We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, well located, pleasant hotel with lovely staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A comfortable, well located, pleasant hotel with lovely staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel recently and was overall very pleased with my stay. The welcome at the reception when I arrived was very friendly, I asked for a room on the topfloor & was given one. It was small with slanted ceiling but with a nice view of the city. One night I had a problem with the people in next room, they were very loud, back at 1am & by 2am still banging doors. The clerk downstairs was very understanding & helpful. The problem was obviously dealt with the day after as I didn't hear a noise after that. I found the staff really nice, pleasant,
whatever you may need. That makes a difference. The location is good, 2mn from the Rikjsmuseum and 5mn from the famous Concert Hall. About 20mn from the center.
My two down marks would be the expensive breakfast at €19.50, a quick, cheaper version would be needed. And wifi should be free. Otherwise it is an warm, quiet, comfortable, lovely hotel I totally recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    200
    62
    20
    12
See reviews for
44
206
34
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very nice and good located boutique hotel with clean rooms and very friendly staff in the city of Amsterdam! Close to a couple of Museums, the Grachten area and very easily to reach by Tram or Bus. Nice but easy breakfast, very helpful and friendly staff!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

A good hotel which is in an excellent position for visiting the nearby Rijks Museum. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent (eg smoked salmon available) but pricey. The cost is 15 euros if ordered in advance and 19.50 if not. However, staff did not seem to be that rigid about whether it had been ordered and gave us our at 15 euros anyway. The 197 bus for 5 euros from Schipol is the easiest way to get there.
Internet access is a fairly expensive extra.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK based
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

In a perfect place for visiting Rijskmuseum andConcertboeuw , plus Van Gogh museum . Easy to get to by bus from Schipol (no197....5 euros ) stop (Rejksmuseum ) very close by , as are the trams (lines 2and 5 ) to central Amsterdam and the main railway station for those travelling out of town .
Hotel charming , clean , expensive( but plenty of it) breakfast , excellent and friendly staff . test always is would one stay a second time . In our case definitely yes

Room Tip: we had a superior room ..only minor complaint is that the room safe is on the floor and numbers are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very friendly staff and the hotel is perefectly located as it is close to the museum qaurter (Van Gogh museum, Diamond museum, Ryjk's museum) and the local tram line. They also have a very nice baby cot. The hotel doesnot offer dinner and there is very few restaurants close to the hotel, but because the tram line is close this is not a major concern.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Located just minutes from the Rijksmuseum and a short walk to Leidseplein, this hotel is ideally situated for easy access to major city attractions. Yet it's still cozy and quiet for sleeping.
It has boutique feel, with nicely appointed interiors. Based on other reviews, we opted for a Superior Room, which was well worth it. It was spacious, comfortable and clean. Service was good, not great. Bar service in particular was very slow. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, but it was a bit pricey. Overall, it's a great place while you explore Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Opt for a Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I arrived around midnight for a two night stay. The receptionist was named Anderson.
I had prepaid for a two night package which included 'free breakfast'.

Anderson couldn't find a confirmation I had prepaid, but he did find the reservation. Instead of offering to figure out where the payment went, he asked me to pay twice.

I politely declined.

He was ready to charge €200 to my card, but I stopped him. I repeated to ask him to find proof of payment. All he found was a clause reading, "this guest shall only pay incidentals."

I agreed to pay the €100 (€50/night) incidental deposit via my card. When I go to sign the receipt, it's actually for €150. Excuse me? Did he just intentionally charge me an additional €50 without my consent? Yes, he did. And he acted perfectly entitled to do so.

When pressed, he said "I told you it would be €150, you are 'too tired' to remember and should go sleep."

Ok, I thought, at least I'll just have a breakfast and go sleep. I asked his manager's name (Miriam) and made plans to discuss with her tomorrow.

Ready to go, I quickly ask about my included breakfast.

"Oh you don't have breakfast included" Anderson smirks while talking.

But I did! Another small detail this hotel can't get right.

Why even stay here?

Rooms:
Grimy, in need of update. Almost everything could be replaced. From creaky floors to crusty sinks, this place is antiquated. See attached images of some blood stains.

Volume:
I arrived on a Friday, people can be heard from the street. It's not soundproofed. You'll hear each word in each sentence of each minute of each late night conversation while you try sleeping. You better be here to party and not for business, because this hotel is not for the hardworking.

Internet:
You'll be asked to pay exorbitant rates for third world speeds.




In the end I met with Miriam, who consoled me with the typical "We're so sorry" and "Anderson will be spoken to" pseudo-assurances of repair.

Miriam reversed the charge (yes, the one I should have never had) and as a gesture of apology she offered me the generous prize of 'free breakfast'.

Just stay away from this craphole. It needs new management, new fixtures, and new staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel housed in 19th-century townhouses in cultural district, near Leidseplein & museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.