We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like an Ice Cream Sunday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Like an Ice Cream Sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

After trying all the 5 star hotels in Amsterdam my husband was attracted to all the positive reviews trip advisor gave this charming, warm, boutique hotel. I'm here to add to the chorus! We were warmly welcome by two young attractive ladies behind the desk who then handed our keys and luggage to a very nice young man who turned out to be the bartender. He took us to a small but lovey room that was a bit unusual. After staying in 3 different rooms during our stay because we took several excursions from Amsterdam, we found that the rooms were all unusual in the same way. They all had bathrooms that were divided from the room with a heavy curtain so it could be completely opened or closed. On the bathroom side of the curtain there was a jacuzzi tube and full bathroom with an enclosed water closet. In addition, each room had a vanity and a mirror so that I could sit and dry my hair.
They serve a nice breakfast and while they don't have a full restaurant they can make a few salads, soup and cheese plates that can be a light dinner or they can order from the local restaurants which can be sushi (which we loved) pizza or the Michelin starred restaurant around the corner.
Probably the best part though is the staff. Everyone is cheery and warm. Every morning we were asked how we slept and if the room was ok.
So after you have a very cool room and a lovely, warm staff the cherry on top is the car service! Parking is always a problem in Amsterdam but they have a fix. If you call before you arrive there is someone there to take it to an off site garage. Then give them one hours notice and they will have it at the front door. All for less than half the cost of parking in hard to find, crowded local garages.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,416
    281
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
139
1,070
121
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

we stayed 9 nights here and had a wonderful time. Beautifully decorated and designed; absolutely the friendliest and best staff of any hotel; great location; delicious breakfast buffet; and great bar. We would stay here again, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: request a room in the original older part
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The Toren is a Beautiful Boutique Hotel on the canal in the perfect location. The Staff was amazing at arranging our pick up from the airport and once we arrived to The Toren they were extremely kind and helpful. They made our dinner reservations and told us the best places to go shopping, museums even for amazing Apple Pie. Our room was Beautiful! When we walked into our room we were so happy and delighted. It faced the canal and was quite large. Beautiful furnishings and a Nespresso machine in the room. Breakfast was also great. The service in this hotel is five stars. I highly recommend The Toren. Also, it was our 10th wedding anniversary and they sent Champagne, Chocolate and Strawberries to our room with a lovely card from the owners. Very Classy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Good location near Ann Frank huis, 5 streets, funky shops in Jordaan, dam square and central station. Short walk to nice restaurants (try de luwte round the corner) and cosy bar where we enjoyed cocktails. Would rather have paid less and not had drinks/ champagne and spared our livers.
The annex was a bit noisy with door banging from cleaners/ guests in the morning and I do wish they would get rid of the 80's dried flowers!
The canal house next door looked more modern when we peeked through the window.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A fantastic little design hotel - with a bit of a burlesque twist to it! Friendly, helpful staff and a nicely furnished room. The breakfast was great and, later on, the strawberry mojitos in the hotel bar were something we won't forget – especailly in that atmospheric setting. Highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was our first trip to Amsterdam so I don't have much reference to make comparisons. We chose this place based on other ratings. The place is small and charming. It is in a great location. The view from the window was beautiful. It is definitely a romantic hotel and area. The only thing we had difficulty with was the coffee maker. So make sure you pay attention to them when they are explaining how to use it. Other than that we loved it and would choose to stay here if we ever return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We chose a room with Jacuzzi tub. It was an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

An amazing place for a romantic get-away. I can only say the best about the garden cottage and the whole experience. The interior speaks for itself: beautiful indulgent décor with perfect finishing touches, great lighting, comfortable bed, bathtub with jacuzzi, shower, a nespresso machine, and soft gowns.
Breakfast is much recommended: for app 15 Euros you get a selection of fresh and cooked foods which would be hard to match at a normal café.
The staff is highly attentive yet without subservience, and we much enjoyed our late night chat with the barman.
Much recommended and definitely would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.