We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cleverly compact and quirky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Hotels.com
and 13 more sites!
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 58, Amsterdam 1071 CS, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“cleverly compact and quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Real nice place - rooms lovely, bathroom modern, can't do enough to help - extra charges for spa not really worth the money, although the spa room was lovely regarding it's extra little bits and pieces - shows a lot of thought. Massage chair not very good, steam and bath lovely but many hotel rooms have these now as standard, so something different/spectacular needed to warrant the price of the additional spa room, or include it in the general stay, maybe a little extra for robes/slippers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    193
    62
    21
    13
See reviews for
33
185
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights here on a sightseeing trip in July.
The room was comfortable and clean although a tad small. The bathroom was definitely bijou! There was a bit of noise early morning as the city woke up, mostly dustmen, delivery drivers or builders as far as I could tell. The room bar wasn't expensive though there was a bottle of beer short when we arrived. Air conditioning worked fine but may be a bit noisy if you're a light sleeper. Breakfast was good, cooked and continental food was available once you found a table. That was a problem as there seemed to be far more guests than tables. The first morning there were two staff on duty and they cleared a table for us quite quickly. the second morning there was only one poor girl on duty and several guests looking for a table and others trying to get tea or coffee.
There was a spa room but we didn't try it so can't comment.
We were on the 3rd floor and when coming down it was quicker to walk though the first two flights are quite steep.
Tourist spots were within walking distance and trams plentiful.
The only warning I would give is if you want to park your car. On Expedia the hotel shows as parking available. Well, there is but it's on street and E36 per 24 hours. You could park in the few Park and Ride car parks on the ring road for a lot less, about E10 I think, but security is not that great. There is no free parking anywhere in Amsterdam that I could find.
Overall, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in August for a short stay in Amsterdam, and the location was perfect. far enough away from the busy leidesplein but close enough to get involved when you wanted to, also a short walk from the Heineken square. We would definately recommend this area to walk to for dinner (Barca Tapas was our favourite).

One warning however, if you are booking this or any oher hotel via third party companies, double check your booking witht he hotel before you leave. When we arrived, our booking was not on the system! that said the receptionist could not have been more helpful, and provided us with complimentary drinks until the matter was organisd, plus we received a free upgrade for the "trouble".

The rooms themselves are modern, very clean and exactly what you need for a stay in Amsterdam. The bar and breakfast areas are welcoming and fresh.

