush trees lining the street on both sides and very quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and very fresh, coffee was great. Definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a nice stay at the Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken.

How nice that you mentioned your welcome after such a long journey! It is by such lovely reviews that motivate us to work even harder to deliver high level guest service throughout the hotel.

Hopefully we can welcome you another time in the nearest future to make you stay even better than your previous visit.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Must say first; Amsterdam is generally a very expensive city for accomadation!
But I was able to book this hotel at a low rate, normally it's much higher, and they gave me a free upgrade to a superior room... these are 2 big +'s of course and color my review even more possitive.
The hotel is/looked very clean and located in a silent area not far from the center, easy to reach by foot.
Tramway 2 and 5 to the central station are just around the corner.
Only satisfaction about the room; luxurious, clean and quiet.
The staff was very friendly and helpfull.
Breakfast, wich was included, was more than good and also here; very friendly and helpfull staff
Maybe 1 minus; only 1 elevator, waiting time can take a while sometimes...
My general opinion; warmly recommended, I'll possibly be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and will pass on your nice compliments to the entire staff.

How nice that you noticed our quiet neighbourhood, which is still in walking distance to all the main attractions.
I am delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the hotel itself to the room upgrade to one of our Superior rooms and the friendly, helpful staff.

We truly hope to welcome you back in our hotel during your next visit of Amsterdam.


Best regards,

Ed.W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Cannot recommend highly enough this excellent 4star hotel in South Amsterdam. Arrived here very late after a 12 hour delay from UK! The reception staff were excellent. Food is also of a very high standard and reasonably priced. Rooms very well appointed and tastefully decorated. All in all, a great location close to the main museums, and concert venues.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your comments with us and other travellers regarding your stay at the Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken.

I am delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the hotel itself to the staff and location.
How nice that you noticed our nice neighbourhood, which is close to the main attractions in Amsterdam.

I have passed on your kind words to the entire the team.

We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel next time you will visit Amsterdam.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I traveled to Amserdam for vacation with my 18 year old son (mom and son team) and we were in Amsterdam for 4 days. I picked this hotel after an extensive search for a hotel that was not terribly expensive, close to museums and other central parts of town, had some character and was nice but not extravagant.

Bilderberg Jan Luyken was excellent in every way. Our room was rather small but I understand this it typical and was not surprised or disappointed by the size. It was immaculately clean, everything that we needed was provided, the AC was working great (and it was warm on certain days in Amsterdam).

The hotel had tickets to the Van Gough Museum and other museum. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

The hotel has a breakfast buffet that is rather expensive (14 euros a person) for the selection you get but the convenience of having it available can be very worth it and the food was quite good. We ended up getting breakfast there only half the time, as there are lots of other places around. A few blocks away there are wonderful pancake houses that are much cheaper, but with that said, I appreciated being able to not worry about breakfast on the first morning in town.

There is also a grocery store about a block away and they have a wonderful selection of all kinds of food.

A cash machine is on the end of the block, about 2 minutes walking distance.

All the central museums are a block away.

I could not have been happier with a hotel and if I ever come back to Amserdam, I will for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janluyken58, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in the Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken.

It is by such lovely reviews that motivate us to work even harder to deliver high level guest service throughout the hotel.

We are looking forward welcoming you again in the near future.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#41 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#62 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#86 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#110 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#101 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.