We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, friendly, relaxing hotel; perfect honeymoon destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Hereford, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous, friendly, relaxing hotel; perfect honeymoon destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We were met on arrival by friendly, helpful staff, who showed us to a very luxurious room with loads of style and character as well as great facilities. We know Amsterdam very well, and have to say that the location is superb; quiet enough to be relaxing, close enough to the centre to be a pleasure to walk to any destination, and in an area dotted with lovely restaurants and small art galleries. Our honeymoon was made doubly relaxing by the lovely peace and quiet, fabulous shower, and otherwise brilliant hotel. Not a bad word to say about any of it! Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,054
    226
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
115
776
92
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Toren for 3 nights in early May. It was our first trip to Amsterdam and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Our room was small (very typical European size) by American standard but clean, cozy and elegantly decorated. The location was wonderful, away from the urban grittiness of being in the city centre but close enough to walk to all the touristy sites. Many wonderful cafes, restaurant and shops nearby. Staff was extremely helpful in getting us museum tickets, restaurant reservations, cabs, etc. Definitely will recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Arriving from North America at 6:00 AM can be disorientating. However, the Hotel Toren helped tremendously make our transition to Holland a pleasant one.

We arrived at the hotel about 8:00 AM and they were more than gracious, offering us breakfast, restroom facilities, storage for our luggage, and travel hints for the day.

When we returned in the afternoon to complete our check in, they offered us several choices including an upgrade to a junior suite. Everyone was helpful and they suggested a marvelous restaurant (De Tour) for our dinner.

I had stayed there last about 20 years ago when the hotel was just beginning its upgrade. The progress has been stunning although the price increase has accompanied the upgrade in facilities.

There could not be a better location or a more welcoming environment for a first day or two in the Netherlands. And, indeed, not only is it convenient to trams, canal boats, and museums, it can be reached by an easy ten minute walk from the Centraal Station.

And be sure to note that it is literally on a canal. Everyone's picture of what Holland is like the Hotel Toren fulfills. Yes, the price is a bit steep but it is a "Dream of Holland" come true.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
501 reviews 501 reviews
285 hotel reviews
Reviews in 215 cities Reviews in 215 cities
2,573 helpful votes 2,573 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

The Toren Hotel is located on the canal a brief stroll to Anne Franks House and approx 5 min walk into the Dam Square. The hotel is housed in a charming old building which sits proudly on the canal avenue.

Check-in – Fast, efficient and totally professional.

Room – On arrival we were disappointed with the small size of the room. We had large suitcases which just squeezed in making it very squashy. However, the room 223 was tastefully furnished but lacked natural light. In the middle of the room was a massive spa bath which sat next to the walk-in shower. Basically, we found the room too small. Coffee and tea facilities and internet connection were also supplied.

Breakfast – was served in the main sitting room which was sufficient with cooked eggs and pastries. Dinner was offered at Restaurant Christopher just around the corner from The Toren Hotel. There are a few good quality restaurants to be found around the area just ask the concierge for suggestions.

Staff – The best !! and a credit to this establishment. Nothing was a problem and at all times they were polite, gracious, cultured and ready to please.

Overall – a small intimate and romantic hotel with excellent staff, the hotel would certainly suit B&B lovers . We also enjoyed having evening drinks at the cosy warm bar. Apart from the size of the room we thought the hotel to offer a comfortable stay although it’s a little pricey.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

It was a very pleasant surprise that a pretty small hotel is offering you facilities that you won't find in well known hotels. After may stay to The Toren I have decided that I won't chose in the future for 4 or 5 * hotels with big names. It doesn't worth it. Hotels similar to The Torren are the best choise anytime.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

My wife and i have invited 12 of our best friends for 4 days to Amsterdam for the occasion of our 25 year marriage. It has been a great success also because of the fact that we stayed in Hotel The Toren. The service and friendlyness we have received here was super. As a very experienced arround the world traveller i must admit that this is one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in. The room, the personnel, the service etc etc was of a very high standard and we surely want to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

We had a terrific stay at The Toren. While the room was (European) small it was beautifully appointed with a nice bathroom. Bathtub was large and bubble baths were the order of the day after walk, walk, walking all over Amsterdam. Staff was excellent and had friendly suggestions of things to do and how to get there. Nespresso machine in the room was also a BIG HIT with us. Stephen in the bar was very funny and very accommodating. No constructive comments for improvement. Everything was wonderful. A little pricey by American standards but worth it! We will be going back soon!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.