We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken to your Saves list
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel 3 night on a weekend, the hotel is perfectly located next to the museum area, vondel park and only 10-15 minutes walk from the pubs and restaurants areas. we got a big room on the 2nd floor with free wifi, nicely furnished. the hotel staff is great and helpful. One can also rent bikes from the hotel. The bus shuttle to/from the airport is on the street corner (30 min. drive, 5 euros).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    207
    63
    22
    13
See reviews for
46
215
35
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The rooms are lovely and spacious, the location is splendid, and the staff is excellent, but this is not a perfect hotel--the beds were uncomfortable, breakfast was severely limited and not included, and the price was quite high. This is an average hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I picked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. This was my first solo international trip, so safety and location were most important for me. I had an amazing experience from start to finish. I stayed here for the first half of my trip, and moved to a hotel next to Dam Square for the final three days.

I arrived 5 hours early for check in and they were able to provide me with a room. The room had hair on the bedding, so I called down to the receptionist who offered me a new room or change in bedding if i preferred the original room immediately. They agreed that the hair situation was "gross!." - her words.

There was a tv, refrigerator and toiletries in the room. The room was small but, I expected that based on reviews of amsterdam. It was quite updated and cozy for me.

The staff was absolutely incredible. Every single receptionist I encountered was helpful with directions, recommendations on places to eat, which way to walk. I felt like this is how every hotel experience should be.

The location is one block away from The Van Gogh museum, 5-7 min walk to the Heinekan experience (and through a very charming, non touristy neighborhood), 7-10 min walk to Leidesplein. There is a bus and tram stop one block away. Bus 197 brings you directly here from the airport for 5 Euros.


Overall I would stay here again if I ever visited amsterdam! It was the perfect hotel traveling solo. The refrigerator was really helpful to keep drinks and food, that I purchased at a grocery store (late night hunger, and food is very expensive in Amsterdam!)

The only downside was that there was no complimentary internet. Which originally was a requirement for me. This was the only missing star. Regardless I would still stay here again. The hotel cost was high, but I booked very last minute. Plan ahead you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at the Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken which is well-situated just a few blocks from the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. The tram stop is also just two blocks away from the hotel. The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant. Our room was large as we were traveling with our daughter. The room was clean and air-conditioning worked well. Furnishings were updated and modern with good wifi connection in the room. The bathroom was adequate and modern. This hotel is like a townhouse and the public areas--bar, small garden, reading room, breakfast room--were tastefully decorated. Breakfast was served in a downstairs room and was beautifully presented. The hotel is just two blocks from high-end designer shops and close to an area with restaurants. In all, we truly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our second stay within three years and are very pleased with our choice. The rooms are clean, front desk is helpful, and it location is excellent. You are a few blocks from two of the great museums and blocks away from the Apple Store, and the shopping and restaurant area. WE would definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I had a comfortable two-night stay here. The hotel's location is excellent, a few blocks from the Rijksmuseum and within walking distance to almost every other attraction in the historic sector of Amsterdam. A trams stops right nearby as well. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have would be their lack of a restaurant. They have a bar and offer room service from the bar menu but it's a very limited selection. Nevertheless, I would definitely consider staying here again if I go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here as part of a large group attending an exhibition at RAI. Great décor, rooms are furnished and kitted out to a high standard, very clean. Hotel was conveniently located on a quiet street just along the road from a tram line, so getting back/forth from Central is very easy. For RAI, we got taxis back/forth from the venue, journey time around 10 minutes, cost around 12 Euros. I believe this can be done via public transport, but we took the taxi option for convenience. Service here is excellent, all the staff are very helpful, particularly when helping to organise taxis, bikes, etc. Lovely little bar area which was great to relax in for a few drinks. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel housed in 19th-century townhouses in cultural district, near Leidseplein & museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.