We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken to your Saves list
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Oranjestad, Aruba
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful rooms with all the luxury you need. The staff was very friendly, the room perfectly cleaned. The hotel is situated on a great location close to the van Gogh museum and the famous 'PC Hooftstraat' is around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    250
    76
    24
    15
See reviews for
57
261
43
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is well situated in a quiet street in the Museum Quarter. It is easy walking distance from the Rijksmueum, the Van Gogh Museum and the Stidelijk, as well as a fashionabl shopping street, lots of cafes, bars and restaurants. It's also just around the corner from the Vondelpark. There is a ground floor bar and breakfast room and the bedrooms are spread across the floors of a number of town houses which have been joined together. Our room was clean and comfortable but small as was the bathroom. Care needed to be taken navigating the room! We did not take breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment on that, as we preferred to go out and take breakfast in the cafes in the neighbourhood, which was also a much cheaper option. Staff were helpful and informative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Visited Hotel Jan Luyken again this week and the hotel proved my first experience;

It’s a very pleasant hotel, conveniently located nearby city-centre. Rooms are nice and clean and hotel staff very friendly indeed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel was exactly as shown on the photo's on their website - we had 3 superior rooms which were spacious with lovely bathrooms (double sinks in 2 of the bathrooms). The staff were very friendly and helpful - the area was quiet yet very close to local transport (2 or 3 mins walk away) and just round the corner from 3 of the main museums and tourist office for booking tickets etc.

We all enjoyed our first visit to Amsterdam and would stay at the Jan Luyken again and also wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed for a couple of nights around new years eve, we had visited her brother fort he previous few days sleeping on blow up beds so the nice beds of the bilderberg were a treat, the bathroon was lovely too. The rooms arn't that big to be perfectly honest but the its clean and fininshed to a high standard with coffee and tea making facilities. Its very close to lots of attractions and all the big name shops if thats your thing. The staff were friendly and helpful. Very enjoyable stay. The only negative was the price but for the time of year we went nothing was cheap (just under 300 quid for 2 nights) in the grand scheme of the prices of hotels in Amsterdam its not that bad a price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just returned from five days in Amsterdam and stayed at this hotel. The location was perfect for seeing the three major museums (the Rijks, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk museums, the first two fairly recently remodeled). The hotel was compact - rooms on the smallish side but adequate, bar/lounge area smallish but cozy with an outdoor sitting/smoking garden.
The staff were professional and actually quite accommodative, nice and helpful with reservations, directions, etc. Kudos to Mr. Nick Van Nes who helped us out a bunch.
We had breakfast one morning and found it overpriced for what you get (39 euros for two for scrambled eggs, cheese, and some fruit). I think hotels should really rethink their breakfasts, and either step it up considerably in terms of variety or eliminate the charge for good will purposes. The best thing about the hotel was the overall location - it's in a quiet upscale residential area, and within walking distance to nearly every district of Amsterdam. Many good restaurants of different price ranges are within a 5 to 10 minute walk.If luxe shopping is your thing, then the most upscale shopping street in the city is right around the corner - P.C. Hooftstraat. It is also a short two blocks to public transportation (which is superb in Amsterdam) for getting to and from the airport - 4 euros to the airport as compared to 40 euros for a taxi, and much quicker because of the dedicated bus lanes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel. Excellent location if you want to visit the art museums. It was clean, tidy and most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had only booked the room before going, but on arrival, were told, if we booked to have breakfast the night before, it would be 15 Euros each. A bit pricey, but we decided we would opt for it on the first day. When checking out and settling the outstanding bill, we were shocked to find we were charged 30 Euros each for the breakfast. When we queried the figure, we were told it was 'tourist tax' and quite standard. Personally, I have never come across 100% tourist tax. So my advice is 'beware'. Unfortunately, it left a bad taste - excuse pun - from what had been an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.