We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW i want to go back NOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 9 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, Amsterdam 1015 CZ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
northampton, uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“WOW i want to go back NOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Wow I had looked at the photos and read the review but this hotel surpassed my wildest dreams......My partner had no idea where I had booked and he was blown away......we loved the chandelier in the bar! We also loved the fabulously attentive staff who were always there if u needed them but incredibly unobtrusive if you didnt. We had a special deluxe room with a 2 person jacuzzi - oh my god - that WAS amazing. I just can't fault the place, the room service was swift and prompt and the bed was so comfortable I struggled to get out of it. The raindance shower was great and it was just an awesome hotel in a really cool city. They had even left strawberries and chocolates as a welcome suprise gift in the room, plus all rooms have a Nespresso machine. We didnt get to have breakfast but it all looked very chic and next time, we will make it down to breakfast! Ignore all the reviews that say its too dark, or not worth the money, or not to everyones taste. If you have any sense of style, service, and want to have a fabulous time at a wonderful hotel then GO HERE

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    961
    213
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
111
708
87
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
csg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

My cousin and I spent three nights at the Toren to start our European vacation. I think this is quite possibly the best hotel experience we have ever had. The reception staff came outside to assist the taxi driver with our luggage when we first arrived. Our room was not ready so we were invited to enjoy a drink in the bar while our room was prepared. A young man then came shortly to take us to our room and explained the history of the beautiful building as he escorted us. The hotel is in a building built in 1605 with 38 rooms. Even though the building is old, there is none of that "old building" smell you sometimes encounter in old hotels. The room was beautiful with a marble bath, and the bed linens were very elegant. The room was quiet - we were never bothered by staff or other guests. And the staff was fabulous. Everyone there from reception to restaurant/bar staff just couldn't do enough for us. We came back one night after 10pm, not having had dinner and they prepared sandwiches and dessert for us. When needing to make reservations for our train to Paris, Melany handled it by phone. When finding out that there were none available (and we had a room booked in Paris), she worked for 45 minutes by phone to get us what we needed. No request was too much for Melany and Priscilla, who both worked the reception area. The hotel is located in a nice area - away from the seedier parts of Amsterdam. It is just around the corner from the Ann Franck House, and close to transportation to other parts of the city. If I travel to Amsterdam again, I will definitely book this hotel. It really was remarkable!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Toren the hotel is lovely and staff very helpful. Lovely rooms and a great breakfast .Perfect place to stay in such a lovely city

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The Toren is a conversion of two old houses on the Keisersgracht, one of the three main canals of Amsterdam, and is ideally situated, being on the edge of the Jordaan district with its many interesting shops and restaurants. The decor is beautiful, if maybe a little Gothic for some tastes.The staff are charming and couldn't be more helpful. The breakfast buffet is wonderful - varied and fresh, with everything a mortal could want to eat. The room was small (but I did book the cheapest one) and a bit on the warm side even with air - conditioning, but the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and It had its own espresso machine. All in all this is a lovely hotel and I would definitely choose it again if I return to Amsterdam.
.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

The Toren Hotel, owned by Eric and Petra Toren, is a visually stunning architectural monument dating 1618. It is steeped in rich history. The Toren is an immaculate Hotel, and the service from each and every employee is exceptional. The Toren hospitality, from your initial greeting at the front desk, to the bar staff and housekeeping are extremely polite and accommodating. You are always greeted with a big smile, a 'hello' and acknowledgement from every member of this professional hand picked staff. Day or night, they will see to your needs. The Toren is a real jewel is a pristine location on Keizergract Canal. The hotel is chic, and romantic. The room exceeded expectations and standards. Beautiful private courtyard for hotel guests.
The Toren should rate a 5 star, it is a jewel of a hotel. 10 out of 10... for everything!
The level of commitment and dedication from the staff are the reason this hotel is a success! VERY RECOMMENDED for an enjoyable, unforgettable experience in Amsterdam!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deventer
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed here in Jan2010 for 2 nights. Easy scoring for Amsterdam because of the wonderful snow and iceskating on the canals. Coming to The Toren....beautiful entrance, nice receptionstaff and then we were taken to our room (in the other building), the door opens and the only right word was: wow! Beautiful! Very good bed, so nice decorated, a jacuzzi, canalview, good tv....Great to have a Nespresso machine. In mainbuilding is a nice bar. Didnt have breakfast, thought that this was a bit expensive but for the rest: no regrets at all for staying here! An experience to be experienced again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Just wanted to say thank you to the Toren for helping us celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversay in style. The staff are very helpful, very charming, pleasant and welcoming.
The breakfast was superb value for money, the beds make you feel you are sleeing on a cloud and the rooms romantic, dramatic and theatrical. We had a wonderful time.

The Hotel is ideally situated within a pleasant walking distance from Dam Square and surrounded by pretty streets. Perfect!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam
Address: Keizersgracht 164, Amsterdam 1015 CZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.