We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, Charming room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
White Rock
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, Charming room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We chose The Toren based on Trip Advisors rating of this Hotel and it didn't disappoint. The location is great, convenient to The Anne Frank House, Shopping, and lots of restaurants. We had a room on the street side, facing the canal but did not find it noisy. The Hotel staff are very friendly,helpful, and responded to any questions or needs quickly.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    250
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
125
899
104
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Obdam, Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile


In one word: fantastic! From the moment we checked in until our departure we were pampered the staff of this lovely little boutique hotel in Amsterdam! The room, while a bit bijoux, was really beautiful and had everything you could ever want...including fresh strawberries and gourmet chocolates. And we really enjoyed the Rituals bath products! Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the bar a cozy spot to have a cocktail at the end of a long day shopping. And the location - absolutely ideal! I would stay here again and again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Toren is such an amazing place to stay. Rooms are beautiful, staff are very courteous, helpful and professional. Breakfast was delicious. My ideal place to stay every time in Amsterdam. Great for romantic trips or for leisure. Ideally situated near Dam Square

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I returned to The Toren again this year for a few days before switching to a hotel closer to the RAI for a conference.

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Relaxing old world charm with an extremely friendly staff. Basically a repeat of my first visit last year but in a different room.

If you want to stay somewhere quiet and charming off the beaten path but within walking distance to all the excitement Amsterdam has to offer, this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the smoking lounge if you don't like the smell of smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I simply loved the Toren. Wonderfully romantic rooms with that huge bath tub ;)

As it was our anniversary, we were greeted with a bottle of champagne and strawberries.

Please take up their breakfast offer, great spread with wonderfully lovely fruits and continental choices. Husband LOVED the bar, his gin and tonic was served with a separate bottle of tonic water for strength customization which was a good touch.

I had a great time, thank you Toren!

Room Tip: For couples go for the one with the large bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We nearly missed being able to get a room here. Having visited here for 3 nights, I can say that would have been tragic. I will return to Amsterdam and I will stay here again. Every positive pointed out in other reviews are true. The property is romantic, clean, very convenient and romantic. Every detail has been considered. Beyond the property is the staff. I have no idea how the owner finds and trains such a quality, professional and genuinely caring staff. We had a room (404) in the back of the annex building which is a few door down from the "main" building. It was very quiet and we felt very secure. We enjoyed that this room had a quaint courtyard. It's shared by another room but we never saw them. Book this place now.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience. Whoever wants to be treated to a unique and memorable stay in Amsterdam should stay at The Toren. The hotel's elegantly designed interior and warm welcome, combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area create a special atmosphere and a safe haven for you to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.