We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Fabulous location in Amsterdam near Anne Frank House, nestled in between the quaint old Jordaan neighborhood, the main canal-crossing shopping streets and the famous town square. The service was unbelievable -- absolutely the most helpful and friendly I've ever experienced. Oh, and the rooms are beautiful too! Not cheap, but "affordable luxury". Only complaint was the sporadic WiFi, but this has plagued us during our entire 3 weeks in France, Netherlands, Germany and Switzerland.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    247
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
124
888
102
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

During our visit to Amsterdam in mid-July, 2014, we stayed at the Toren, which is a hotel that we have stayed a number of times during the past 25 years. We have always enjoyed our time there and have found the management to be very helpful during our stays. During this stay, our room was in the hotel annex, a few doors down from the main building.

The owners have made a number of modern upgrades to the hotel over the years although I have to admit I did like the charm of the old Toren. The hotel is in an excellent location, just around the corner from the Anne Frank House, and is easily reached from the train station via tram. The facility faces a canal and the setting is very nice and quiet in the evenings. There are a number of very good restaurants and cafes just a few minutes walk away. On this visit, our room had a large Jacuzzi tub separated from the sleeping area by a curtain. To be honest, it reminded me a little of Las Vegas. There was also a shower that opened into the Jacuzzi tub area but not a lot of privacy except for the curtain which had to be drawn back and forth. The state-of-the art coffee maker in the room was a nice feature, but there was not much room for suitcases and personal belongings and we were traveling light with carry-on bags only. The overall service was very good and the room was very clean. We would stay there again but we would probably request a different room layout.

Room Tip: If you do not necessarily want a Jacuzzi in the middle of the room, make sure you let the management...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Hotel Location: Perfect on a beautiful canal. You can walk to any zone. About 8 minutes from Plaza Damm and next to the Anne Frank House. Nearby there are many bars, restaurants and shops.

Room: Not very big, something ornate, luxurious, with a relaxing hot tub in the middle of the room. Garden terrace later. Comfortable bed, good quality and varied amenities. Nespresso coffee free. Towels and great linens. Cleaning and proper soundproofing.

Hotel Bar: Perfect way to end the day with a drink in their seats and surprisingly relaxing and inviting decor. Here with good breakfast pastries, some hot food, cold meats, coffee and correct bad juices is served. For breakfast we usually do the Spaniards, more than enough.

Hotel Staff: Friendly, friendly and willing to answer questions at all times...!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to all the reviews, we stayed here for three nights. I loved the location in the Jordaan area. The hotel is on a canal and we were able to walk everywhere. We were in the annex with views in the back of the hotel. It was wonderful. We enjoyed the neighborhood feel. It is only blocks from the Anne Frank House and canal tours. It was a 20 min walk to the major museums. The streets in this area seem safe. I would stay here again, and I like luxury.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Excellent!
We reserved the biggest room. It was located a few houses further away than the actual hotel and suited several other rooms. Ours was located on the back of the building, had big windows, a massive bed with a lot of pillows, coffee and tea making facilities, a big bathroom downstairs with a bubble bath, plenty of towels,.. heavenly!
Nice restaurants closeby.
1 remark, there is practically no parking, but thats the problem in whole Amsterdam. Parking rates are dull.

Room Tip: Take the biggest room, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel was a block from the Anne Frank House, which was perfect because that was on our list while we were in Amsterdam. (See my recommendation on arrival at the Anne Frank House). The room was very unique and great in size. We had a view that faced the river and was very pretty during the evening times with the street lights. The shower was great and also included a very large jacuzzi tub. You can also rent bikes [a MUST] right from the hotel for a full 24hrs which was very convenient and perfect for our 2 day stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We arrived home from our month long holiday to find an email from the owners of this wonderful holiday, thanking us for staying at their hotel. Somehow we were not surprised as from the time you enter this lovely hotel, the staff are amazing, the best we've ever encountered in many years of travelling. We had a lovely spa suite looking on to a garden in the heart of downtown Amsterdam. Just 10 minutes casual walk from Dam Square and on a major canal, this hotel is perfect for a city stay. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. the rooms are very comfortable with even an expresso coffee machine, the breakfast is very good and it was always a delight to return to after a day of sightseeing.We will definitely only stay here when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We had room #6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.