We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, well located, pleasant hotel with lovely staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken to your Saves list
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A comfortable, well located, pleasant hotel with lovely staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel recently and was overall very pleased with my stay. The welcome at the reception when I arrived was very friendly, I asked for a room on the topfloor & was given one. It was small with slanted ceiling but with a nice view of the city. One night I had a problem with the people in next room, they were very loud, back at 1am & by 2am still banging doors. The clerk downstairs was very understanding & helpful. The problem was obviously dealt with the day after as I didn't hear a noise after that. I found the staff really nice, pleasant,
whatever you may need. That makes a difference. The location is good, 2mn from the Rikjsmuseum and 5mn from the famous Concert Hall. About 20mn from the center.
My two down marks would be the expensive breakfast at €19.50, a quick, cheaper version would be needed. And wifi should be free. Otherwise it is an warm, quiet, comfortable, lovely hotel I totally recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and good located boutique hotel with clean rooms and very friendly staff in the city of Amsterdam! Close to a couple of Museums, the Grachten area and very easily to reach by Tram or Bus. Nice but easy breakfast, very helpful and friendly staff!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRISTOPH_DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

A good hotel which is in an excellent position for visiting the nearby Rijks Museum. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent (eg smoked salmon available) but pricey. The cost is 15 euros if ordered in advance and 19.50 if not. However, staff did not seem to be that rigid about whether it had been ordered and gave us our at 15 euros anyway. The 197 bus for 5 euros from Schipol is the easiest way to get there.
Internet access is a fairly expensive extra.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjim47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK based
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

In a perfect place for visiting Rijskmuseum andConcertboeuw , plus Van Gogh museum . Easy to get to by bus from Schipol (no197....5 euros ) stop (Rejksmuseum ) very close by , as are the trams (lines 2and 5 ) to central Amsterdam and the main railway station for those travelling out of town .
Hotel charming , clean , expensive( but plenty of it) breakfast , excellent and friendly staff . test always is would one stay a second time . In our case definitely yes

Room Tip: we had a superior room ..only minor complaint is that the room safe is on the floor and numbers are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twobags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very friendly staff and the hotel is perefectly located as it is close to the museum qaurter (Van Gogh museum, Diamond museum, Ryjk's museum) and the local tram line. They also have a very nice baby cot. The hotel doesnot offer dinner and there is very few restaurants close to the hotel, but because the tram line is close this is not a major concern.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Located just minutes from the Rijksmuseum and a short walk to Leidseplein, this hotel is ideally situated for easy access to major city attractions. Yet it's still cozy and quiet for sleeping.
It has boutique feel, with nicely appointed interiors. Based on other reviews, we opted for a Superior Room, which was well worth it. It was spacious, comfortable and clean. Service was good, not great. Bar service in particular was very slow. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, but it was a bit pricey. Overall, it's a great place while you explore Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Opt for a Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyFW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I arrived around midnight for a two night stay. The receptionist was named Anderson.
I had prepaid for a two night package which included 'free breakfast'.

Anderson couldn't find a confirmation I had prepaid, but he did find the reservation. Instead of offering to figure out where the payment went, he asked me to pay twice.

I politely declined.

He was ready to charge €200 to my card, but I stopped him. I repeated to ask him to find proof of payment. All he found was a clause reading, "this guest shall only pay incidentals."

I agreed to pay the €100 (€50/night) incidental deposit via my card. When I go to sign the receipt, it's actually for €150. Excuse me? Did he just intentionally charge me an additional €50 without my consent? Yes, he did. And he acted perfectly entitled to do so.

When pressed, he said "I told you it would be €150, you are 'too tired' to remember and should go sleep."

Ok, I thought, at least I'll just have a breakfast and go sleep. I asked his manager's name (Miriam) and made plans to discuss with her tomorrow.

Ready to go, I quickly ask about my included breakfast.

"Oh you don't have breakfast included" Anderson smirks while talking.

But I did! Another small detail this hotel can't get right.

Why even stay here?

Rooms:
Grimy, in need of update. Almost everything could be replaced. From creaky floors to crusty sinks, this place is antiquated. See attached images of some blood stains.

Volume:
I arrived on a Friday, people can be heard from the street. It's not soundproofed. You'll hear each word in each sentence of each minute of each late night conversation while you try sleeping. You better be here to party and not for business, because this hotel is not for the hardworking.

Internet:
You'll be asked to pay exorbitant rates for third world speeds.




In the end I met with Miriam, who consoled me with the typical "We're so sorry" and "Anderson will be spoken to" pseudo-assurances of repair.

Miriam reversed the charge (yes, the one I should have never had) and as a gesture of apology she offered me the generous prize of 'free breakfast'.

Just stay away from this craphole. It needs new management, new fixtures, and new staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank inasticushomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#39 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#53 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,021 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#106 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing