We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves the high rating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Deserves the high rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is highly rated and deserves it. The staff is friendly, efficient and helpful. Our room was small but very nice. The location is very good and quiet. Make sure to book your stay DIRECTLY with the hotel. You will get a better deal than using the travel sites. Mention trip advisor for the best deal.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel and mention trip advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    238
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
119
834
94
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel deserves 5 stars, I booked this hotel based on TA recommendations and I was not disappointed, thanks!! I cannot elaborate anymore on the comments made about this hotel, do yourself a favour and just book to stay at this hotel when in Amsterdam. This was my first visit to Amsterdam and when I return I will be staying here again. I stayed at many 5 star hotels during recent my trip to the UK and Europe and The Toren was by far the best out of all of them, I did stay in one of the suites in the annex building but it was worth every penny! My daughter and I didnt want to leave the room :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having been to Amsterdam many times I chose this hotel mainly for the reviews onTA and was not disappointed.Its a gem of a place,great rooms,plenty of rich colour and super staff.The bed was huge and comfortable and decorated superbly.All the staff we met were great and nothing too much for them.If you are looking a hotel with character that appreciates your custom,do not pass this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed one night at The Toren and it was the most incredible experience. Located near the Jordaan area it is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the neighbourhood, while also being close to all the major sights of Amsterdam. We stayed in the super deluxe room which was beautiful and featured a double jacuzzi (with a variety of lighting options). The rooms are all themed with matching bedding, curtains and chairs. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room had everything we needed and more (including a Nespresso machine). The staff were so hospitable, offering assistance with restaurant bookings and looking up public transport routes for days that we were not even going to be at the hotel. The breakfast is also delicious and I would recommend this as an addition to your booking, it has a wide offering, with something for everyone. I wish we could have stayed longer and I definitely recommend a stay here to an visitor to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel can be best described as contemporary Gothic. The walls are opulently decorated with Damask and flocked wall paper. The dining room had a rococo twist with mellow Trance music adding atmosphere.

The room was unbelievable, the two person Jacuzzi had different settings and pulsating lights, the shower was monsoon style and did it job all day long.

The bed was sumptuous and as soon as my head hit the pillow, one was asleep.

However, the best part of this hotel was the staff. We arrived early as wanted to leave bags, they then gave us a complimentary breakfast as we waited for the room which was amazing service.

Every and I mean EVERY staff member wished us good morning and Welcome back when we came back in the evening. They really cared and it showed.

There is a reason why they are rated so high and that is pure quality service.

I give it a 5 all day Son!

Room Tip: Pay for Room 109 the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed a week in this boutique hotel, perfectly located on the Keizersgracht. The room was comfortable and well equipped. The bar was elegant and Sebastian made me feel very welcome. The front desk staff were excellent - all of them. They were helpful, cheerful and knowledgeable. Unfortunately the weather was rather wet which meant that on only one day I was able to enjoy sitting in the beautiful small garden. I shall just have to return!

Room Tip: The garden rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for 4 nights. Let me first comment about the staff in reception. The blonde lady is an example of what makes this hotel so good. On arrival she explained that we were in town for the gay pride event which made the area around the hotel busy. She explained the location of the best restaurants and even helped with tram travel requirements. Whenever we had a query nothing was too much. Others have described the hotel and its rooms so I won't repeat that. There are many and varied restaurants around the hotel all within easy walking distance. The hotels position is the best you can get in town. It is close to everything you would wish to see. Personally I would not stay anywhere else in Amsterdam. Have a drink in the bar. The barman is such good fun and you meet many guests from all parts of the world. Wow what fun.

Room Tip: Get as large a room as your budget can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.