We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Best service I have ever had in a hotel. I arrived before my room was ready and they gave me a different room to sleep in for a few hours (which they would then have to clean) at no charge. Breakfast was yummy and the coffee was amazing. Without exception, every staff member was lovely and eager to help. Super comfortable bed. I really can't say enough good things about this hotel. My only negative is the usual European shower thing - no matter what you do, water gets all over the place.

Room Tip: I stayed in the small room in the main hotel (very small but fine for one person not staying too man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMRye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We absolutely loved our 4 nights at the Toren, centrally located on a quiet canal. The architecture and design is magnificient in a classic Dutch Canal building; the rooms have both comfort and elegance (and an amazingly comfortable bed) and the hotel staff was exceptionally helpful and warm. Breakfast is excellent and the dining room and bar are just charming.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nerockJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our room (a deluxe room with canal view) was excellent. Two French windows looking down on the canal. Huge comfortable bed. Jacuzzi bath almost as big! Separate shower area with rain shower and adjustable shower head. Endless hot water. Plenty of big towels. Mood lighting to the room (and the jacuzzi) and reading lights for the bed and desk. Heating and separate air con.

Superb breakfast, buffet style served from 07.00 to 11.00. Snacks available all day.

But most of all the service was impeccable. All the staff seemed dedicated to making our stay as good as it could be. Reception, housekeeping and the breakfast/bar servers all went the full 100% to do what was right and to check that we were happy.

Hotel is well located; quiet area but within walking distance of all major tourist attractions. On the edge of the Jordan area so near to "local" cafe/bar/restaurants used by local people.

Possibly the nicest hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill_and_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a terrific visit at this beautiful boutique hotel. Our spacious room was exquisitely decorated with high end finishes and modern conveniences. The staff is top notch and they went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawsonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
251 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

You probably heard it before. This is a well-known, beautiful property on the canal.. Just 39 rooms spread over the old building and an annexe. The rooms are small but well decorated , clean and comfortable. All rooms have either a garden or canal view. Staff are great. Warm, friendly and a trove of useful info on the city.
Woud definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jairaj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_TheTorenFamily, Owner at The Toren, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dearest Guest,

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your lovely comments about The Toren! My wife and I are very involved with our guests stays and read every review closely, as we feel our guests comments and feelings are the most important way for us to learn and progress, we feel so honoured to read such nice compliments about our hotel and our staff. We work with heartfelt passion for our guests and our hotel and we look forward to being in touch with you and to welcoming you back!

As a note to all guests of The Toren, we find it so important for our guests to be well informed about the details of the hotel, may we note that our room categories offering lovely canal view and garden view rooms are the Small Double Rooms with Canal View, Deluxe Rooms, Special Deluxe rooms and our Suites. However, our Single Rooms, Small Double Rooms and Standard Rooms are not offering this type of view. The Toren is composed of 38 unique and charming rooms with a wide array of room types to match all budgets and wishes; ranging from small and cosy to spacious and luxurious. As each room is so unique we advise guests to look into all details when booking a particular room to suit their individual needs. We only wish for 100% satisfaction of our guests and myself and my staff are always available to answer any questions or concerns.

Whenever you would be coming back it would be so nice to receive a direct enquiry so that we can send you a VIP code as our special guest to book the best possible rates :)

From our whole team with our most heartfelt regards,

Eric and Petra Toren

owners of The Toren Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Excellent hotel in Amsterdam with a classic decoration (chandeliers and ceiling paintings) and an a impeccable staff. The room and the bathroom (w/ bath) were small, but very clean and pompous as well. Coffee and tea making facilities, such as robe and slippers, were also provided in room. Perfect location, very close to the Anne Frank house, restaurants, coffee shops, stores. Arriving in Central Station you can get a bus to the hotel and then you can go everywhere by foot or by bike, of course.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafaela_Bernartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My partner and I really enjoyed staying here. We had a room with a canal view and jacuzzi, a terrific shower, and comfy bed. The hotel is on a main street, within very easy walking distance of all the main tourist sites and some lovely little side streets, great restaurants and good transport links.

Breakfast was delicious and there was even an indoor smoking room, which pleased my other half! The decor is quirky and opulent, and everything is spotless. There is really interesting history to the house. Possibly the only criticism is that the room got hot overnight, though there is airconditioning which we didn't use.

Best of all was the service, which was friendly, warm and couldn't do enough for us. It's not a place to go if you are on a budget, though it's excellent value for money. I would highly recommend a stay at the Toren.

Room Tip: Go for the canal view and jacuzzi combo. Well worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZDBarklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#12 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing