We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for 3 night for a short holiday and loved it. Unlike the big chain hotels this place has character and charm to it. The staff is welcoming and very forthcoming in seeing all your requests get taken care.

Rooms are nicely appointed and the size appropriate considering where you are ! I had booked a Deluxe double with Canal View and the room was quite big but bathroom was quite small. My room was not in the main hotel building and a 1-2 min walk in the 2nd building.

Breakfast was good and service prompt. I ordered room service once which was delivered promptly but sans the cutlery.

Location of hotel is very good and in Jordan area which hosts lot of restaurants and cafe's. Dam square and the shopping street are 5-10 min walk away.

Overall a very good hotel !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    271
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
132
1,032
118
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed at the Toren twice - once as a couple and the second time as a family and every time we stayed here we had a great experience. The first time we stayed in the main building - the staff is very friendly and helpful - always cheerful. They even remembered us on our second visit. Our room in the main building had a tub in the open plan bathroom - the room was very plush and rich - think velvet and a sort of tasteful gothic style - perfect for a couples getaway. The location is great - right on the canals and walking distance from most places - i like staying here because its not too close to Dam square which can get a bit noisy and touristy.
The second time we stayed here we were put in the neighbouring building - there was a king sized bed and a single bed for our 10 year old. The theme was also rich but a little less gothic. The rooms are not huge but it was just for one night and we knew we would be out for most of the day so it didnt bother us. We never had breakfast at the hotel - since theres a lot to see, do and eat in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: They have triple rooms - always check with the hotel - rooms in the main building felt a bit more sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Not suitable for a business traveller. Noise from other rooms, slamming doors after 11 pm. Lots of flash decor but lacking on towel and furnishing quality. Perhaps ok for holiday - but if sleep & reasonable comfort matter, find a different location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Wonderful location, accommodating staff, beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast, lovely bar/lounge area made for a most enjoyable stress free four days. You need not look at any other boutique hotel in Amsterdam as this is the real deal. Everyone was professional and genuinely interested in making our stay as pleasurable as possible. As we had to leave on King's Day and transportation options were very limited, the head concierge went above and beyond the call of duty in providing us with options to make our train to Paris. Every night when we returned from dinner we took a few moments to admire the canal houses adjacent to the hotel that to us became our lasting memory of the beauty of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house and ask for a room with a jacuzzi. Don't fret about not having a canal vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Having just returned from 3day break the toren is a classy elegant hotel and the staff are amazing nothing to much trouble and the most cozy beds ever we had a room overlooking canal what more could you want also the breakfast is wonderful .even the cold weather didn't spoil our trip.

Room Tip: Be careful with the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at The Toren during the King's Day Celebration so we doubly appreciated the outstanding service, the beautiful room, and the location (central to the city and yet on one of the quieter stretches of Keizersgracht). The reception staff was unfailingly helpful and welcoming; the cafe is lovely, relaxing, and also with a charming staff; and breakfast was very tasty. The atmosphere of the hotel is emphatically old world from a sensory point of view but relaxed and informal though highly professional, like the city itself. Our room was superb - very beautifully decorated. It was in the annex which is another beautiful old building about fifty yards from the main hotel - and it is equally charming (the cafe is in 164). One is on the quieter edge of the Centrum but shopping, clubbing, cafes, restaurants, museums all start right around the corner (for instance, Anne Frank House and the Tulip Museum are very close by). Price-wise it is by no means a "bargain" but it did deliver value comparable to other hotels of its quality and for our weekend stay, combined with a longer stay in a local apartment, it was perfect. It is simply a lovely place to be and hanging out in the room felt very much a part of the Amsterdam experience. We didn't avail ourselves of the garden, though our view of it from our rear window showed it to be quite charming. And again, I'd second other comments about the outstanding customer service, which is, as they say, priceless. Lovely, lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have stayed here three times over the past few years. It is a beautiful hotel and I wouldn't stay anywhere else than the Jordaan district. The rooms are clean, quiet and have everything you need for a comfortable stay.
For a hotel of this quality I would expect the front of house to know that we are repeat guests and not insist that we are shown the facilities and room. A small niggle in what is otherwise a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.