We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

An amazing, inviting, luxurious hotel with helpful friendly staff and impeccable service, stayed in a Garden View Deluxe Room with Whirlpool bath, which unfortunately we didn't get the time to use! room was spacious, well laid out and very clean, bed was very comfortable, there were two single duvets on a double bed which felt slightly odd but worked really well for differing body temperatures throughout the night!

Hotel decor was very opulent and the Bar was a comfortable inviting place to enjoy a drink, Breakfast was a buffet and there was plenty of choice from cooked to continental and the staff were very attentive as soon as you walked into the room.

Only downsides were that we never managed to figure out the Nespresso machine (instructions didn't produce any results!) so we weren't able to indulge in the coffees on offer, that and the fact that we couldn't stay for longer! would definately stay here again!

Mr & Mrs Smith

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    250
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
126
905
104
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011 via mobile

Can only say great things about The Toren. The location is terrific, being a ten minute walk from Dam Square, two minutes away from a tram stop, and in a quiet residential area that appears quite affluent.

The staff are all extremely friendly and courteous, and very keen to help with maps, directions and dinner reservations in the city.

The room itself was a beauty. Incredible bed, with delightful decor and whirlpool bath. A bit dark, but the crimson decor becomes this. The hotel bar is also beautiful in design; it doubles as a breakfast room that provides excellent hot and cold buffet choices.

Stay here if you can....and definitely use t'Smalle bar nearby!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We enjoyed this hotel. The staff was helpful and courteous. The breakfast was not included and not the best value, but there were other places to eat within walking distance. The bar was always open! In the evening, there was no restaurant service; however, the bar staff ordered your food from a next-door restaurant, which was very good. The only real drawback was that a suite to them was about the size of a normal US room. We were expecting more. Other than that, it was a terrific place to stay as we explored Amsterdam and surrounding cities!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night in November, and it was literally the best hotel ever! We stayed here as it looked like the best value for money hotel in the top five listed on TA, and thank you everyone because it was perfect!

We arrived a little early, and left our bags with the front desk and took a walk around the local area. Firstly the front desk were amazing, and told us all local places to visit, and asked what our dining plans were and suggested some places for us to eat and/or visit during our stay.

When we got back, we were shown to our room, and the gentleman showed us how everything worked in the room, and seemed very proud of the hotel. Our bags were already in our room when we arrived. The room itself was lovely, and my girlfriend and I have both already said we want our bedroom to be like it.

The bed was amazing, and soft, but the best thing had to be the two person jacuzzi. We decided to spend the whole day in the room, and I snook out for food and some snacks for us for lunch, and then ordered room service for dinner. I had a total of three baths during our stay as it was literally brilliant, and we got some drinks ordered to the room. The towels were tailored for the Toren, as were the bathrobes, and the decor fitted perfectly with it. Our room looked out onto the garden, which looked like a nice summer spot but not in the freeing cold winter!

We both said how amazing the bed was, and slept like babies! The next morning we ordered breakfast to the room, and the amount of food was phenomenal. We were treated like royalty the whole time we were there, and I will definitely be going back at some point. We only went for a weekend break as we had a reward flight we had to use, and both of us have said that were not so much amsterdam people, but this place is perfect for a romantic weekend for two.

Thank you soo much everyone who works at the Toren, my only suggestions would be a slightly easier to use coffee machine, and more TV channels, but honestly, if you're thinking of staying here, just do it, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay here for four nights on our honeymoon. We had room 406 one of the bridal suites and it was divine. The room was spacious and the decor was fabulous and very romantic. The bathroom was similarly very large with a jacuzzi bath with plenty of toiletries, bathrobes and slippers. The public areas are fabulous too with marvellous decor. We loved this place and hope to return!!!! The hotel is in the Jordaan area, just around the corner from the Anne Frank Museum. This is a less touristy area and is more residential, we spent quite a lot of time wandering around the streets looking into the windows of people's houses (everyone in Amsterdam keeps their curtains open) and looking at the fabulous interiors, no IKEA rubbish to be seen here. Also check out the nine streets for some seriously amazing shopping.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I secured a reservation with the Toren after being badly let down by 717 (two days before Christmas!) for a 7/8th January booking made and paid for in November.
An initial 'phone call, after searching through Trip Advisor, was handled brilliantly by the reception staff who guided me through the website to show images of the available rooms, feeling slightly silly, as we've been married for 17 years, I booked the Bridal Suite for my husband's birthday weekend.
The suite is baroque in style and during a chilly weekend provided a snug nest for exploring the city, everything is just a short walk away.
Staff are friendly and helpful but very professional - we had a couple of minor issues with the movie channel and our shower which were resolved within minutes and on checking out we were pleasantly surprised to be given an unasked for discount to compensate for this.
Reservations were secured as requested to two top Amsterdam restaurants, Envy and Christophe and the icing on the (birthday) cake was a bottle of chilled champagne waiting in the suite on Saturday afternoon when we returned from shopping as a gift for my husband.
Only one niggle...... In this age of technology, at a modern, well run, fabulously staffed, frankly gorgeous hotel why isn't there a free wifi set up for guest use in their rooms? I know it's available in the lounge but I didn't want to have to get dressed and trot down the road.... Everywhere else in Amsterdam from coffee shop to airport seems to do it so come on Mr Toren make your hotel absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed for a weekend break in December and booked one of the larger rooms with a jacuzzi. Both the room and the hotel itself were absolutely stunning and the location perfect for exploring Amsterdam.

The extreme weather and heavy snow did cause some hiccups with the breakfast service the first morning of our stay, however the management took our comments very seriously and went far out of their way to resolve matters.

The staff at the front desk were all excellent and very friendly too.

All in all, I'd have no hesitation in recommending the Toren to anyone. It's a great hotel, run to an exceptional standard.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.