I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to friemds or family in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main street - just above the canopy. if you are at the back you may get d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was recently in Amsterdam for a work conference, which was being held at the Rai convention center. The Rai is a bit out of the city centre and took me about 40 mins to walk there on the first day. However, once i got a tram pass there was no stopping me. The trams in Amsterdam are very easy to use and this hotel is perfectly located to catch a tram out to the Rai, as well as getting trams to central station, or just into the CBD. You can also catch the airport bus from the tram stop near the Rijksmuseum for 4Euro. The Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken is strategically located near museumplein, which means you have quick access to the Rijksmuseum (which is a must see), the Van Gough Museum and the Stedelijk Museum. All less than 5 mins away. The start of the city is just a 5-10min walk away, but you can also get yourself to any part of the city by tram as well. Vondelpark is nearby, and has 3.5km of track for walking or riding a bike. There are also canal boat cruises nearby which are very informative. For my needs this place was perfectly positioned. The hotel service was great and they even grabbed me extra coathangers for my wardrobe. The room however is rather small, but i believe that all accommodation in Amsterdam is small. The bathroom was extremely compact. The hotel was extremely clean and i couldn't fault it. This hotel is in a nice area of the city with a lot of designer shops nearby as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This boutique hotel dates back to the 19th Century. Looking at its handsome brick facade which displays a uniform character it is hard to imagine that is really an amalgamation of three adjacent buildings into one.
The hotel's biggest advantage is its location. You can walk from here to the Rijksmuseum or the Van Gogh museum in about 5 minutes.(Yes, happily, the Van Goghs are back in their home, which was under renovation for a while). The Hotel sells tickets to both the museums (15 euro each), so you avoid the long lines at the museums.
The hotel also arranges for bicycles for hire, and you can rent them for a minimum of 3 hours (at 8 euros), and a maximum of 24hours.(I forgot how much the 24 hour hire charges were- we only rented cycles for 3 hours). Using the hotel's voucher, you can book a canal cruise at 10% discount. Taxis are also arranged by the hotel, as are cars on rent.Umbrellas are also available at the reception.Although you can take a bus to and from Schiphol airport at 14 euros per head, and that involves walking about a block away, I'd recommend a taxi, which the hotel arranges for about 40 euros, one way.
The rooms are fair sized, by European standards and the toilets are adequate. The large windows let in light, and the air conditioning works very efficiently. The hot water kettle with the tea and coffee service is a welcome and thoughtful addition. The room also has a electronic locker,and a well stocked mini bar.
There is a small garden at the back, and a bar "Wines and Bites" serves drinks and small snacks. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but you can always pick up an apple from the jar at the reception.Next to the reception is a lounge, with magazines and comfortable chairs and sofas. English language papers are available in the Lobby. The hotel also has a Spa to provide usual treatments and sunbeds are available on reservation.There is internet available at the reception, and wire-free service in your room, for a charge.
Breakfast is at 13 euros per head, and unless you wish to eat a muffin or a waffle at the hot dog stand between the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, there is no breakfast place in the immediate neighbourhood. So if you haven't got breakfast included in the price of your room, you may be better off if you can pack something and carry it to your room for the next day's breakfast. Fortunately, the Centrum, the canals, and Leidesplein ( a pleasant open happening square, best for people-watching from an out door cafe table), are all within 10 to 15 minutes of a walk.
The best part bout the hotel is its smiling staff. The reception is most helpful and the staff go out of their way to answer questions, give out maps and directions, and otherwise provide any service you may want.
The Hotel is a member of World Hotels. So if you book it through the 'worldhotels' website, your spending at the hotel is converted into frequent flier miles on certain specified airlines.
We have been to Amsterdam several times, this is by far the best hotel we stayed in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was travelling by myself for three nights and the single room was really good value. Typical small size for Europe, but clean & tidy with all the features you need. I felt really safe away from the tourist bustle and it was quiet for me to sleep. Staff were really helpful and friendly, and the bar area is a nice spot to unwind in their little garden after a busy day.
The Hotel is close to the two main museums (Van Gogh 15 euro and Rijksmuseum 15 euro) and walking is easy to do in Amsterdam. The hotel lets you rent bikes outside the front door. The canals are about a block away and you are close to where the trams stop and the canal cruises.
Nice breakfast spot around the corner - on the main shopping road with Jimmy Choo, Bally, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This small hotel is situated within a few minutes of a tram station, the Van Gogh museum and the Rijksmuseum (a few minutes further and you are in the old town with it's canals and gabled houses). The reception is well staffed by friendly people who speak excellent English. We arrived several hours before our check in time but we were offered secure storage for our luggage and could just dump our bags and go sightseeing. We were given a free city map on which the receptionist marked our hotel and pointed out the location of the trams, museums etc. The room we had was clean, quiet and very well appointed. We also had air con which was very welcome during what out taxi driver called a "heat storm". We stayed for 2 nights. Breakfast was fine on our first morning but was decidedly "iffy" on our second. This was certainly down to staffing. On the first morning the male staff member kept the buffet stocked and the tables cleared. On the second morning things were constantly running out and tables left cluttered. We self cleared half of our table and when we finished our breakfast the dirty cups and plates were still untouched - the female staff member must have seen the clutter because she came to our table with coffee and when I asked for milk she indicated the small jug in amongst the clutter. This small 'glitch' aside, Amsterdam was lovely and so was our stay at the Jan Luyken. We will doubtless return to both in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, Amsterdam 1071 CS, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel housed in 19th-century townhouses in cultural district, near Leidseplein & museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken to your Saves list