We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a great location for museum goers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a great location for museum goers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a high quality hotel. Service is excellent. Location one block off the Museum square and just a few blocks from the concert hall make it great for those with interest in the cultural attractions. The breakfast at 15 Euro seemed a little pricey to me but was very nice buffe, t For those into shopping there is a row of designer name stores a block away. Sort of touristy funtio watch the attractive women in fancy fur jackets pedaling their bicycles

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    207
    66
    21
    13
See reviews for
38
195
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very Nice hotel. Conveniently located in the city centre

It is very clean, has tea an coffee in the room. Nice modern bathroom.

The night porter was very helpful and very friendly as we turned up very late.

There is internet in the hotel but not free. Beware, there is a bottle of 70p water in the room but if you open it, it will cost you 5 euros.

Breakfast is not cheap. 20 Euros, very expensive for 2 fried eggs and 2 hash browns and a bit of fruit (there was cereal also available)

Overall, very nice but not cheap

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were so pleased with this hotel. It was super easy to get to from the airport...4 euros each on the 197 bus. The hotel is a block and a half from the bus stop. It is about 2 blocks from the Rijks Museum and 1 and a half blocks from the Van Gogh. The room was clean, big and comfortable. The staff was SUPER helpful always. There is interenet connection in the lobby for a small price. Obviously, we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Jan Luyken is beautifully situated for the cultural traveller, close to the Rijksmuseum, van Gogh Museum,Stedelijk Museum and the Concertgebouw. It's also an easy walk to the Old City. The hotel is comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. There are pleasant cafes and restaurants nearby too. I very much enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The top location was the main reason to book here.
It came at a price of 150,00 per night for a double; well for that money I would have thought to have the breakfast included, but no.
Having overcome that, arriving at the room at the 4 th floor, I had 2 surprises awaiting me: the ridiculous charge of 5 euro for a small plastic bottle of water.
Please do not do that!!!!
The bath and shower in one, was dangerous to get out from and you had to stay really close to the wall to get the water over you.
Please attach a handhold.
In these times it is unreasonable to charge a too big amount for wifi,should be free no!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is within 5 minutes walk of the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum, plus is close to the canal area. A real bonus is that it is also just 5 minutes walk to the 197 bus stop - only 4 euros and 30-45 mins from/to Schipol airport. It is also 2 minutes from the 'designer label' shopping street. So fabulous location.

A warm welcome from the receptionist - as we arrived at 11am (we did not expect the room to be ready ... but he offered the room to be available wiithin a hour). He stored our bags and gave us a map plus 10% discount coupon for the blue canal boat tour - but we decided not to return to late afternoon. We would not recommend the canal boat tour - we found the commentary is a bit trivial at times and overly long at 75 minutes.

On our return our room was ready - on booking we had opted for a package of superior room, breakfast, wifi included plus dinner. Room was large (for a city hotel), modern, clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a very sound night's sleep in the comfortable bed - in fact we overslept! Breakfast was good with hot (3 items) and cold buffet. All staff were were equally pleasant. The hotel bar was good value too.

Hotel sells tickets for the Rijksmuseum without a markup so we missed the massive queues - well worth getting there before 10am. Audio tour is well worth taking.

So bottom line a great hotel, nice people and super location. I would definitely stay again but not have a dinner package (see below).

Dinner package: I did not realize on booking that dinner was in the sister hotel - OK I missed the small print - which we were told is a 15 minute walk away (away from the city centre). After a day sight seeing we did not feel like walking - so spent 9 euros each way on a taxi. The restaurant at the Bilderberg Garden hotel was fairly quiet - the menu was limited to a set (no choice) 3 courses but the waitress agreed to let us change to a different starter at no additional cost. The food tasted superb and was very well presented. Wine was expensive - as it is in hotels - some 32 Euros for a Pinot Grigot. As you would guess there are multitudes of restaurants closer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband & I visited The Bilderberg Hotel this weekend, we booked the hotel through Expedia & my track record with booking accomodation isn't great so our expectations were modest but wow what a suprise we had, the lobby area is really nice and the staff at the reception desk were very friendly, she gave us a map and pointed out all the popular tourist attractions which came in very handy during our stay. I agree the rooms are a little on the small side but there are a few English channels available on the TV, tea/coffee facilities and the bed was incredibly comfortable & to be honest if you spend alot of time in your room in Amsterdam you are seriously missing out. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on this but the hotel was decorated beautifully, it was very clean and the staff were accomodating, what more could you ask for...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel housed in 19th-century townhouses in cultural district, near Leidseplein & museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.