We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location - genuine amsterdam atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chur, Switzerland
1 review
“perfect location - genuine amsterdam atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Reservation was easy and uncomplicated. Requested a quiet room - and got it. Breakfast was excellent - especially the latte macchiato!
Location is perfect for sightseeing, for train connections, and for bike riding.
When steppiing out of 'The Toren' we liked the water in front of the house door, the people in the streets relaxing in the evenings, and the genuine Amsterdam rows of houses in every direction we started off for our walks.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    293
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
156
1,124
130
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed at this hotel in July when we visited Amsterdam for the first time to celebrate my husbands birthday.

After lots of research on the internet and worries about the cleanliness, size of rooms or location of all other hotels, although I little more than i wanted to spend I decided i would rather overspend and guarantee good quality than risk a poor hotel ruining our stay. The Toren did not disappoint.

The guest service at this hotel is one of the est we have experienced, sometimes the bar staff were a bit slow with their service but everyone was polite, helpful and welcoming at all times.

The hotel is a unique style very 'boutique' and the quality of furnishings and especially the bed is very good, the rooms are small but perfectly formed!

We enjoyed the plentiful breakfast each morning and also hired bikes which was a great way to see the city.

Would recommend Amsterdam and to make your stay a bit special then stay at the Toren you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Our family of 5 stayed at "The Hotel Toren" in July this year. We had a wonderful 2 night stay in Amsterdam and at the Toren.We definately should have stayed longer. We absolutely LOVED the hotel and our time in Amsterdam. We commend the staff on their hospitality and friendliness, they were all fantastic.
From the very moment we arrived exhausted at the front door when Robert ( the porter) greeted us with a friendly, happy smile and helped us with our bags then suggested we all sit in the very comfortable bar and have a cool drink while he lugged our 10 bags to our rooms. There we met Marne " the best ever barman" who produced some great cocktails for us and then gave us the best advice on where to go for dinner, even made the booking for us. We really enjoyed his drink making skills and his friendliness. Nicco also made a good impression on us, we felt very special.
The beds were incredibly comfortable, coffee machines in the rooms. Bathrooms clean and renvovated. My husband and I had a good sized room, my daughter and her boyfriend 's room was much smaller but just as comfortable. My 18 year old daughter had her own room which was tiny but ever so cute and very comfortable. She LOVED it. The decor is very unusual as you would have seen in the website photos. I can't stand cigarette smoke and there was not a wiff of it anywhere. The hotel was clean and well maintained. A canal at the front door. We did not have any views from our windows but we didn't even notice. It wasn't as issue. There are phones in the roooms, intercoms, TV and computers which you can pay to use. My 18 year old did . We paid extra for the breakfast which was well worth it and very delicious.
We enjoyed everything about the hotel and the staff. The girls in the front office were exceptionally helpful while booking our rooms from Australia and during our stay. Robert organised our pushbikes for us. Which I also recommend using. We had so much fun with those, riding all around the city and then through the redlight district at midnight. The AnneFrank House was a highlight for us too. Don't miss it.( very short walk form the hotel) I highly recommend this beautiful boutique hotel. We can't wait to go back!
Don't try to get the train or tram from the airport, we did and we made it but with only 2 days in Amsterdam we did regret the time wasted trying to find our way at the airport. Taxi would have been much better. We were cranky , hot and tired when we arrived. Thank goodness for Robert!
P.S Every street corner looks the bloody same so if you are first timers it takes a bit of getting used to. Don't be scared of the bikes , they made it so much better for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Great hotel in a fabulous location. Our first room was small( by North American standards) but we upgraded and had a beautiful and large room. The staff was exceptional, and the hotel was within walking distance to everything. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed at the Toren for our first trip to Amsterdam and cannot imagine ever staying in another hotel. The staff greeted us as though they had known us forever and were welcoming us home. We arrived early and they stored our luggage, invited us into their breakfast room (bar at night) and when we expressed our interest in walking instead, they gave us maps, marked them and suggested a first day route.
The room was dark purple, black, gold & silver in decor- very lovely with a flair for naughty :)- the jacuzzi tub was spectacular after a long day and the rain shower was perfect- BUT the bed and pillows were the best ever- Loved the godiva chocolates and berries in the room- nice touch. VERY quiet- attention to detail- perfect location for walking anywhere- really great- Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Loved this hotel from first contact when we were booking. Staff are friendly, helpful and professional. Location is perfect - quiet but close to everything. Rooms are small but that wasn't a surprise. Decor is a welcome change from the blandness of most hotels....
It's definitely on the pricey side for what you get - breakfast, while very good is extra and based on our rate of €330 per night I think should be included.... Oh - and the double bed comprising of two singles didn't really work as the bases weren't joined so they kept separating :)
That said I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. Only real downside for me was leaving......

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

The Toren gets great reviews, and many of the comments are entirely justified. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the location is perfect. However, the decor was highly questionable. It was on the knife edge between luxuriously glamorous and hideously awful. The room decor was so busy that it felt cramped (and we were in one of the larger rooms). Also, there are stains on the carpet and one of our power outlets was coming loose from the wall. We had to pay extra for breakfast and internet. Overall, not worth the high price we paid for our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,429 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.