We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home in elegant and cozy hotel in classy Amsterdam neighborhood.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 9 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, Amsterdam 1015 CZ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Westchester, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Feel at home in elegant and cozy hotel in classy Amsterdam neighborhood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Visited this elegant boutique hotel in the Jordaan for a few rainy days in April. The warmth and character of this hotel brightened the days! Excellent location for walking the city and dining. Amazing breakfast atmosphere and delicious food with quality service. Highly recommended for the genuine care of the young staff and attention to all travelers needs.

FYI, seems some rooms have new bathrooms, some rooms have more light... all have great nespresso type machines for morning and afternoon breaks.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    962
    213
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
111
708
87
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

cool but not cool enough (or clean enough) for these prices.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheToren, Owner at The Toren, responded to this review, April 2, 2010
We, as the management and owners of the hotel, find this a very strange review. The Toren belongs to one of the best four star hotels of Amsterdam and all our guests have high standards and it is always our goal to meet their expectations and even more than that . Therefore, we are absolutely sure that our guests would never accept a non clean room at all. Logically, guests would have had a complaint about this instantly and would have requested another room. We would have solved this problem immediately and would have done whatever it takes to satisfy our guest again. Unfortunately we did not hear any complaints about this at all.

Of course we work with people, and we do not exclude that someone of our staff could make a mistake, it goes without saying that guests can never be the deceived person of such a mistake. Unfortunately, we were not aware of this problem. We have checked all of our guests coming from San Fransico, who have spend their time at our hotel, but could not find any. And we did not have this kind of complaint within the last month too. That is why we cannot emphasize this review. If we had known about this complaint, we would have done everything we could to solve the problem and to please our guest and make them feel more than happy again. For many years, our guests have been leaving the hotel more than pleased, so we do not understand what has happened and we are wondering why we are not informed by this guest. Especially because we are present in the hotel every day, to stay in contact with our guests and hear what their suggestions and experiences are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Had a splendid time at the Toren, once more.

The whole personnel (front desk, barmen, luggage handlers) deserve a triple AAA rating,

This is the type of place where serenity, discretion & efficient service get a whole new meaning.

Can't thank enough the lady from Management who called me back and found a solution to get me a room matching my requirements - the suites and jacuzzi rooms were all booked on that week end for some reason but she still figured something out.

I've tried quite a few 5+ starred hotels across the board - on business or leisure - and I have to say the Toren for me ranks in my top 5 - worldwide.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Just returned from our 4th visit to this fantastic Amsterdam hotel. Have been visiting Amserdam for many, many years and never found an hotel worth a return visit. Then we found The Toren! This place is warm and welcoming, comfortable, smart, clean and cosy. In a super location which is peaceful yet ideal for getting to the best places to visit and eat. The decor is 'exciting' and wonderfully OTT. We have stayed in the Garden Cottage (a detached property in the garden at the rear of the Hotel), room 222 and room 227 - we have found each of these a real treat - with superb facilities. The owners and their team could not be more friendly and efficient - this really is the only place to stay whilst in Amsterdam. Thank you so much. Ian and Alan

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

The Toren hotel is a gorgeous boutique hotel right in the centre of Amsterdam. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough to make us comfortable and my 2 year old daughter was treated like a princess. The decor is very elaborate and theatrical and the garden is very stylish too. There is a generous and varied breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Toren in February 2010. The vibrant decor gives the place a ton of character and extends into the beautiful, immaculately clean rooms. The jacuzzi was amazing and the shower had great pressure. The hotel bar was so comfortable and the staff was so inviting, it was hard to get motivated to go out. Even the hotel food was delicious (which you will NEVER find in the US), not to mention they had a great wine list and cocktail menu. If you have questions about where to go in the city, anyone in the staff can help and they are happy to line up activities, reservations, and/or taxis for you. The hotel is centrally-located so we walked everywhere. The neighborhood is gorgeous and felt safe even at night. There are many restaurants, sights, and other points of interest within walking distance and the train station is only about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. This was our first time in Amsterdam and we will DEFINITELY be back to the Toren if we return to the NL. We got a terrible exchange rate so the price was a high, but still well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We partly chose this hotel thanks to the Trip Advisor reviews and it was everything that i had hoped for. I loved the decor, it was plush, opulent and original. On arrival and during the whole stay the staff couldn't have been nicer and all staff whether in the reception or the restaurant were consistently polite and cheerful. Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated with a lovely view over the canal and the location was quiet however within easy walking distance to Damm Square and the numerous restaurants and bars throughout the whole area. Breakfast was good with a variety of hot food consisting of scrambled egg, bacon, mushrooms etc and a nice range of continental breakfast and very good coffee, we didn't have an evening meal there purely because there was too much choice throughout the city. I was satisfied that the price we paid for the hotel for the duration of our stay was well worth it and i would undoubtedly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam
Address: Keizersgracht 164, Amsterdam 1015 CZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list