We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for visiting the Rijksmuseum and exploring the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken to your Saves list
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel for visiting the Rijksmuseum and exploring the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is within 5 minutes walk of the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum, plus is close to the canal area. A real bonus is that it is also just 5 minutes walk to the 197 bus stop - only 4 euros and 30-45 mins from/to Schipol airport. It is also 2 minutes from the 'designer label' shopping street. So fabulous location.

A warm welcome from the receptionist - as we arrived at 11am (we did not expect the room to be ready ... but he offered the room to be available wiithin a hour). He stored our bags and gave us a map plus 10% discount coupon for the blue canal boat tour - but we decided not to return to late afternoon. We would not recommend the canal boat tour - we found the commentary is a bit trivial at times and overly long at 75 minutes.

On our return our room was ready - on booking we had opted for a package of superior room, breakfast, wifi included plus dinner. Room was large (for a city hotel), modern, clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a very sound night's sleep in the comfortable bed - in fact we overslept! Breakfast was good with hot (3 items) and cold buffet. All staff were were equally pleasant. The hotel bar was good value too.

Hotel sells tickets for the Rijksmuseum without a markup so we missed the massive queues - well worth getting there before 10am. Audio tour is well worth taking.

So bottom line a great hotel, nice people and super location. I would definitely stay again but not have a dinner package (see below).

Dinner package: I did not realize on booking that dinner was in the sister hotel - OK I missed the small print - which we were told is a 15 minute walk away (away from the city centre). After a day sight seeing we did not feel like walking - so spent 9 euros each way on a taxi. The restaurant at the Bilderberg Garden hotel was fairly quiet - the menu was limited to a set (no choice) 3 courses but the waitress agreed to let us change to a different starter at no additional cost. The food tasted superb and was very well presented. Wine was expensive - as it is in hotels - some 32 Euros for a Pinot Grigot. As you would guess there are multitudes of restaurants closer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    207
    63
    22
    13
See reviews for
46
215
35
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South West
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband & I visited The Bilderberg Hotel this weekend, we booked the hotel through Expedia & my track record with booking accomodation isn't great so our expectations were modest but wow what a suprise we had, the lobby area is really nice and the staff at the reception desk were very friendly, she gave us a map and pointed out all the popular tourist attractions which came in very handy during our stay. I agree the rooms are a little on the small side but there are a few English channels available on the TV, tea/coffee facilities and the bed was incredibly comfortable & to be honest if you spend alot of time in your room in Amsterdam you are seriously missing out. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on this but the hotel was decorated beautifully, it was very clean and the staff were accomodating, what more could you ask for...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel locates in street behind the Van Gogh Museum. It is very easy to locate, you wont get lose to get back there. The room is pretty small but that's great to have a lift. The staff are helpful and well-organized.

It is a bit disappointed that there are no free wifi in the lobby area. I would not recommend you to have breakfast there as there are very limited choices and little varieties. I stayed there for four days, everyday serve the same food!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from the 17th september till the 23rd september. My stay was on the whole satisfactory. The staff were reasonably helpful and pleasent. Breakfast was ok,though sometimes abit too busy for the staff. The barman was attentive and friendly. I found that having to pay for the internet which worked very badly abit excessive. But overall not bad.

Room Tip: First floor front was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a party of 8 people at this hotel. Everyone loved it. The location is perfect - close to museums and high end shopping, on a quiet leafy green street. The staff was very nice and helpful. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a queen bed or you might get a "standard" which is a full size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunswick georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This lovely old Amsterdam hotel is located on a quiet tree lines street in the museum quarter. the rooms are a bit small, but very comfortable and very clean. The staff was most helpful with any questions and helping with directions airport transfers .. We were within walking distance of a tourist bureau which organized many different tours of Holland. We walked to the boat tour, museums, many good eating establishments, and grocery store and many wonderful shops and chocolatiers. We would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a boutique hotel located in the museum district. The city of Amsterdam is very compact, as such every thing is within easy walking distance or tram ride. The location is simply superb between wold class museums and upscale shopping.
The desk staff is very knowledgeable, friendly to a fault, helpful at every turn. The 5 story hotel itself is a conversion of 3 18th century houses. My room was very small. However there is a lift and with such a location, the package was just fine.
Our room had a nice view of the Rijksmuseum, a short walk made this world class museum a treat we did not pass by. The Van Gogh museum is the same 3 block walk a different direction.
One block beyond the Van Gogh museum is an ultra modern (and literally underground grocery store). With the high cost of meals, a welcome relief as restaurant meals can be pricy.
I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel housed in 19th-century townhouses in cultural district, near Leidseplein & museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.