We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
NY, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Wonderful location, accommodating staff, beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast, lovely bar/lounge area made for a most enjoyable stress free four days. You need not look at any other boutique hotel in Amsterdam as this is the real deal. Everyone was professional and genuinely interested in making our stay as pleasurable as possible. As we had to leave on King's Day and transportation options were very limited, the head concierge went above and beyond the call of duty in providing us with options to make our train to Paris. Every night when we returned from dinner we took a few moments to admire the canal houses adjacent to the hotel that to us became our lasting memory of the beauty of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house and ask for a room with a jacuzzi. Don't fret about not having a canal vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    266
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
131
1,009
114
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Having just returned from 3day break the toren is a classy elegant hotel and the staff are amazing nothing to much trouble and the most cozy beds ever we had a room overlooking canal what more could you want also the breakfast is wonderful .even the cold weather didn't spoil our trip.

Room Tip: Be careful with the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at The Toren during the King's Day Celebration so we doubly appreciated the outstanding service, the beautiful room, and the location (central to the city and yet on one of the quieter stretches of Keizersgracht). The reception staff was unfailingly helpful and welcoming; the cafe is lovely, relaxing, and also with a charming staff; and breakfast was very tasty. The atmosphere of the hotel is emphatically old world from a sensory point of view but relaxed and informal though highly professional, like the city itself. Our room was superb - very beautifully decorated. It was in the annex which is another beautiful old building about fifty yards from the main hotel - and it is equally charming (the cafe is in 164). One is on the quieter edge of the Centrum but shopping, clubbing, cafes, restaurants, museums all start right around the corner (for instance, Anne Frank House and the Tulip Museum are very close by). Price-wise it is by no means a "bargain" but it did deliver value comparable to other hotels of its quality and for our weekend stay, combined with a longer stay in a local apartment, it was perfect. It is simply a lovely place to be and hanging out in the room felt very much a part of the Amsterdam experience. We didn't avail ourselves of the garden, though our view of it from our rear window showed it to be quite charming. And again, I'd second other comments about the outstanding customer service, which is, as they say, priceless. Lovely, lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have stayed here three times over the past few years. It is a beautiful hotel and I wouldn't stay anywhere else than the Jordaan district. The rooms are clean, quiet and have everything you need for a comfortable stay.
For a hotel of this quality I would expect the front of house to know that we are repeat guests and not insist that we are shown the facilities and room. A small niggle in what is otherwise a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Wonderful hotel. Many other places could learn a lot from this charming establishment.

Greatly appointed room, lovely bed and so amazing jacuzzi in the room!

All rooms I believe are very good, however; I believe that 411 happens to be one of the best.

Service was great. All staff make you feel like you the only guest in their hotel. Attention to detail at all times.

Highly recommend this wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I didn't know what to expect. Normally when staying in Amsterdam I go with the Spanish chain, but as I'd left booking to the last minute, the only single room available was here. What a bit of luck that turned out to be. I went with the hotel because I was so impressed with the amount of work in the design. The photos online do not do it justice because it is all so sumptuous.

On first impression I was torn between deciding whether it was French boudoir or Russian decadence before finally deciding it was both in the best taste. The rooms are small - mine was the single in the annexe which is no more than maybe 10ft x 8ft. The key to good design in such a small area is using bold statements - a really gorgeous very large mirror flanked by two exquisite wall lamps with beautiful curtains covering a window that looked nowhere. I didn't mind that actually because the room was so cosy I wasn't interested in what was going on outside! There was also a perfect sized shower room; all plenty big enough for one person.

I will definitely come back to this hotel again. After experiencing somewhere that is so beautifully decorated, quiet, where the staff are all incredibly helpful and friendly, why would anyone want to go back to the large hotel chains? To use that dreadful phrase but it describes my thoughts exactly ... it's a no brainer!

If there is a Fan Club ... sign me up!!

Room Tip: The room service was really good as was the food. After a long day of tours it was night to 'ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The location of the Toren is pretty much perfect for sightseeing in Amsterdam. The room was very comfortable and stylishly presented and the hotel bar is a must experience! Breakfast was first class and had everything I wanted! What makes the Toren stand out is the outstanding customer service which was amongst the best I have ever experienced! I will definitely return when I am next in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Toren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.