We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coose The Toren - you won't be disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coose The Toren - you won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel - the hotel is built out of two, adjoining, typical row houses. But there's nothing typical once you enter. The decor is luscious. The rooms are unique. The bar and breakfast area are lush *and* comfortable.

Very friendly staff - our friends at the reservation desk went over the top with their recommendations for us and helping book tickets to the Rijksmuseum. The doormen and bar/ breakfast staff were friendly, engaging, and helpful. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.The services across the board is top-notch.

They're located about a 10min walk from Centraal Station and in a quiet neighborhood - but close to sights, restaurants, and nightlife.

I'm looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    238
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
119
834
94
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in the Toren the last week in July. From the moment we arrived the service was exceptional. Everyone was so friendly and genuinely helpful. Champagne & chocolates was in the room on arrival (wknd was for celebration). Breakfast wasn't included but when checking out it was given complimentary!! Food was delicious and the room was so quiet and comfortable. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Everything from the happy staff to the best pillows ever!! Will definitely stay here again next visit and will be sure to recommend to friends!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose The Toren based on the ratings and reviews on TripAdvisor, and I want to echo all the positive comments already here for the hotel. The staff uphold the hotel’s commitment to provide its guests fantastic customer service. Although our room was not ready when we arrived, our bags were waiting for us in our room when we returned later in the day to check in. Stemmed glasses of chocolates and fresh strawberries were in our room, as well as a wonderful collection of bathroom products from Rituals. The front desk is more than happy to recommend a number of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, including their favorite places for lunch or coffee (and apple pie). We have only stayed once at The Toren, however it will be the only hotel we choose to stay when traveling to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We stayed in the original building but I cannot imagine any room in the hotel not being good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect location to walk or bike everywhere in the city. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The setup in and around the rooms was very unique. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is that the front desk consistently pushed vendors (tours, taxi, restaurants) where they would get kick backs and not the best place for us. When paying this much for a room, i expect unbiased recommendations from the front desk. Highly recommend staying here but being weary of the advice from the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_TheTorenFamily, Owner at The Toren, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We have received this review and to be honest we were shocked to read about the service part stating that vendors were pushed. In all those years we have never heard about a similar issue.
As the owners of the hotel we would like to stipulate that we will research this matter right away. We have initiated procedures for our staff to make sure that guests have pre-bookings for restaurants and museums to prevent waiting times and any disappointment but also to help with planning all of our guests wishes. Our staff is also instructed to book taxi’s from a registered company who you can trust since it happens often that illegal taxi drivers over charge guests and are not even registered as official taxi drivers, but this is purely to offer you safety and good as well as heartfelt services. We have developed our own restaurant recommendation list so that our guests are sure of a great experience and we have tested these restaurants ourselves (which we always do on an anonymous basis). We only care for the actual experience (straight forward how it is), we want to know how venues treat our guests. In all situations (restaurants, museums and taxi’s) we do not receive any commission, this accounts for our staff but also for the hotel. Since the beginning we have never worked on any commissionable basis. We purely made arrangements with venues to be able to deliver excellent services for all sorts of activities. We will immediately contact the guest so that we know how this feeling is established. Perhaps a newly hired staff member has been too enthusiastic with planning your stay. We hired more staff to even provide a higher level of service to our guests always based on our approach ‘genuine, pure and heartfelt services’. We will discuss this also with the team as we truly do not receive any commissions for the services from our venues and this is for us a very serious matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just arrived back after a long weekend in Amsterdam. I travel a lot for business and stay in many hotels and to be perfectly honest, I cannot find fault. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were made to feel special and valued. The room was lovely with a large jaccuzzi spa and big comfy bed and spotlessly clean. The location was spot on - away from the more hectic part of the city and a short walk from where we wanted to be. Cant find anymore words - just go there and support a hotel that really does go that extra mile. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is nicely located at one of the many channels in a nice neighbourhood with some restaurants and bakeries just around the corner. i t took is 10 minutes to walk to the city center, so very convenient. the service in the hotel was very good with friendly staff. the rooms are decorated in dark colours and classical furniture. the bar at the lobby looked very inviting.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel has absolutely everything: location, CLEAN, luxurious rooms, great bar, AMAZING staff, etc. I've stayed in other Amsterdam hotels but never will go to Amsterdam and not stay here, it's that good. The staff was more than happy to help in whatever we needed and gave awesome resturant and nightlife suggestions. Sebastian in the bar is a true mixologist and master of his craf - make sure to grab a drink and share a story with himt. Can't say enough great things about this hotel; this is the best hotel I've stayed in in Europe. Only wished we stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.