We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel, Perfect Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Save Saved
You added The Toren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unique Hotel, Perfect Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This hotel was a block from the Anne Frank House, which was perfect because that was on our list while we were in Amsterdam. (See my recommendation on arrival at the Anne Frank House). The room was very unique and great in size. We had a view that faced the river and was very pretty during the evening times with the street lights. The shower was great and also included a very large jacuzzi tub. You can also rent bikes [a MUST] right from the hotel for a full 24hrs which was very convenient and perfect for our 2 day stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,057
    226
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
115
781
92
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived home from our month long holiday to find an email from the owners of this wonderful holiday, thanking us for staying at their hotel. Somehow we were not surprised as from the time you enter this lovely hotel, the staff are amazing, the best we've ever encountered in many years of travelling. We had a lovely spa suite looking on to a garden in the heart of downtown Amsterdam. Just 10 minutes casual walk from Dam Square and on a major canal, this hotel is perfect for a city stay. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. the rooms are very comfortable with even an expresso coffee machine, the breakfast is very good and it was always a delight to return to after a day of sightseeing.We will definitely only stay here when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We had room #6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Minusio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel away from noise but on the edge of the Jordaan. Sunny helpful people everywhere. Great bar - and big smile bartender, excellent breakfast buffet and cool rooms with canal view. What a find!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitton uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Wow!
Where do I begin, this is by far one of the best hotels my wife and I have ever stayed in.
From the moment I booked The Toren and the service I received from the team replying to my endless emails about what to do and directions and arranging a few surprises for my wife (it was for her birthday), to the moment we arrived I have nothing but praise for each and everyone of the team.
We had a beautiful room overlooking the canal , also had a jacuzzi , which was very nice after a long day exploring Amsterdam.
Nothing was too much trouble , even to the point in the bar when I asked for a cocktail that was not on the list the bartender went online and found out how to make it, tasted perfect.
The breakfast was very nice also,
The location is perfect if you like a very nice area and bars and not too far from the busyness of Amsterdam.
Nice and quiet area ,
If you want to stay at a very special hotel then look no further, choose The Toren
Will we be back , you better believe it
Thanks again to everyone at The Toren for making our stay perfect
Mark and Wenda Robinson .

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our second visit to the Toren and was even better than our first. The staff are wonderful, attention to detail is fantastic. Rooms are spotless and having amazing views directly on the canal. Breakfast is superb, looking forward to another visit soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Located in a good part of the city. Excellent attitude and service by the staff. One of the best beds. I definately liked the interiour style of our jnr suite ( we're upgraded by The Toren from deluxe). Our room had a small private spa in it. We loved it! This stands out from the other luxury hotels. This was very good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel after reading good reviews on Tripadvisor but was still pleasantly surprised by just HOW good it was. The location cannot be beaten - in a wonderful district and right at the side of the canal. We had two rooms, a superior double and a junior suite, both of which were superb. Luxurious fabrics, red, gold and black, and nothing worn or tired. The Superior Double had a whirlpool bath in the bedroom and the Junior Suite even had a garden! The bar was really opulent and comfortable and this is where breakfast was served. There was a really good choice to cater for all tastes and the staff constantly topped everything up. All the staff were friendly and courteous and the reception staff in particular were extremely helpful, giving directions and booking restaurants. We stayed for three nights and on each night had dinner in restaurants recommended by the hotel. They went to a lot of trouble to establish what kind of restaurant we would like and all three meals were fantastic! I assumed this meant the standard must be very high in Amsterdam generally but have been assured by friends since my return that Amsterdam does have bad restaurants too! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and its staff to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.