We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This is a really great hotel. Located in a nice area of Amsterdam and is within walking distance of everything you need - shops, bars, cafes, museums etc. Great staff service. Would highly recommend this hotel and I will be back there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    238
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
119
832
94
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

So, when you check in at the Toren, you quickly glance at your reservation to be sure you are not paying 500 euros a night. You do this because the feel of the hotel is very high class, and the staff jump to help you. When you make your way from the reception to your room, you will likely get a tour from one of the young men who will help with your bags (don't forget to tip!). The hotel is modern and relaxed. It looks like a mix between a high-end nightclub and a model agency. But, at the same time, not pretentious.

The room was large, with a decent view. The bathroom was good, if a little small. The staff was very helpful and had plenty of recommendations on restaurants and nightlife.

I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expat
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed for three nights at the Toren – the best hotel in Amsterdam (and I’ve been there many times)! From the moment I was greeted by the front desk staff to when checking out – the service could not have been more pleasant.

I arrived early (from an overnight transatlantic flight) and went straight to the hotel. The room wasn’t quite ready yet (I wanted to treat myself so chose the Garden Cottage); the previous guests had just checked out, so I stored my luggage and walked around the neighborhood for a bit. The Toren is just a couple of blocks from the Anne Frank House; right on a quiet canal.

Went back to the hotel after about an hour (also found a nice wine store close by), and the room was almost finished, so they suggested I wait in the lounge/bar; which I did. Ordered a beer, and about 15 minutes later they came by with my key and told me the room was ready. I tried to pay for the beer, but they had ‘comped’ it as a little apology; very nice.

The cottage was in the garden and very private, yet just 15 steps to the hotel. The room had a nice-sized sitting area with a monitor and wireless keyboard which came in handy to catch up on e-mails (after a 3-week trip previously). The bed was large and very comfortable. There was also a large 2-person Jacuzzi with power jets and large walk-in shower.

What struck me most about the Toren was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. It came as a (welcomed) surprise. I had grown accustomed to the ‘matter-of-fact’ and dour exchange with staff at other hotels in Amsterdam (Marriott, the Victoria, NH Carlton). The honest friendliness of the entire staff at the Toren would put all the others to shame. My next trip to Amsterdam will be spent at the Toren for this fact.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

This hotel deserves all the positive reviews here on Tripadvisor. Nothing negative to report - I will definitely put The Toren at the top of our list for our next visit to Amsterdam. Excellent staff, great location, really comfortable beds in beautiful rooms, no noise from trams, traffic or nightlife and excellent breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We have just returned home from a one night stay at the Toren. What can I say... I spent alot of time researching hotels in Amsterdam as my brother was coming to visit from Australia and wanted to stay somewhere 'nice'. The Toren was better than I could have imagined.
On our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff , and then escorted to the building a few houses away where our room was located while being told some history and information about the hotel.
We stayed in a triple room which was larger than I had expected, there was plenty of room for two large men and myself. The decor was beautiful and the room very clean. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but was not a problem for us.
Breakfast was delicious, so much to choose from. Breakfast is served in the bar which is a very beautiful setting.
A very pleasant experience and will be recommending The Toren to friends and family. We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff , wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We went as a family for 4 nights at the Toren - a family group including two teenage children and an almost octogenarian granny.We were anxious about the mix but the trip was a great success and much of the credit for that belongs to the astonishingly helpful staff.
The rooms were excellent - breakfast was the best we had ever experienced in a hotel - and that was praise indeed from my brother who had come from Australia and is a frequent traveller.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

My friend and I spent a few nights in Amsterdam in October 2009. This was our hotel and it was fantastic. The service was excellent, the staff's English was superb and our room was lovely. It is not your average hotel. The furnishings are plush, with really rich colours, reds and purples. The bar was great! The cocktail menu was fab and the bar man very attentive. He told us that he previously travelled the world on the cocktail world tour, winning awards, before coming home to Amsterdam. We didn't need to find anywhere else to spend the evening when this bar was in our hotel! We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on food. Would DEFININTELY stay here again. It was so nice staying in a lovely part of the city and coming back to such a luxurious yet affordable hotel at night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.